(Collard) Green Machine

Remember in this post, where I showed you some amazing collard green wraps?

100_9357100_9361100_9367

Well, the collard wraps are back! I’m such a fan—I just can’t help it.

100_9573

What’s in there?

Along side some freshly cut peppers, baby tomatoes, green beans and sugar snap peas. Holy yum!

100_9578100_9585

The third version was a breakfast version, based on Ashley’s breakfast rolls, which were based on Gena’s raw banana sushi rolls!

The first one was a carrot cake roll with:

  • Sliced carrots
  • Raw walnut pieces
  • Raisins
  • Shredded coconut
  • And coconut butter crumbles (since it’s too cold to spread!)

I also added a drizzle of agave—completely raw and completely delicious. 🙂

100_9596100_9599

The second roll had Nuttzo PF, apple slices, cinnamon and raisins. Yuuum!

100_9602

The last (and unpictured) roll had sliced bananas, raw almond butter and shredded coconut, I believe.

Place the fillings in the middle of the leaves, roll ‘em up, toothpick ‘em and devour! Gena has a really good tutorial for this, as does Ashlei. Mine aren’t quite as pretty as theirs. 🙂

100_9607

All together now.

100_9611

Soo good, and it held me over for a surprisingly long time!

**********

Thank you guys SO much for your sweet comments on the last post! I have certainly missed you all, too! I am definitely keeping up with your posts on the Google Reader app on my phone, but my commenting has been sparse. It’s killing me because I totally miss the interaction I get with you guys in the comments section. Thank you so much for continuing to comment on my posts and sharing your thoughts, even though it’s not going so well on my part! I’m certainly trying, and I will get to the point where the craziness has passed and I have more time. These past two weeks though… they’ve been ridiculous. I can’t wait for some free time and for the opportunity to exercise! My days have been so crazy; I literally wake up in the morning, quickly make a smoothie and immediately have to start getting ready to leave. I have dance, activities, meetings and various errands or tasks, so I don’t get back to my house till late in the evening. I haven’t had the time to exercise like I usually do, and I can definitely feel it. I’ve lost some strength unfortunately! I also miss the rush and how good it feels, and I’m definitely not as happy when I don’t exercise regularly. It must be all those endorphins. Winking smile

Question of the Day: Have you ever tried collard wraps? What did you think? How do you feel when you don’t exercise regularly? Do you notice a difference, or is it pretty much the same?

Thanks for reading!

kelsey-sig

24 responses to “(Collard) Green Machine

  1. Your wraps look INCREDIBLE!!!! No, I’ve never tried a collard wrap before. I REALLY want to try your third roll though (the one with the banana, almond butter, and coconut)!!! 😀

    I totally get you girl! I do feel a difference on the days I don’t exercise. I literally feel EXHAUSTED when I don’t exercise! I have been really stepping it up though! Whenever I finish my workout, I feel SO energized! I love the way I feel from all of those endorphins!!! 🙂 Don’t you exercise a lot in dance?

    See you tomorrow! ❤
    xoxox,
    Kathleen

  2. I’ve never tried collard wraps, but yours look absolutely delicious! Especially that last one. 🙂 I definitely noticed a change when I don’t exercise. I get really anxious and restless and just need to get up and exert some energy. I also feel lazy and not as happy either. Like you said, endorphins are key.

  3. I’ve never had collard wraps, but you’ve inspired me to try them out!!!!!

  4. Loll, I don’t know if I’d be brave enough to have collards for breakfast 😛
    I’ll have to give it a try, though 🙂 You make them look so tasty!

  5. Every once in a while, I’ll take a week or so off from working out and I don’t notice a difference, but if I go longer than that I get all antsy – it’s like I NEED to workout! I know what you mean about the endorphins – I always feel happier and refreshed after working out.
    Enjoy yourself! Can’t wait ’til your back to regular blogging! 😀

  6. Ive never tried them but Im def gonna try now! Working out def makes me more awake…if i don’t Ill always notice Im more sluggish at night

  7. woah i want to make these wraps!!! I wonder if my grocery store sells collard…. YES OMG.. one time i was on vacation and didnt run for 2 weeks.. or do anything really besides like walk.. and i actually went mental… it was HORRIBLE

  8. spoonfulofsugarfree

    OMG! I just got some organic collard the other day….I know exactly what I’m going to do with it!!!

  9. Wow what a great idea to get some greens in! I like all the different varieties you made! I know what you mean about being super busy…that’s how I have felt for like the past month. But it’s starting to get better, so I am sure it will start to pass for you as well.

    I just have a quick question: How did you get your fancy signature? I have been trying to make one but haven’t been able to figure it out. Thanks!

  10. WOW! Your going green crazy girl!
    I’ve tried steamed collard greens. Honestly, they require a veryy acquired taste that I just don’t seem to have at the moment! Ya know? But your wraps look fab girlfriend : )

    I definitely don’t feel as energetic when I don’t exercise…

  11. I have never tried collard greens before – But the wraps look amazing!
    When I dont exercise I tend to eat unhealthy – like i’m giving myself a cheat day..

  12. I’ve never tried collard wraps, but I’m curious!

  13. I love collard wraps! 🙂

  14. Such a good idea! I’ve had collard greens before, but I’ve never made them into a wrap. I need to remember to get some 🙂

  15. I am a collard wrap freak!
    I eat them for lunch at least a few times a week.

    I’m eyeballin’ that carrot cake collard. its on my to-make-list now 🙂

  16. I’ve been seeing the collard green wraps everywhere and they look absolutely divine! I hope my grocery sells collard greens and I will pick some up! Working out always helps me so much, mentally and physically, when I don’t work out I feel like a wreck.

  17. I am now convinced that I need to try collard wraps. You make them look so delicious! I love that they can be sweet or savory.
    I’m glad you’re back! I started my blog while you weren’t posting, so I was hesitant to comment. I’m glad I did now though!

  18. I’ve never tried a collard wrap, but I did have a kale wrap and it was wonderful!! You collard wrap looks SO good!!!! YUM!!

    P.S. I really missed reading your posts 🙂

  19. I’ve never tried collard wraps but I love love love anything leafy and green : )
    as for exercise, I feel okay when I miss a day, but oh so much better when I exercise at least a little bit daily, like a walk or something.

  20. I’m definitely going to have to try those collard wraps. They are so colorful, and I like how you made both savory and sweet versions!

  21. SO glad your back!! I’ve actually never had a collard green wrap before but yours all look great! Especially the one with tofu and avocado-YUMS!! I totally get what you mean on the not enough time to blog thing…it sucks!

  22. I just made my first collard wrap the other night! It was delicious, didn’t miss the bread at all 🙂

  23. I have not jumped on the collard wrap bandwagon quite yet but you make them look so delicious im definitely picking some up next time im @ the store

  24. I got collard greens today! can’t wait to try this!

Leave a Reply

