Miessence Deodorant Review + Giveaway!

Today’s post talks about something we all must deal with, whether we like it or not: stinky pits. It’s a blunt way of saying it, but really, it’s true! I was sent some deodorant to review by Jessica Andrews, and I want to tell you all about it. Smile

Jessica is a part of a work-from-home business called Miessence. The company sells all kinds of natural, organic healthcare products; they have everything from toothpaste, to makeup, to deodorant! Like I mentioned before, everything is organic, non-synthetic, and all the ingredients are familiar. In fact, their website boasts that they are “the World’s first extensive range of internationally certified organic skin, hair, body, cosmetic, oral and nutritional products.” That’s pretty cool if you ask me.

miessence-leaf

If you want to know more about organic, click these links to the Miessence site: What is Organic?
Why Organic?

So why should you use Miessence over another product? Let’s take a little ingredient comparison look, shall we?

Average Deodorant Ingredients Miessence Deodorant Ingredients
  • Aluminum zirconium tetrachlorohydrex gyl
  • cyclomethicone
  • stearyl alcohol
  • C12-15 alkyl benzoate
  • PPG-14 butyl ether
  • hydrogenated castor oil
  • PEG-8 distearate
  • hydrogenated soybean oil
  • talc
  • fragrance
  • hydrolyzed corn starch
  • behenyl alcohol

*Certified organic

  • Aloe barbadensis (aloe vera) leaf juice*
  • Sodium Bicarbonate (baking soda)
  • Non-GMO Xanthan Gum
  • Citrus aurantium amara (bitter orange) fruit extract
  • Citrus bergamia (bergamot) essential oil*
  • Citrus aurantifolia (lime) essential oil*
  • Canaga odorata (ylang ylang) essential oil*
  • Pogostemon cablin (patchouli) essential oil*
  • Pelargonium graveolens (geranium) essential oil

Frankly, the ingredients in the left column (which I typed directly from the label of my old deodorant stick) scare me. I don’t recognize the majority of them, and the ones that I DO recognize are certainly not things I want going into my largest organ: my skin. They are toxic chemicals. It really makes me appreciate how good-for-you the Miessence ingredients are.

ingredients

In fact, if you want to know more about the different ingredients and the role they play (because every ingredient used in Miessence is active and beneficial) visit the deodorant’s page. The ingredients are listed, with pictures, and you can click on them for information. Did you notice that there are NO aluminum components and NO chemical antiperspirants? Of course, there are no nasty toxic ingredients either. I love that I can feel confident about the ingredients when I put it on; there’s no hesitation and no concern.

tahitian breeze deodorant

Speaking of concern and feeling confident, you’re probably wondering how well it works. My honest opinion is that it works pretty dang well. Reapplication is necessary after a few hours, but that’s the case with most deodorants anyway. It held pretty well through several hours of dance lessons, and it also wasn’t too bad after a sweaty workout. It wasn’t perfect, but it was still very impressive. I would choose it over traditional deodorant ANY day.

One thing that’s interesting to me is the scent. To be honest, I was a little put off by the scent when I first took a whiff. With a name like “Tahitian Breeze” I expected kind of a tropical, sweet, pleasant smell. It’s not that it smells bad—it really doesn’t—but it is kind of strong. “A warm and balmy blend of intense floral and citrus aromas,” like the website says, is pretty accurate. (Emphasis on the word ‘intense’ was added by me.) However, despite the initial intensity, it does wear down. The protection is there, but the scent fades so as to not interfere with your daily scent/perfume. I thought that was very nice, since I do wear perfume/body spray. I don’t like it when my scents clash.

Are you interested in trying this liquid, roll-on deodorant for yourself? Luckily for you, Jessica has offered a $25 gift certificate to her Miessence site. You can try the deodorant or something else that interests you!

What do you have to do to win this lovely gift certificate? There are seven ways to enter—you are welcome to choose any and all of them. Smile

  1. Subscribe to Jessica’s Miessence newsletter that she just started up and leave comment letting me know you did.
  2. Link to this post in a blog post of yours. Leave a comment saying you did.
  3. Visit Jessica’s Miessence Facebook page and like it. Leave a comment saying so.
  4. Add my blog to your blog reader or subscribe to it by email. Tell me in a comment. Smile
  5. Follow Jessica on Twitter. Leave a comment to let me know. Smile
  6. Add Jessica’s blog, http://earthloveandcraziness.blogspot.com/, to your blog reader, or subscribe to it by email. Let me know in a comment that you have.
  7. Visit Jessica’s shop and pick out what you would choose if you won. Tell me what you’d pick in a comment.

Sorry that you have to leave a comment for all of them, but since I will use a random number generator to pick the winner out of the comments section, it’s important that each entry is accounted for. I want everyone to get the opportunity they deserve. The only way to do that is to leave comments for each entry.

Also, once you make an initial purchase at Jessica’s Pure Miessence shop of any amount, you will receive 10% off discount for every transaction that follows! You don’t get it on the first one, but you’ll get it on all the others. 🙂 Make sure to take advantage of this great offer!

The giveaway will be open until midnight the night of next Tuesday, May 3rd.That gives you one week to enter as many times as you can!

Thanks for reading!

kelsey-sig

53 responses to “Miessence Deodorant Review + Giveaway!

  1. YAY!!! I love roll on deoterants!! I love how clean this ingredient list is compared to all of those “chemically modified” stuff. ! 🙂

    I’m already subscribed!! 😀

  2. I subscribed to their newsletter! 🙂

  3. I subscribed to her blog! I love it! 😀

  4. I am already subscribed to your awesome blog!

  5. I liked miessence on FB!d

  6. I added jessica to my blog reader!

  7. If I won this amazing giveaway I would probably pick out some of the amazing hair products on the site! Maybe some new shampoo and conditioner 🙂

  8. I subscribed to their newsletter!

  9. I’m following you on google reader!

  10. I followed Jessica on twitter!

  11. I subscribed to Jessica’s blog!

  12. I’d get face or hair wash!

  13. If I won the giveaway I would sooo get the deodorant! 🙂

  14. I liked Jessica’s Miessence facebook page 🙂

  15. i’ve subscribed!

  16. I just subscribed to the newsletter 🙂

  17. following jessica on twitter 🙂

  18. You’re already on my googlereader, and I’m subscribed:)

  19. And I think I would like the deodorant to be honest; I love all natural organic things!

  20. if i won, i would probably get some new face wash 🙂

  21. spoonfulofsugarfree

    OooOOooo how fun! I subscribe to her emails 🙂

  22. spoonfulofsugarfree

    I like her facebook page 🙂

  23. spoonfulofsugarfree

    You are already on my google reader 😛

  24. spoonfulofsugarfree

    I would get some all-natural mascara….I don’t like the thought of putting chemicals on my eyelashes (sounds unsanitary for some reason)…

  25. Subscirbed to her newsletter 🙂

  26. Already subscribed to your blog 🙂

  27. Liked her on facebook 🙂
    (I feel ridiculous posting so many comments! :p)

  28. I would definitely get some of the deodorant. I’m not sure which one though, I’m very indecisive D:

  29. I subscribed to their newsletter!!!!

  30. I’m a subscriber, of COURSE! 🙂

  31. I subscribed to the newsletter.

  32. I liked her Facebook page.

  33. I added her blog to my reader.

  34. I would want to get the deodorant and a purifying mask.

  35. I subscribed!

  36. theflourishingfoodie

    I followed on twitter!
    FYI, the link you have to her twitter actually leads to her face book page. I just searched Pure Miessence on twitter and found it that way, but just wanted to let you know in case other can’t find it.

  37. theflourishingfoodie

    I’m already subscribed!

  38. theflourishingfoodie

    Added Jessica’s blog to my reader

  39. theflourishingfoodie

    I would pick some of the all natural makeup, maybe the foundation.

  40. Pingback: 7 Things About ME! « katshealthcorner

  41. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    Wow this is so cool! I would love to try that natural deodorant! I am AAAALL about natural beauty products….I actually find that my skin and body respond to them better than the regular stuff!

  42. What a cool product! I just liked her FB page!

  43. Pingback: Last Chance! | CleanTeenKelsey

  44. I subsribed to the newsletter 🙂

  45. I already follow your blog through my google reader girl!

  46. I follow Jessica on twitter!!!

  47. I suscribed to Jessicas blog!

  48. If I won I would order some skin care products maybe a cleanser or exfoliator both looks awesome!

  49. I’m following on Twitter! And I just found your blog today…great stuff! 🙂

  50. Pingback: Yes, I Did It Again. « katshealthcorner

  51. Pingback: Smoothie 101 | CleanTeenKelsey

Leave a Reply

