Salted Dark Chocolate Pecan-Almond Butter

I have been so excited to write this post, you don’t even know.

Thank you so much for all the feedback on what nut butter I should make! Your comments were very appreciated. A lot of you suggested almond, a lot of you suggested pecan, and some of you suggested a mixed nut butter. As you know, I aim to please, so I did all three. 🙂 I was eager to make the nut butter right away, but I had a problem: it was 7:30 am and my family was still sleeping. So, I unplugged my Vita-Mix, hauled it to the back of the house and proceeded to make nut butter—in my room. 🙂

Salted Dark Chocolate Pecan-Almond Butter
(Adapted from Oh She Glows)

  • 1 1/4 cup pecans
  • 3/4 cup raw almonds
  • About 5 unsweetened Baker’s Chocolate squares—enough to make 1/2 cup chopped**
  • 1 tsp solid coconut oil
  • 3/4 – 1 tsp sea salt
  • sweetener, to taste (optional)

**I actually ended up using a combo of the chocolate I had in the house, because I was trying to use it up before opening my Baker’s. I ended up putting in 1/4 bar of Lindt 85%, as well as a couple tablespoons of mini semi-sweet to finish the bag. I used 2 Baker’s squares to supplement the rest of it, which is why I’m not sure exactly how many squares to use. Chop and measure accordingly. 🙂

Begin by roasting the nuts. Turn your oven onto 325 degrees and roast the almonds and pecans for 10 minutes, watching carefully so you don’t burn them. Let them cool briefly, then dump them into your Vita-Mix/Blend-Tec/food processor/what-have-you and process. I find that it’s best to start low, and go to about medium speed to chop up all the nuts. Once they’re fairly powdery, I turn down the speed to about 3 or 4 on the Vita-Mix. I alternate back and forth between low, medium, and high based on how the butter looks. It shouldn’t take long at all to do this, because pecan butter comes to the butter stage quite quickly. Just be patient, keep the machine running and I promise, you will soon have smooth, delectable pecan-almond butter.

While your machine is making the butter, I suggest that you start melting your chocolate and coconut oil. This is how I melt my chocolate. I put the chocolate in a small saucepan, then I put the saucepan in a frying pan that’s filled halfway with water. It works really well and NEVER burns the chocolate.

After the chocolate is melted, dump it into the Vita-Mix.

100_9818100_9819

Blend it all together on low, slowly working up to a higher speed to make sure it’s all incorporated. Now, add your salt and optional sweetener. I did not use the sweetener and it was PERFECT for me, but feel free to sweeten it if you aren’t too keen on super-dark chocolate. Now for the salt. I would suggest starting at 1/2 tsp of salt and working your way up to 3/4 tsp or 1 tsp. I think I did about 3/4 tsp salt, and it was perfect. You can stop whenever you like if it’s too salty for you, but keep in mind this is a “salted chocolate” nut butter. The combo is FABULOUS and I just can’t get enough of it. Blend to combine, and you’re done! Now, begin salivating.

I hate to build things up normally, because when you try it, your expectations are usually too high to meet. But I can’t help myself with this one. Ohhh my goodness, this is my favorite nut butter I have ever made. It is so beyond amazing and it requires a ton of self-control to not eat the whole container. It’s rich, smooth, creamy, dark and has a wonderful flavor. I want to frost my birthday cake with this stuff! Haha. I really love it.

100_9851

Let it be known that it is really hard to pour a Vita-Mix full of nut butter with one hand while trying to take a stable, non-blurry picture with the other hand.

100_9853

I’m almost out of pecans, but I think I will buy some more… just to make this nut butter.

100_9861

I initially put it in the fridge, because it was super liquid-y, but over time it solidified too much. Now it’s sitting in my cabinet with the coconut butter, and it’s the perfect consistency: smooth and spreadable. 🙂

100_9865

Make this now. Please.

100_9875

I ate it with a sweet potato the other night, and it was awesome.

100_9874

 

What’s in the pita pocket? A homemade tofu-lentil veggie burger! Recipe coming soon. 🙂

Also, does anyone have a Twitter account? If so, you should follow me! Smile My Twitter username is Kelzfosho. I’ve had Twitter for years, but I jumped off the bandwagon for a while and now I’m finally back on. Let me know if you have a Twitter account so I can follow you, too!

Question of the Day: What’s your most favorite nut butter, whether it’s one you’ve made or one you buy? Where do you rank on the chocolate scale—dark (50%-60%), SUPER dark (80%-100%), milk, or white? I’m definitely a SUPER dark person. The darker the better, in my opinion!

Thanks for reading!

kelsey-sig

26 responses to “Salted Dark Chocolate Pecan-Almond Butter

  1. I loove Dark Chocolate dreams!!!!!
    Here’s my list of chocolate, from favorite to least favorite:
    Dark, Milk, White

    How long does making nut butter take in a food processor??

  2. im SUPER DARK!! and I LOVE PECAN BUTTER and almond pecan is just what i made the other day! heaven.. but i must put choccie in next time!! ooo please post that burger recipe 😀

  3. Oh my gosh I cannot wait to make this!!!!! =D =D
    I also can’t wait for the recipe of that lentil burger. YUM!!!! I love reading your blog, Kelsey!

  4. This looks sinfully delicious! I don’t care what kind of chocolate I’m eating- as long as I get some, I’m happy 🙂

  5. I just love homemade almond butters! Yours looks great!

  6. I like Dark, I’m still trying to get used to SUPER dark!! 🙂

    This pecan butter looks sooo amazing, Kelsey!! Seriously, I think this is the yummiest recipe for nut butter I’ve ever seen!

  7. Pecans, almonds, and chocolate? Omg it’s like the perfect trio. That nut butter looks amazing!!! 😀

  8. That chocolate pecan butter looks amazing Kelsey! YUM!
    I loooove chocolate! Most of the time I go for super dark!

  9. Super thoughtful of you to make your nut butter in your room! I’ve heard VitaMixes are super loud!

    Your nut butter looks amazing!

  10. spoonfulofsugarfree

    That looks soooo yummy 🙂 kinda like a rich chocolate sauce!

  11. Oh man this looks way good. Pecan’s almonds and dark chocolate? How could that not be good?! ha Thank you for sharing this , it’s bookmarked 😀

  12. Oh My Gosh Girl!!!! That is INSANE!!!! I can’t wait to make this!!! I’ve never tried Pecan Butter before!!! or a mixed nut butter for a matter of fact! I know, I am such a deprived child. I have to make this!!!! 😀

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  13. Bookmarked!!! 😀

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  14. Pingback: The Impact Of Famous Americans On The American Native Nut Tree, The Pecan, Carya Illinoinensis

  15. Ha ha I go into my basement when I want to blend something up with my magic bullet in the mornings
    This nut butter looks awesome!
    I have a twitter and already follow you
    My favorite nut butter is almond butter and I like dark chocolate

  16. I LOVE LOVE dark chocolate. I think once you start loving dark chocolate ..milk just isn’t the same hah

  17. I’m all over the place when it comes to favorite nut butters. It’s different every day! Right now I’m loving honey almond butter. I really want to try this though because I love pecans!

    I’m not picky about chocolate, but I love crazy flavors! I love when there are spices, fruits, toffee bits, potato chips, whatever it is, I’ll try it if it’s in chocolate form.

  18. ooh ooh follow me! i’m cookiesncarrots. that’s also an extra entry in my giveaway fi you also comment on my post 😉

    also that almond butter looks so creamy dreamy delicious! ❤

  19. Oh my goodness I should not have read this post right before bed. I want to go make and devour this stuff NOW! Looks amazing!! Favorite nut butter currently is Justin’s maple almond. 🙂
    P.S. My twitter is OatmealDiaries! I don’t think we’re twitter pals yet?!

  20. Sweet potatoes & nut butter are a match made in heaven 🙂
    Though I’m a PB girl at heart, I’ve been loving cashew butter lately.

  21. SUPER dark for me too! 85% or 100% is how I role! 😀

    That nut butter looks WAY too good!! Like REALLY way too good!! Let me know if you don’t want it all – I’ll be happy to take it off your hands 😉

    My favorite nut butter is peanut, coconut, almond…. ok, ok, I love them all! 🙂

  22. You had me at the title! Too bad I don’t have a nice blender 😛
    I love all nut butters!

    Whitney

  23. This looks great girlie! I love how you mixed the almonds and pecans! Pecans are by far my favorite nut, but I’ve yet to try pecan butter. Right now, my fave is almond butter…any and ALL kinds! 😉

    I’m a super dark girl! 85% is PERFECT, but I have been known to enjoy Baker’s chocolate plain with some strawberries! Yum!

  24. im a superdark girl all the way!!!!! and what a great addition to the sweet potato looks scrumtious!

  25. Yum I love how runny the pecan butter is, definitely a good idea to pour it all over your sweet potato, I’ll keep that in mind yum!

  26. Dark chocolate is SOOO good. this looks amazing. I love putting peanut flour paste on my sweet potatoes so i’ll have to try this too!

Leave a Reply

