Socca Monster

Alright, so you’ve probably seen it around. Almost everyone else has posted about this amazing creation… I figured it was about time that I did the same. I’ve been busy in the kitchen making one thing: socca!


(source)


(source)


(source)

The Pure2Raw girls got me started on socca, and I’m loving it! It consists of only three ingredients, if you don’t count the oil in the pan:

  • chickpea flour
  • salt
  • and water

It’s ridiculously simple and is SO versatile. I’ve made it three times now, and each version was different. I apologize for the lack of pictures; I’m just going to have to use some of the twins’ pictures. Theirs are better than mine could ever be anyway!

The first version I made was their chocolate socca. I mean, come on, it’s chocolate. Of course it was the first one I tried.

DSC_0083
(source)

(s0urce)

It was wonderful, and I enjoyed it topped with peanut butter. Again, sorry for the lack of picture.

The next time I tried it, I used the base recipe…

  • 1 cup chickpea flour
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tbsp oil in the bottom of the pan

and made it into a pizza crust! I added some Italian spices to the socca, and it was a fabulous crust. I topped my pizza with a plethora of veggies, tomato sauce and daiya cheese. Picture it in your head, or check out Alex’s blog where she has a pretty picture of her socca pizza.

Last but not least, my favorite version (and the only one I managed to get a picture of) was the Pure2Raw twins’ carrot cake version! I had to break out the old juicer to get some carrot juice, but it was so worth it. I modified it a little bit, and here is my version of the recipe. 🙂

Kelsey’s Carrot Cake Socca

  • 1 cup chickpea flour
  • 1 cup carrot juice
  • 3/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ginger powder
  • stevia, agave or other sweetener, to taste
  • 3 tbsp shredded coconut
  • 2-3 tbsp chopped walnuts
  • 2 tbsp raisins
  • 1 tbsp solid coconut oil

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Whisk together the chickpea flour, carrot juice, sea salt, spices and sweetener. Place the coconut oil in the bottom of a 10 inch cake pan (although, if the only pan you have is bigger/smaller, that’s fine too. Just know that the resulting socca will be thicker or thinner, depending on the size.) then place the pan in the preheated oven. This will melt the coconut oil and get it hot, which is what we want.

Next, whisk in the coconut and walnuts. Pour your batter into the pan, right onto the hot oil. Don’t worry about spreading the oil to grease the sides. Next, use your hands to drop the raisins individually where you want them to be in the socca. I do it this way so the raisins are fairly well distributed. You can do this with the walnuts too, if you like.

Place the socca in the oven and bake for about 20-30 minutes. Check on it at 20 and see how it looks. You’ll know it’s done when the middle is set, the sides are pulling away from the pan, and when the top is golden brown and cracking.

I usually don’t let it cool for too long… I just cut into it and eat it. Serve it up on a plate with your toppings of choice, and devour!

100_9886100_9888

Mine did not have the same lovely orange color that the twins’ did… but it was still delicious and tasted JUST like carrot cake. Amazing.

100_9890

I originally planned on eating a little more than 1/3… but I kept picking at it and eventually just ate half of it. Smile

100_9894

I topped it with Katie’s Coconut Banana Butter, which is holy amazing. This was so wonderful!

100_9895100_9896

I did eat more than what’s on the plate, just so you know. Haha.

It should be noted that socca can be cooked a couple different ways, but so far I’ve only ever baked it. I know you can skillet cook it… but I’m kind of scared to flip it! Haha.

Also, you might be wondering where on earth you get chickpea flour. My answer is pretty short and simple: any regular grocery store! I don’t buy chickpea flour—I buy bagged, uncooked chickpeas at my local HEB or Wal-Mart. Then, I grind the flour myself in my Vita-Mix dry container. It’s ridiculously loud, but it’s worth it. It is such a great money saver… bags of chickpea flour are very expensive, but bags of dried chickpeas are just over a dollar. The bag I grind up makes about 2.5 cups flour. Ashlei has a really good tutorial for grinding your own flour, by the way. 🙂

Question of the Day: Have you ever made socca? What is your favorite way of making it? How about your favorite version?

Thanks for reading!

kelsey-sig

P.S. Oh, by the way, what should I do with the left-over carrot pulp?? I know you can make muffins, crackers and stuff, but I have yet to find a recipe that seems right. Does anyone have suggestions or ideas?

38 responses to “Socca Monster

  1. I have GOT to try socca. I keep saying it. Got to!
    I *heart* the twins so much. And you too, girl! Love you!!!!

  2. Sounds so good I need to try this out!

  3. YAY socca monster, love it!! Yes the carrot cake was one of our favs, cannot wait to make that one again!

  4. Soccas are everywhere!
    I like them but I don’t love them..
    But carrot cake!! Ohmygoodness I may just have to give them another shot 😀

  5. Loving the socca! I still haven’t tried it 😦

  6. Oh man! That recipe looks fantastic! I haven’t tried socca yet but that may be the recipe that I use to test it out…..can’t wait!

  7. I bought chickpea flour with the intention of making socca, but I have yet to do it! Carrot cake socca sounds delicious, but I think I need to try it straight up first. I’m so pumped to try it!

  8. I still haven’t jumped on the socca bandwagon… I need to buy some chickpea flour STAT!!! 😀

  9. Hey Darling! 😀

    You should make some goodies with the extra pulp, like carrot cake muffins a la Katie, or some Carrot Cake Oats, or some of my Carrot Raisin Apple Zuchinni Sweet Potato (or Pumpkin) Muffins (aka, CRAZy SPuffins). 🙂

    You socca sounds delicious! 😀 I really want to try the CHOCOLATE one! 😀

    I really want to make some of my on chickpea flour! I have the dried chickpeas. I just need to make some! 😀

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  10. Haven’t made socca yest, but since just yesterday I saw a bag of chickpeas at our grocery store (we didn’t have them before), I probably will make it soon!

  11. i’ve made socca before, and it was really good! it looks like you’ve been busy making lots of different kinds. i’ll have to try the chocolate version! 🙂

  12. Thanks for linking to my tutorial! 🙂

    The twins’ socca always looks so yummy and photogenic…never mine! At least it’s still tasty!

  13. spoonfulofsugarfree

    I LOVE socca! My favorite is making it into pizzas or sandwich flatbreads….I like to keep a little stash on hand to make into a quick lunch. Today I plan on having a socca veggie sandwich! I haven’t tried the chocolate yet, but it sounds so good! I also want to try the carrot cake one 😉

    I love garbanzo bean flour because it is relatively cheap compared to other gluten-free brands, it is high-protein, and it’s yummy! I will throw some into my pancakes (I guess I have had chickpea-flour chocolate pancakes?!), put it in my chicken pot pie, and throw a little into other stuff, too!

  14. DECLICIOUS i love socca! i dont make it nearly enough~! i made socca pizza once and loved it. buti want to try other versions like this one!

  15. Great post, Kelsey!
    I totally never heard about chocolate socca, I need to make it!!
    I have baked socca and done the skillet. Baking is so much better. Flipping was a pain and it didn’t cook as well as when it was baked. It was kinda soggy.

  16. I’ve never tried socca…but it looks delicious!

  17. That looks insanely addictive.

  18. I can’t wait to try socca! Just bought my garbanzo bean flour!
    Yours sounds sweet & delicious 🙂

  19. I want to give baking a try. I was scared to flip it but it actually turned out well! I’ve heard that baking gives it a nice, custardy texture in the middle- yum 🙂

  20. The Teenage Taste

    I’m a little late hopping on the socca bandwagon, but I think the carrot cake flavor sounds delicious! Great idea Kelsey! 😀

  21. All that socca is making me huuuuuungry! (Thank goodness it’s almost lunch time 😉 )

    I tried HEAB’s version and it was fabulous!!! 😀 I really want to try your carrot cake version sometime! It looks way too delicious!! 🙂

    Have a fantastical weekend, girl!!

  22. Wooo hooo! I’m trying out Socca for the first time tonight! I can’t wait 🙂 I’ve got to see for myself what everyone’s been raving about!

  23. I’ve never made socca, but that chocolate on looks so good!!!
    Megan

  24. I need to try this socca stuff, badly : ) looks tasty indeed
    as for the left over carrots, I’ve been baking alot with carrots lately; I put them in my pancakes yesterday morning and in some blackbean brownies as well. You can always sneak them into spreads as well for a little kicker and a wonderful color addition!

  25. What a delicious idea for socca!!!! I’ve been using it to make pizzas, (like savory socca) but I LOVE the idea of making it into a dessert!

  26. I alllllways plan on just eating one or two servings of something, and then pick at it and end up eating MASSIVE amounts…like the whole pan:) hehehe

  27. I’ve never tried it but i gotta get my hands on this stuff..it looks delish!!

  28. Love socca its soo good and filling yours looks delicious!

  29. Socca is one my to-do list! Thanks for a great post and the carrot-cake version. Do you think it will still taste good if I leave out the salt?

Leave a Reply

