Vegan Night

Anyone with a special diet knows that it’s not always easy to find places to eat out. Everything either contains gluten, dairy, meat or something else you can’t eat. It can be a frustrating experience for sure, but every now and then I happen upon a restaurant that has already taken those things into consideration. Such was the case with The Cove.

100_1294

The Cove is a restaurant here in San Antonio that features SOL foodSustainable, Organic and Local. Their website says “All of our meats (beef, bison, lamb and chicken)  are grass fed and from Texas.  No Antibiotics, No Hormones. All of our greens are organic – no pesticide residue. All of our oils are non-hydrogenated. We serve Boylan Sodas- no high fructose corn syrup.” While they’re known for their burgers and seafood, they also have several vegan/vegetarian and gluten-free options. Guy Fieri even featured The Cove on ‘Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives’ and gave it rave reviews. Make sure to bring your dirty car and laundry, because The Cove doubles as a car wash and laundromat, too!

100_1296

While their regular menu is great, every first Thursday night, The Cove sponsors what they call Vegan Night. The vegan night special consists of an entrée, a side dish or two, and a dessert—all for $10. The website says “our passionate chefs bring something delicious and vegan to the table.  Even if you are not vegan it is a chance to try new creative dishes with fresh organic ingredients from local farmers.” I’d been wanting to go try their vegan night for a few months, and tonight I got to!

100_1286

The menu for tonight’s meal was Texas Caviar, Gazpacho and homemade pickles. My brother, Dakota, also gave me his avocado since he didn’t want it. (I know, he’s crazy. Smile with tongue out)

100_1289

The caviar and pickles were great, but my absolute favorite part was the gazpacho! Gazpacho is basically a chilled cucumber and tomato soup, and I’d never had it before today. I quickly realized what a mistake that was! It was absolutely delicious. I have to try making it at home.

100_1305

100_1303

For dessert they served a homemade vegan ‘paleta’ which is basically a Latin American ice pop made from fresh fruit. This was the first time I’d ever had one, and the flavor was blackberry chipotle! It was pretty interesting and different.

All in all my experience at The Cove as awesome! It’s a really cool atmosphere there, and I love that they focus on using local, organic ingredients. I hope to go back soon, because they have an awesome homemade vegan burger that I want to try, as well as their vegan BLT. They also have two vegan cookies offered – carrot spice and banana oatmeal chocolate chunk!

Question of the Day: Have you ever been to a restaurant that caters to special diets, such as serving vegan/vegetarian or GF food? It requires some research where I live, but there are several restaurants that do. What are the options like where you live?

Thanks for reading!

kelsey-sig

P.S. I decided to have some fun with the fonts and colors in Windows Live Writer. Hope it wasn’t too annoying. Smile with tongue out

25 responses to “Vegan Night

  1. sunshinevegan

    Wow that looks awesome! I love gazpacho especially in the summer when it’s hot outside.
    Where I live we have one vegan cafe called End of The Line and they offer a lot of GF options. I go out to eat there a lot and the chef gives monthly vegan cooking classes 🙂

  2. movesnmunchies

    that looks delicious!!! i have been to a few vegan restaurants as well as regular restaurants but never half and half!

  3. That restaurant sounds amazing!!!! Glad you had fun there! 😀

  4. the cove sounds like an amazing restaurant! so neat that they feature vegan food. there is a fun vegan restaurant here that i’ve been wanting to try; usually i can find vegetarian options just about anywhere.

  5. I love when restaurants are like that. It seems to be more and more common that they’re beginning to cater to special diets.

  6. Pingback: Vegan Night | CookingPlanet

  7. Wow what a bargain! And for that kind of food, I would pay $20 and eat twice 🙂 I absolutely adore gazpacho. I had it for lunch today! We have one very good restaurant (it’s actually my favorite restaurant!) that caters to just about every diet imaginable. It’s got chicken fingers and fries for picky kids, but also all kinds of wraps, crepes, salads, pasta, pizza, sandwiches, soups… you think of it, they have it, and they have a version for meat eaters, vegans, vegetarians, dairy free, whatever!

  8. Gazpacho has been a favorite of ours for years. We love it. There are a ton of different recipes. My husband found one that had mango in it and some don’t have cucumber. The sky’s the limit. The only rule is tomato and chilled.

  9. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    I love playing around with the fonts on WLW too! LOL!
    That restaurant sounds so good! I love the idea of a “vegan” night! What a great way to expose people to some awesome HEALTHY food!

  10. Yum! I wish there were more veggie friendly restaurants in my area. Luckily, I will be headed to college in the fall, and there are more places to choose from there. 🙂

  11. Vegan night sounds super yummy, like something I would get excited about. I love that it is local. Everything looks good!

    Whitney

  12. Your food looks soooo good =)”””
    The only place I like going to eat around where I live is The Coup. For this reason I prefer Vancouver, because they have sooo many vegan restaurants, whereas I don’t think Calgary has even one all vegan restaurant, and The Coup is just vegetarian but almost everything can be made vegan if it’s not already. They use local and organic whenever possible and their menu changes with the seasons, so I’m definitely a fan. The food tastes pretty good, too 🙂
    Also I’ve totally got a major craving for pickles now.

  13. Rach @ This Italian Family

    Sounds like a great place! Love that they support local farmers!

  14. How cool! I don’t live near any vegan/organic/whole food restaurants but when I’ve been to a few up near my grandma’s house. It’s real treat 🙂

  15. I love vegan / vegetarian restaurants! The best thing about them is that they always have unique dishes and flavors… and I never have to worry about what I’m going to order. It can be hard to be a vegetarian at a non-veggie restaurant!

  16. The Teenage Taste

    I love that the Cove is trying to get people to taste vegan food and realize that it’s really good! I know many people think vegan food is “gross” just because it’s a little out-of-the ordinary for them. Totally false! Your meal looks delicious!

  17. That place looks awesome!! It’s great that they have a vegan night!

    It’s so hard to find a place to eat that has anything but salad for vegetarians, but I’ve managed to find a few places! 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  18. I love your new profile picture!!! and your header!!!

    That places sounds awesome! 🙂 Especially that paleta! Was it very spicy?

  19. None by me, mostly because I live in a tiny midwestern town haha 😛 we do have a place with a HUGE salad bar, though! about as close to vegan as we get 🙂

  20. theflourishingfoodie

    I love The Cove! Not only is the food wonderful, it’s such a fun atmosphere too! I’ve really wanted to try some of their vegan offerings, next time I go I definitely will 🙂

  21. Next time I go to San Antonio…
    I’m an Austinite, we have tons of restaurants like that here. If you’re ever in Austin you should check out Veggie Heaven, most of it’s vegan and gluten free and it’s super good. My non-vegetarian family really loved it! 🙂

    Check out my blog: Beautiful Busy Bee. Thanks!

  22. Strange… but now I am craving pickles after seeing them on that plate. Everything looked amazing, I love fresh organic clean food!

  23. OH my gosh everything looks fantastic!!! I’m drooling 🙂

  24. Kelsey, that is such a fantastic place! We don’t have any place like The Cove here, but i sure wish we did!! I should see if my friend wants to start a Vegan Night with me, you inspired me now!! ❤

    xoxo

  25. Wow, I wish I was there now! My kid is allergic to soy, doesn’t do well with dairy and can’t have gluten, so i can relate…

Leave a comment