Almost Homemade + Tofu

A few nights ago, my mom and I had the most splendid dinner. (We would’ve shared with Dakota, too, but he won’t touch anything even semi-healthy.) It was natural, fresh and almost completely homemade.

We started off with making whole wheat tortillas, which turned out pretty good, but not good enough for me to link the recipe. We’ll try a different one next time, but the meal was still amazing.

tortilla dough

(Sorry for the lame photos. My camera died right when I was about to take pictures, so I had to use my cell phone.)

whole wheat tortillas

I also sauteed up some peppers and onions, and made up some homemade guacamole. It consisted of a mashed avocado, the juice of a little more than half of a lime, some sea salt, cumin, diced tomato, and some sauteed onions that I pulled out of the pepper/onion mix. I just kind of tossed everything in, but it turned out really well! My mom and I were really happy with it.

dinner 2

My plan was to have homemade black beans, too, but that changed when I burned the beans. :/

100_9202100_9213

Crunchy, charred beans are not my favorite. Canned pinto beans made an appearance instead. We topped the tacos with some romaine, local salsa and Daiya, and they were amazing!

Since the above pictures weren’t so great, here are some pictures of my taco salad the day after. It was pretty much the same thing, except it also contained tofu and obviously had no tortilla.

100_9216100_9220

That tofu was super amazing, as a result of my new Tofu Xpress! The company so graciously sent me a tofu press to try and review, and it is amazing!

100_9960100_9969

So what is a tofu press, and why do you need one? Well, a tofu press isn’t exactly necessary, but pressing the water out of tofu improves the flavor a LOT. It marinades better, it grills better, it tastes better and the texture is better. Most people press tofu by placing it in between plates and setting heavy objects on top; however, that can be tricky and it doesn’t always press evenly. The Tofu Xpress takes the guesswork out of pressing tofu and delivers amazing results every time. (Do I sound like a salesperson or what?)

Here’s my brick of extra firm tofu before pressing…

100_9972

Here’s what it looked like after about 12 hours of pressing…

100_9975

Most of the water was already out, but I continued to press it because I wasn’t quite ready to use it yet.

100_9981

After about a day of pressing.

I sauteed it up with a random marinade of soy sauce + balsamic vinegar + mustard + honey + seasonings. I also ate it alongside some kale salad.

101_0011

101_0015

The result? It was amazing! I absolutely loved the texture of the tofu. It was so awesome, and I’m really excited about the Tofu Xpress. Like I said, it’s not a complete necessity, but it sure is nice to have. All you do is stick the tofu in the machine, leave it for about an hour (although more time = more water extracted) and then cook up your tofu! It also comes with a handy marinade lid that you can place on top of the container for one-dish marinading.

Well, I am off to finish getting ready! My family and I are leaving for Utah today to go visit my grandma. We’ll be gone for a few weeks, and I will try to keep up on my blog posting. The content might not be too interesting, since I try to keep out-of-town meals simple, but I can certainly try. I also will be passing through New Mexico, which means a stop at Trader Joe’s!! I am so stoked. You may remember my last visit, when I got a lot of awesome things. Are there any specific items that I should pick up? One thing I know I will be getting is peanut flour!

Thanks for reading!

 

P.S. Check out this Glass Dharma straw giveaway at Hungry Vegan!

33 responses to “Almost Homemade + Tofu

  1. Wow that looks SO good!!! I love making guac 🙂 Mexican food is probably my favorite kind of food and now I’m craving this!

  2. Yesterday was so much fun!!! I am so glad I got to spend some time with you!!! Your salad looks AMAZING!!! I am going to have to check out that tofu press! 🙂 Enjoy your trip! 🙂

  3. spoonfulofsugarfree

    I love making homemade tortillas!!! And homemade mexican food 🙂 Especially guac-it is the best!

    I don’t eat tofu anymore because I learned it was highly processed and not really good for you, but I miss the creaminess of it 😦

    Have fun at your grandma’s…over the river and through the woods….

  4. Ahh so lucky to be able to get peanut flour! The day I find a Trader Joe’s (which will have to be on a vacation I guess) I will buy the powder that everyone raves about! I need to work on my tofu pressing technique as well. I tried it for the first time last week and it SO did not marinate well lol. I think I’m doing something wrong!

  5. WOAH that is totally impressive I never even think that I could make my own tofu! Way to broaden my horizons! 🙂

  6. I’ve never tried a tofu press but I want to get one. I want crispy tofu!

  7. PEANUT FLOUR! i have never been since i dont like in the US.. but peanut flour is a must!

  8. You make the tofu look so good, and I don’t even really like tofu!

    Great job on the tortillas, they look great! So much better than storebought, I bet!

  9. Everything looks soooo good! we make our own tortillas, too! =D
    I had no idea a tofu press even existed! =D

  10. I still really need to try tofu at some point…

  11. your homemade meal looks amazing! 🙂
    looks like the tofu express worked really well, too. it’s always so hard to get all of the water out of tofu.

    hope you have fun in utah! i love TJ’s 3 layer hummus. 🙂

  12. Both of your meals look delicious – I have a question…tonight was my first time using tofu…I used silken. Would you need to press that? Or just extra firm?

  13. Ahhhh, so many favorite thing’s at TJ’s! I would def pick up some Valencia Crunchy PB with Flaxseeds! It’s kinda my newest obsession AND it’s cheap!

    I love your tofu salad! Looks amazing!

  14. That tofu press seems so useful! I tried pressing tofu for the first time this week and it didn’t turn out as well as yours did. Your salad looks delicious too, as well as your homemade meal. Enjoy your trip! And the stop at Trader Joes of course. 🙂

  15. Ooooh Trader Joe’s! I recommend the FiberFull Ends & Pieces. They’re like healthy Fruit Roll-Ups. 🙂
    I live 5 minutes away from a Trader Joe’s yet I’ve only been once. I think it’s because my Mom knows I will spend all of my money in there! 😉

  16. Sorry about your beans 😦 That’s happened to me with rice – it’s so disappointing!
    Your tofu looks amazing!!! I’m going to have to put the tofu express on my birthday list. I LOVE tofu!

  17. theflourishingfoodie

    That’s awesome that you made your own whole wheat tortillas. I’ve always wanted to do that! I’ve only had tofu once because I really didn’t like it. I think maybe I bought the wrong kind though, so I want to give it another chance. I honestly had no idea that you were supposed to press it. If I buy some more, I’ll certainly try the two plates things. Have fun in Utah!

  18. theflourishingfoodie

    Oh and I’m so jealous of the fact that you are going to TJ’s and getting peanut flour. I want to try peanut flour so badly!! Why does nowhere here have it??

  19. OHMYGOSH I can’t believe you got a free tofu press! lucky girl 😉 I’ve been meaning to get myself one of those.

  20. That marinaded tofu looks amazing! Do you find a recipe like that benefits greatly from the use of your tofu press?

  21. so. jealous. I think I will have to stop reading your blog if this continues!! haha. thanks for being an awesome blogger, though. you’re one of the more successful ones, if you will take that compliment!
    why can’t we live in the same part of the country!? blogging relationships don’t have the most dimension to them, if you know what I mean. 😦

  22. we’re totally making that taco salad sometime this summer.
    and black bean burgers.

  23. I agree, pressing the tofu good makes all the difference. I allways press it manually 🙂 But this machine of your looks very effective. And simple to use 🙂
    Great review 😉

Leave a Reply

