Words + Pictures + My Room

Wow, hey guys! I’ve missed you all a lot. This past week was absolutely insane for me. It was Spring Break, and I had to go to two separate campouts, haha. It required a lot of packing—both clothes and food.

The first camp I went to was our yearly church camp for girls. We had it over spring break this year, and it was a lot of fun! I called the campsite ahead, and even though the menu was not easily adaptable at all, I thankfully had a whole refrigerator to myself in the kitchen!

For breakfasts I brought some Wildwood Plain, Unsweetened Soy-yogurt and stirred it with pre-bagged portions of protein powder + cocoa powder. I also brought a couple packs of NuNaturals stevia, because if I don’t sweeten that little mixture… it’s quite disgusting. I also ate it with an apple or banana, which was provided by the camp. I could’ve done oatmeal, but I didn’t know how easy it would be for me to get hot water, and microwaving oats in little disposable bowls does not always work out well. It usually overflows, and I didn’t want to deal with that. I also didn’t want to have to run down to the cafeteria each night to mix up overnight oats… so soy yogurt + an apple was the best option.

As for lunch and dinner, they had an awesome salad bar, so that pretty much took care of those meals. For two of the Mexican-themed meals they even had guacamole, salsa and black beans! I was happy. I also brought some microwaveable soups just in case, and a couple homemade veggie burgers. I came up with TWO new recipes and I am sooo excited to share them with you guys!

101_0017101_0022

I know, they look quite scary. These are the “batters” for the different flavors of veggie burgers.

101_0035101_0036

Any guesses as to what the two different flavors might be? They’re totally different, and both are equally amazing. I honestly can’t pick a favorite. These will be added to the rotation for SURE.

Anyway, back to camp meals. I used these veggie burgers as a protein supplement for the meals, and it all worked out quite nicely! Camp was awesome, too, by the way. I got to spend a lot of time with friends, and we did some fun things like archery, rock climbing wall, zip-line, and canoeing. I ended up going on a 4-hour long canoe trip, which was just insane! The winds were blowing like crazy and we had insane waves. All us girls were soaked by the end of it. We felt so trapped at times, but it was empowering to finally finish. I had to be picked up early from camp, which was both sad and happy. I was sad to leave, but I was excited to go to the other camp, too. We had a lot of fun and really enjoyed our time there.

When we got home, we immediately went into party mode. My little brother’s birthday was on the 11th of March, and two of his best friends’ birthdays are coming up soon, so they did a big combined 13th birthday party. They had a ton of fun.

Speaking of birthdays, mine is coming up! It’s this Saturday, March 26th. I’ll be 17, which is pretty crazy. I don’t know why, but I always get so excited about my birthday. Smile with tongue out I know that birthdays aren’t that big of a deal to some people, but they are to me! haha.  I’ve been debating over whether to make a super awesome vegan chocolate cake with some sort of filling/frosting, or to stick with what I know I like, which is my Tofu Chocolate Mousse Pie. Any suggestions?

Before I go, I wanted to share some pictures of my room with you guys. Smile I usually keep my room clean, but because the past month was so extremely busy, I kind of let it go. Laziness and thoughts of “I’ll put it away later” took over, and I wasn’t happy in my room. I’m a naturally neat, clean person–especially when it comes to my own space—so it was hard for me to be in there. A few weekends ago I took the time to deep-clean my room, and I tackled things I don’t usually get to. I wiped my mirror, cleaned my chalkboard, dusted, vacuumed, rearranged some things, put away laundry and made my bed. I was so happy with it afterwards and I didn’t want to leave. 🙂

Get ready for a huge load of bedroom pictures…

100_9961

The look right when you walk in the door. Forgive the food storage boxes, haha. We have a ton of food storage and it’s gotta go somewhere! I also love my doorknob, which is the green spiky thing in the bottom left corner. All you do is cut the top out of one of those balls, and then you stretch it over your doorknob. It’s really fun. 🙂

100_9963

When we initially decorated my room, I decided I wanted the theme to be bright green, sky blue and black and white. I also wanted zebra to be in there. I’m really big into clean, sleek, contemporary looks, so I wanted my room to be as IKEA-esque as possible. Haha. We painted the walls white so that the bright green and blue would really pop. I still have a few more things that I need to get up, including green curtains, shelves, and things for my walls so they don’t look so bare. That probably won’t happen in this house, though. Anyway, here you can see my zebra chair. It’s actually a plain brown, plush butterfly chair, but I threw my big zebra blanket over it. It’s really comfortable. I also love that white rug. It’s so soft and it looks super cool.

100_9964

I love my bed! The mattress is actually a futon mattress, so it’s really big and comfortable.

100_9969

Behind my bed is this cool film strip photo holder that we got at IKEA. It has pictures of me when I was little. 🙂

100_9970

100_9972100_9973

The view from my bed. The door on the right is my bedroom door with the green doorknob. The one on the left is my closet.

100_9991

The top of my dresser. The frame says “Be True.” I need to put a picture in there… but I haven’t decided which one yet.

100_9995

My iHome and my super cool blue/green lava lamp. That rose is actually the same rose in the pictures from my birthday last year! Some of my guy friends gave me roses, and this one preserved really well. It’s almost exactly a year old now.100_9993

The three fragrances I wear most often. Left to right are Aeropostale Promise Me, Nollie, and Pink, which was a gift from a friend. All three of them smell sooo good.

100_9976

The view from my chair. My full-length mirror and a black chalkboard thing. I arranged the magnets in a smiley face. 🙂

100_9977

One of my favorite quotes that’s on my mirror. I read it often.

100_9983

A close-up of the magnet/chalk board. I have yet to hang this on my wall, because we’re moving and my mom didn’t want me to make anymore  holes in the wall. When I do put it up eventually, I want to paint it green so it bounces off the white walls. I like this board because it has a lower section for my some of most-used items. Hairbrush, straightening serum, anti-frizz serum, deodorant and straightener.

100_9985

I bought that Paul Mitchell Super Skinny Serum three years ago, and I’m just a little over halfway through the bottle! It’s super concentrated so it lasts forever.

101_0006

And last but not least, a quick look at my closet. Haha. I’m not going to show you the inside-right, because it needs some work. 🙂

So there you go! That’s more than you ever cared to see of my room, haha.

Question of the Day: What does your room look like, and what kind of design style do you like? As I said before, I’m really big into sleek, modern, clean and contemporary looks. I was trying to achieve that with my room, but I could still do more. A super crazy silver lamp would be awesome.

Thanks for reading!

kelsey-sig

27 responses to “Words + Pictures + My Room

  1. i LOVE your room! mine is kind of vintage them with lots of vintage stuff- fake vintage though!) your camp trips sound fun! wow two of them – thats crazy!

  2. Wow! I love your room! Those burgers look weird, but good at the same time! I like different coloured foods, haha.
    My room is.. a disaster right now! We are still in the “moving-in” phase (okay, we moved last August, but still!) so there is a ton of stuff everywhere! I HATE it! Every time I try and tackle it, it seems like more junk gets put in there. I really like clean and modern looks, but with a more casual feel. I love the colours black, red, white and purple, and we lucked out! Our bedroom was already painted red when we moved in! Haha. We have a nice black duvet cover and pillow cases, and red sheets. I hope that once all the boxes and stuff are finally dealt with, I’ll want to go in there more!

  3. Love your room!!!!
    The camps sound fun!! Please post the veggie burger recipes soon! 😀

  4. spoonfulofsugarfree

    oooOoo I love your room! Very sleek 😉 I’m glad you had fun at camp-you seem to go to camp A LOT! I have never been to camp before really…except once for 2 days at girl scout camp (I was like 10).

    I can’t wait to see what you make for your bday! I am sure whatever you make will be tasty!

    And your veggie burgers look like one has spinach in it…or maybe an herb like cilantro? And chickpeas?

  5. Those burgers look good, I think one is chickpea?

    Your room is so cute, I love the beads that are the door for your closet!

    Having girl’s camp over spring break is SUCH a good idea! Ours is the first day of summer vacation and it’s going to be soooo hot (like usual!!)! We are also going on a trek this year, have you done one? I’m excited, it’s going to be my first!

    HAPPY EARLY BIRTHDAY, Kelsey!!

  6. happy early birthday!!

    Were one of those burgers spinach!?

    I like modern but a CLEAN look for decor!

  7. My room looks like it came from an IKEA catalog- everything I own is from there and I love it 🙂

  8. Cute room! It looks like such a happy place to be in 🙂
    I alwaays have to have mine clean. If it’s not I think about it all night and get no sleep. ha no fun.
    Hope you figure out something delicious for you birthyday!

  9. I love colorful rooms. The green and blue really pop. So cheerful! 😀

  10. Your room is so nice! I’ve had the same room since I was 3 years old, so it looks like a little girls room. I’ve covered one of my walls with all my running bibs and race pictures though. The rest of my room is a total mess because it’s really tiny!
    I have no idea what those veggies burgers are, maybe a pesto burger? That would be awesome! I can’t wait for you to share.

  11. Aw I love how bright your room is! Mine is just black, white and grey. Very modern. My best friend is a photographer so she did some black and white prints for my wall. It’s pretty cool, but I kind of wish I had a pop of color! I’m thinking about adding in some purple!

  12. Wow. Two Camps in the same week! Sounds like you had fun!!!!!! My Girl’s Camp is in June–at least we have air conditioning this year! 😀

    One of my busy times will be May — with Teen Conference Thu-Sat, Prom Sat night, then I leave for my trip to Illinois that Mon for an entire week! It is going to be maddness! 🙂

    I love your room darling!!!! 😀 It looks absolutely PERFECT for you!!! 😀 I love the Zebra Print! It reflects your wild side. 😉

    LOVE YOU! 😀
    xoxox
    Kathleen

  13. Happy Early Birthday KELSEY Dear!
    Happy days will come to you all year!
    If I had a wish then it would be–
    A Happy Happy Early Birthday to YOU from me! 😀

    Are you doing anything for your birthday? I think you should make a Chocolate CAKE! With Peanut Butter as Frosting. 😉

    xoxox
    Kathleen

  14. Your room is so cute! Love it!

    I totally use that same Paul Mitchell skinny serum!!

  15. I love your room too! Mine has a big mirror, a colourful bed lining (yellow-lila-red), lots of space for clothes in the wardrobe.. but I’d prefer a big bed! Big bed and big mirror – these two things always impress me.
    hmm so if these are protein burgers, I’d say the yellow one is made of beans/chickpeas, the green one maybe spinach.. no idea. Both look awesome!

  16. Ahh I love the zebra print going on! Those burgers sound great, I’ve been making quinoa lentil burgers lately and they are BOMB. !!

  17. I love your room!! Mine is so small, since I’m at school. I Like that my desk overloooks the window so I can loook out and watch people walk by. It’s actually quite cozy!

  18. the best thing is that these burgers would give me an excuse to have two- one of each for sure!! it’s kind of necessary, right? 🙂

    ok, phew, im not the only one who keeps flowers- i have a few that are pretty much black now but i cherish them too much to throw them away.

    ps. love that u mentioned Ikea. Need to go back there to pick up a few furniture pieces- the prices are always cheap and the style options are endless 🙂

    xoxo ❤

  19. I’m glad eating at the camp outs turned out well! 🙂 It was terrible when I went to horse camp last year! I was pretty much limited to fruit and the salad bar. Two things I love, but they get kind of dull after a week…

    I can’t wait for the recipes!! One chipotle, one spinach? Who knows, but they both look fabulous!! 😀

    My room is a mish mash of horse-themed, Hawaii-themed, and Alaska-themed. It’s kind of strange, but I love it! 🙂 Still, my dream room would look similar to yours. I LOVE the modern, contemporary look!! You did a fabulous job! 🙂

  20. Happy Birthday! Hope you had a great day of celebrating.
    Your room is super cute, too. 🙂

  21. Pingback: There’s a New Burger in Town | CleanTeenKelsey

  22. I love your room! Mine is an awful mess and relfects ME right now… as in I am an awful mess right now. Ha. I have a lot of bright colors though, and my bed is a normal wood twin with my great grandmothers quilt on it. 🙂 I have pictures allll over the walls. I cut the pictures off of old calendars and line them up near the top of the wall and they go around the room. Then all my own pics are all over the place.

  23. your room is so so cute! I wish I could be that organized…! lol
    just created my blog recently so check it out if you would like!
    It would be so appreciated!

    xo Em

    http://www.pureglowsixteen.blogspot.com

  24. Your room is great! I love the colour scheme! I had the exact same lava lamp but it smashed when I moved house 😦

  25. I have that Nollie fragrance too! I tried on a sample at the mall and ended up buying it because I loved it so much.
    That film strip photo holder is the sweetest thing EVER. How long ago did you get it? I want to go see if Ikea still has them.. haha
    I loved seeing your room Kelsey! I love the beads you have hanging down on your closet. I want to get some of those.

  26. Oh my heck, those breakfast cookies look SO freaking good. I love how healthy they are, and perfect because I just bought some white beans so I’m definitely going to make those.
    I’m not sure if you’ve tried this before or not but I recently came across a recipe for “dessert hummus” and it actually looked super good! It sounds totally unappealing I know but I went to get the ingredients to make it today and I am making myself try it before I swear off the idea of a dessert made out of hummus.. haha. If you’ve ever made it, let me know! I’d love to hear your opinions on it.

  27. i LOVE YOUR NEW ROOM! I totally love the photo strip clips of you!

Leave a Reply

