My Kind of Library

If you could see me right now, I am certain you would laugh. Currently I’m sitting at the library with the giddiest look on my face. I’m sure the people at the library think I’m crazy.

books

(source)

I’ve actually been at the library for about an hour now, but I was previously writing my brother and catching up on email/Facebook. My battery was starting to drain though, and there were no outlets nearby, so I knew that I needed to relocate. In the relocation process, I began to wonder if this library had any of the popular vegan or health books I’ve heard so much about. I had absolutely no idea where to begin looking, but I started wandering down the aisles, and what do you know? The first aisle I stopped at was the Health & Nutrition section. It was luck at its finest. I picked out a couple books, one of which was by the esteemed Mark Bittman, and continued down the aisle to the cookbook section. I pored through book after book until I finally happened upon several books I was looking for. I received odd looks from people nearby, but nevertheless, I plopped down on the closest chair with a stack of books that would only interest someone like myself. (In other words, I know you guys would be fascinated by these books, too.) I remembered my forgotten quest for an outlet, but decided I would go back to it later. After all, I can blog any time, but how likely is it that I’ll have my hands on several acclaimed books, all at once, for free, again? After getting situated, I took a quick glance to my left and saw something glorious: a whole wall-span of free outlets. They were just in reach from where I was sitting. I’d killed two birds with one stone (although keep in mind this is simply a metaphor. I would never advocate the killing of any animal Open-mouthed smile). I could now blog AND read, which is precisely what I am doing.

Oh, so you may be wondering which books I’ve gathered. They are…

my sweet vegan
My Sweet Vegan…

vice cream
Vice Cream (dairy-free ice cream recipes)…

the-kind-diet

The Kind Diet…

food matters mark bittman

Food Matters (the aforementioned Mark Bittman title)…

clean food

and Clean Food by Terry Walters.

Excuse me, but I have some reading to do.

Question of the Day: What cookbooks have you read, or which ones would you really like to read? If you had to pick a favorite cookbook or health/nutrition book, what would it be?

Thanks for reading!

16 responses to “My Kind of Library

  1. Wooow! Lucky you! All of those books look great!
    I’m a little out of the loop here, living in Brazil…but I would love to read any of those! =D

  2. You’re right- those books would definitely interest me. I’ve actually been meaning to head over to the library to pick up some health books myself, and after reading this I want to even more.

  3. I lovvvvvee going to the library and reading all of their health and fitness books/cookbooks/and magazines!! Seriously, I can kill a good 4 hours in the library…no trouble at all:) Basically all of those books I would love, and I’m dieing to get my hands on Skinny Bitch too!

  4. Food Matters is the best book about nutrition I’ve read. I hope you love it! I’ve read The Kind Diet too. The rest of them sound really good!

  5. I’ve seen the documentary of Food Matters, but I’ve never read the book. I’ve also seen the Kind Diet and Clean Food, but haven’t taken the chance to look at them closely. Sounds like you are in heaven girl!! 🙂 Enjoy your reading! 🙂
    One of my favorite books right now is my new Nutrition/Health college textbook!! I am SO happy!!! Now I have two Nutritional college textbooks, and they are all mine!!! 🙂 My favorite sections in a library are most definitely the health and baking sections.

  6. The last time I was at the library, I couldn’t even find a Health section! I was very troubled! 😦 I asked someone at the front desk if they had The Kind Diet and they didn’t!
    Maybe I’ll check some of the other libraries around! You’re so lucky! If I was in the library, I’d come join you in the Health Section! We could be crazy health nuts together! 😉

  7. Eat to Live by Dr. Joel Fuhrman
    The Engine 2 Diet by Rip Esselstyn
    Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease by Dr. Caldwell Esselstyn
    Volumetrics
    The Beck Diet Solution
    Clean Food by Terry Walters
    Clean Start by Terry Walters
    Appetite for Reduction by Isa Chandra Moskowitz
    I could go on . . . !

  8. spoonfulofsugarfree

    Those books look great! I haven’t heard of some of those…..tell me which ones your favorite, and I’ll have to see if my library has it 😉

  9. What the alicia silverstone one about exactly? What kind of recipes?

  10. I love library too! Very recently I also took out a large amount of vegan books. Such as Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar and Veganomicon. Those look like some great books I’ll have to get some of them too

  11. oo i just ordered Appetite for Reduction and Skinny Bitch Cookbook.. the Kind Diet is NEXT!

  12. Strangely, I’ve never thought of going to the library to look at cookbooks. I MUST do it though! It sounds like fun! 🙂
    I’ve always wanted to look at the Kind Diet, but I haven’t seen it at my bookstore yet. My favorite nutrition book is my only nutrition book – the Vegetarian Way. All my other food books are cook books. But I want to get a book on super foods – they intrigue me! 🙂

  13. Sounds like an awesome library! I never even thought of checking the library for cookbooks – great idea! Currently I get most of my recipese via the internet, blogs, and a few old cookbooks from my Mom.
    Have a great week! 🙂

  14. my fave would definitely be Eat Drink Be Vegan by Dreena Burton! Some of the best recipes ever!

  15. Hahah! That’s so funny! I bet they don’t think your weird! Its good to see a giddy soul around! Cheers to being happy!
    As for cookbooks, literally anything. They need mouthwatering pictures though! The PICS get me everytime!

  16. I love books, too! My faves of the moment are:

    Eating Animals: Jonathan Safran-Foer
    The Omnivore’s Dilemma: Michael Pollan
    Eat, Drink, & Be Vegan: Dreena Burton

Leave a Reply

