Cookies + Hummus

Hey guys! This past weekend was insane! I had my big dance competition, and it went really well. I had a blast and did my very best. I posted some pictures on my Facebook page the other day, so feel free to check them out if you like. Smile

******************

I like to bake, you all know that. One problem I have with baking, however, is that most baked goods contain a TON of sugar, fat, and carbs. I have no problem with any of those, as long as they’re the right kinds and they’re in moderation. The other thing I try to think about when baking is whether or not the ingredients would fit into a regular meal. I prefer to bake things that I can eat for breakfast or a snack without going into a sugar coma.  These breakfast cookies that I came across the other week just happened to fit my criteria: whole grain oats, which I would usually eat for breakfast; naturally sweetened with apples, not bananas (bananas are higher in starchy carbs and sugars than apples); low enough in calories for me to have multiple cookies (because really, who wants to eat just one?) and low in fat. Also, keep in mind that the only reason I wanted them to be low in fat was so that I could slather them in peanut butter later. Open-mouthed smile It took me a while to make these, but I’m so glad I did! They were fabulous.

100_9764 (2)

Because I accidentally pureed my apples instead of pulsing them, these came out pretty soft and gooey in the middle. It’s okay though—no complaints from me! They’re kind of like a cross between a muffin, a cookie and a bowl of oatmeal. I added chopped almonds, raisins and miniature vegan chocolate chips. 🙂 I also added a scoop and a half of protein powder to the last half of the batter, in an attempt to firm up the cookies. It worked and they were lovely!100_9769 (2)

No pictures of those ones, sorry. These are awesome and make a wonderful morning afternoon anytime snack. 🙂

Next, I ran out of hummus! I of course couldn’t have that, so I quickly whipped some up.

100_9784

It wasn’t just any hummus though—it was sweet potato hummus.

100_9787 (2)

Sweet Potato Hummus
(adapted from Gena’s Sweet Potato Hummus)

Ingredients:

  • 1 large sweet potato, baked and skin removed
  • 1 can chickpeas, drained, liquid reserved
  • 1-2 tbsp tahini*
  • 1/2 tsp salt, or to taste
  • juice of 1/2 medium lemon
  • 1/2 cup reserved chickpea liquid
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp agave, or to taste
  • (optional) cumin, to taste

*I used about 2 heaping tablespoons, but the resulting tahini taste was too strong for me. I’m not a tahini fan, so next time I would do only 1 tbsp. If you like tahini, feel free to use 2 tbsp or more.

First, bake and remove the skin from your potato. I ended up microwaving mine (I know, I know) because I was short on time. Chop up the sweet potato and place the chunks in your food processor.

(optional) Heat your chickpeas in the microwave for a minute, then dump them into the food processor. Pulse the mixture so the sweet potato and chickpeas are combined. Add the agave and chickpea liquid a little at a time, pulsing until it’s a smooth, spreadable consistency. Next add the tahini, salt, lemon juice, cinnamon and optional cumin. Pulse to combine again, and enjoy!

100_9789 (2)

Eat it with some Food Should Taste Good Chips; put it on a salad or sandwich; or dip your favorite veggies into it! It tastes amazing on pecans, too. It’s also pretty good with a spoon, straight out of the food processor. Go ahead and try it. I won’t tell.

100_9794 (2)

I loooove this hummus! It combines two of my favorite foods (chickpeas and sweet potatoes) and is so versatile. This will definitely be on my list of foods that I make over and over.

In other news, I am OUT of nut butter! Okay, not technically, but 3 out of 3 jars in my home are all at OIAJ-status. That means that there’s only about a tablespoon left in the bottom, and I’m saving them to use for oats in a jar. I have no peanut butter, no almond butter and no coconut butter (not really a nut, but whatever :D). It’s killing me and I’m in need of making some nut butter ASAP! So, here’s my question of the day:

What kind of nut butter should I make? Have you come across any amazing recipes lately that I should definitely try? I currently have almonds, pecans and pistachios on hand. What to do, what to do?

Thanks for reading!

kelsey-sig

vitamins and supplements
Have a blog? Want to win a $100? Check out the Swanson Health Blog.

26 responses to “Cookies + Hummus

  1. i am def checking out these cookies!!!!! sweet tater hummus= YES YES YES!
    you should make.. ALMOND or cashew.. OR my all time favorite PECAN

  2. BTW thats me who requested you on fb!

  3. Those cookies look awesome!!! cookies for breakfast is where its at! =D

  4. I’d make almond butter because its my FAV and in my opinion the easiest to make!

  5. Ooh yummy make pecan butter, or cashew!! Both of those sound AMAZING right now:) Ok, your hummus looks bomb. I seriously go through 4 cups of hummus every 3 days (I buy the 4 c. containers!) I need to make my own though..even fresher!

  6. Make almond butter!! I am a big fan of hummus – especially flavors they dont sell in the store!
    Those cookies look AWESOME and HUGE which means I will need to make them! So did you just follow the exact recipe? Btw, I have those paper plates 🙂 But yours photograph a lot better!

  7. Those cookies look amazing!!! 😀

  8. Good Lord, Sweet potato hummus why didn’t I think of that!

  9. I saw the video of your dance competition, so fun!
    Yum, I’m definitely going to check out that cookie recipe and your hummus looks like it turned out amazingly!
    You should make a mixed nut butter! Like peanut, cashew and almond…yum!

  10. spoonfulofsugarfree

    I’m so glad you had a great dance competition!!! How did you do??? The pics look great!!!

    You should try to make sunflower seed butter—soo yummy!

  11. Sweet potato hummus? I’m soo curious as to how that tastes! Better run off to my kitchen now 🙂

  12. I think the same way about baking and try to make most recipes as healthy as I can. Of course I do sometimes make the high fat, high sugar, white flour variety too!

    That is one yummy looking hummus. How did you come up with it?

    I’ve never tried it before but you could combine your nuts for the nut butter. You could also add chocolate or cinnamon

  13. mmm sweet potatoes & hummus? awesome.

    i’m glad your dance competition went well!! 🙂

    i’m having a little giveaway on my blog, come check it out if you’d like
    http://www.whatkatiesbaking.com

  14. The dance competition sounds like so much fun!! I’m so glad you did well! 🙂

    Those cookies look AMAZING! And I think I would like them gooey in the middle 😉

    Wow!! That hummus also looks amazing! It combines two of my favorite foods too!! 😀

    And I agree with Kayla that you should make a mixed nut butter 🙂

  15. those cookies look so full of goodness! wow :)haha

  16. Sweet potato hummus!? love.

    Whitney 🙂

  17. theflourishingfoodie

    I can’t tell you how happy it makes me that those cookies are sweetened with apple! I see so many recipes that use bananas as a sweetener but I’m really not a fan of bananas so that is perfect for me. I can’t wait to try them!

  18. I have a german chocolate butter recipe that I posted on my blog. If you have coconut too than you can make it! http://xcfoodie.wordpress.com/2011/01/16/first-post/

    I’ve been wanting to try sweet potato hummus for a long time! Two of my favorite foods togther = bliss. I want to try those cookies too! I love healthy baked goods because I can eat more than one and not feel sluggish.

  19. Those Cookies look fabulous! I love that you used MINI Chocolate Chips! 😀 They make the Cookies taste so Chocolatey! 😀

    AND I love that you used Sweet Potatoes in your Hummus! I’m out of Hummus too, so I am in desperite need of some! 🙂 Love this recipe!

    No more nut butter!?!?!? Oh no, no, no. This won’t do. I’d say make some PECAN butter! 😀

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  20. Congrats on the competition love! 🙂

    Those cookies look amazing! I love cookies. Obviously. 😉 I really do like both healthy and absurdly unhealthy ones though… Those look like they’re worth a try!

    Personally I like PB and Almond butter best, there are lots of crazy varieties out there but i like ’em plain. Though a drizzle of maple syrup or some cocoa powder certainly can’t hurt too much 😉

  21. That sweet potato hummus looks awesome! I’m definitely going to try that this weekend. 🙂

  22. I make homemade nut butter all the time! Here are two of my favorites:
    Mixed Nut & Chia Butter (like Nuttzo)
    http://foodfitnessandfun.wordpress.com/mixed-nut-chia-butter/
    Chocolate Coconut Butter (like Cacao Bliss)
    http://heathereatsalmondbutter.com/recipes/chocolate-coconut-butter/
    Have a great weekend! 😀

  23. Wow, you and I have the same view of baking! I love baking “normal” baked goods for friends and family, but when it comes to me, I like the make things the as nutritious as possible. Thanks for the link to those cookies; bananas sometimes bother my tummy so I’m glad to see there are apple-sweetened goodies out there.

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  24. Make some kind of cinnamon vanilla almond-pecan butter! 🙂

    P.S. you won my Amy’s Kitchen giveaway!! Email me your shipping info and I’ll pass it along to get your stuff sent out. 🙂

  25. I do think you should make pistachio butter because it would be a beautiful green! I really love sunflower seed butter, and would like to try to make my own. Is it fun to make your own nut butters?

  26. Hey Kels! Thanks for the recipes – did you use a white sweet potato for the hummus? It’s crazy how many ingredients, when combined the right way, can be something like hummus.
    I know the feeling of “where’s the nut butter?” – I eat about jar (16 oz. – one pound!) every month. My Earth and Environmental Science class watched Nat Geo’s documentary “Human Footprint,” which shows how much stuff the avg. American uses in a lifespan of 77 years, 9 mos. I sure won’t eat 5 cows or 6 pigs in my lifetime, but I know I will eat more than the avg. 5,000 bananas, and I can’t imagine how many pounds of nuts and nut butter!
    Have a good week, my friend!

Leave a Reply

