Return of the Pesto

Remember my pesto?

101_0021 Well, I finally found a way that I like it! I brainstormed this combo in my head the day before, so I was super excited when I actually got to make it. It’s a sandwich, and it is AWESOME. I really wished I could’ve eaten another one, hehe. It’s grilled as well, so the daiya (or cheese, if you eat it) gets all melty and awesome. I’m a big fan of grilled sandwiches and just sandwiches in general, as evidenced by my recipes page. Anyway, here are the pictures and recipe. Enjoy!

100_9258

Grilled White Bean and Pesto Sandwich

  • 2 slices whole wheat bread
  • 2-4 tomato slices, depending on size
  • 1 tablespoon basil pesto, homemade or bought
  • 1/4 cup Navy beans or chickpeas (I used a mix of both)
  • 1/8 cup daiya, other non-dairy cheese or regular cheese
  • Non-dairy butter, for grilling

Spread the non-dairy butter on one side of both slices of bread. Place both the pesto and 1/4 cup beans in a mini food processor and process together till a thick, smooth paste/spread is formed. Spread the pesto/bean mixture on the non-buttered side of one slice of bread (you may not use all of the mixture; I didn’t.) and top it with the tomato slices and non-dairy cheese. Top the sandwich with the other slice of bread, buttered side up, and grill over medium/high heat till the bread is golden brown. Slice down the middle and enjoy!

100_9261100_9263

I know the pictures aren’t too pretty, but I was eating it in the car so you gotta give me a break. 😛 It seriously was a delicious sandwich, though. I would make the pesto again just to eat this! I really don’t mind pesto that much; I think I was just caught off-guard by how strong and over-powering the taste is. Adding 1/4 cup beans to it really distributes the flavor well and I love it! Make it and tell me what you think!

I also made a really delicious protein shake the other day. I always save my protein shakes for after my workout when I’m hot and sweaty, because the only thing that sounds good is a cold, icy smoothie/shake. It’s also the best time for me to eat protein, because my muscles need protein to repair and get stronger.

Again, pardon the pictures. I was shaking from my workout (it was a hard one) and I just could not keep a steady hand! I literally spent several minutes photographing my smoothie to try and get a clear picture. Very few—if any—came out, so this is what I’ve got! My shaky hand and I apologize. Smile with tongue out

100_9225100_9230

The cool thing about this smoothie was that there was absolutely no ice involved. Ice is often used to bulk up smoothies, but it can also seriously dilute the taste of a smoothie. By using all frozen ingredients, I still got a HUGE, creamy smoothie and it tasted amazing. No fillers, just flavor. 🙂

Chocolate-Covered Strawberry Smoothie

  • about 2/3 cup almond milk (use more or less as needed)
  • 3/4 cup frozen strawberries (totally guessing here. I just threw in a big handful because I didn’t want to take the time to chop and measure.)
  • 2 heaping tablespoons cocoa powder
  • scant 1/4 avocado, frozen
  • 1/3 banana, frozen
  • 2 big handfuls of spinach

Blend all ingredients together, pour into a bowl or cup and enjoy!

100_9240

The consistency of this smoothie is SO amazing! It tastes like a Wendy’s Frosty, especially when you let it freeze in the freezer for about 15 minutes like I did. I topped my smoothie with shredded coconut, Nature’s Path Peanut Butter Granola, and a little crumbled piece of leftover Chocolate Banana Muffin.

100_9244

It seriously hit the spot. You might be wondering where my protein is; that’s a good question! Lately I’ve taken to eating my protein powder on the side, mixed with a little almond milk a la April’s Protein Cookie Dough. I make it without the peanut butter, and I add a little stevia or agave to sweeten it, as my protein powder does not have the most pleasant taste. The reason I do this is because the flavor is REALLY strong. I don’t always like to taste it in my smoothies, especially when I have a specific flavor in mind like with this smoothie. (Also, please keep in mind that I don’t use protein powder very often—less than once a day. See this post and this post if you have concerns or questions about this subject.)

Alright, I am off to bed! Tomorrow I’m going to update my recipes page with these two new recipes—don’t let me forget! You guys gotta keep me accountable. 😛

Question of the Day: Do you have a favorite protein shake? Do you still drink them when it’s cold out? What about grilled sandwiches—do you love them, or are they just okay?

Thanks for reading!

25 responses to “Return of the Pesto

  1. Everything looks so good! I love the muffin on top 🙂

  2. AHH your protein shakes look FREAKING GOOD! and so is that pesto- love the sammie!

  3. Lol “still shaking from your workout” that must have been one hell of a workout 😀 Sweet! I love grilled sandwiches too, they go from BLAH to OMG-YUM!

  4. That smoothie looks delicious! I think I really need to try crumbling muffins/granola/other carby things on top – it looks so good!
    My favorite smoothie would have to be a Pineapple-Banana Green Monster (I use greek yogurt as the main protein source.) As for protein powder…I don’t think I’ve found a “favorite” yet. I hoping to find the Cake Batter flavor! YUM! 😀

  5. The sandwich looks amazing!!!!!!
    I’m going to make my first ever green smoothie today! =D

  6. Audrey Michelle

    I am so going to make that sandwich today. True story.

  7. spoonfulofsugarfree

    So glad you finally liked that pesto!!! I can’t let you go through life not liking pesto, silly girl!

    As for protein shakes….I used to drink them all the time, but I kinda fell outs touch with them. I guess I really want some Real food instead of a shake 🙂

    As for grilled sandwiches…LOVE THEM!!! Seriously, it is the best way to eat them!!! I have a panini maker, and I yank that baby out every time I make myself gluten-free bread 🙂

  8. Your sandwich sounds SO GOOD!!!! and so does your smoothie!!! Delish!!! 😀 I’m glad you’re enjoying the carob muffins! 🙂

  9. Chocolate covered strawberry smoothie… yum! 🙂

    I love peanut butter, banana, soy milk, splash of vanilla, cinnamon and yogurt all blended together! Though I don’t tend to drink them in the winter because I’m so cold!

  10. YUM!!! I love smoothies like this! I’ve never tried avocado in a smoothie even though I know its all over the blog world for giving an amazing texture…ok wow I just decided I’m trying this as soon as I get my hands on an avocado:)

    I’m a teenager and new to the blog world but I’ve been silently reading your blog for ever! I’d love if you came over and checked out mine…I love getting to connect with all the other teen bloggers!

  11. I just had some pesto for lunch today! Only I put it on pasta.
    Never thought of putting it on a sandwich, sounds tasty 🙂

  12. Too funny! I just bought White Bean & Basil Hummus from TJ’s on Sunday and I was thinking it would go great on a wrap or sandwich!

    I like sandwiches, but I LOVE grilled sandwiches! It totally takes the flavor up a few notches! I have two favorite protein shakes:
    1. Chocolate protein powder, banana, peanut butter, almond milk and ice
    2. Vanilla protein powder, banana, strawberries, orange juice, and ice

    The second one tastes just like the Sunshine Smoothies from Sonic

  13. What a great sandwich combo. I just made some pesto with kale, and I bet it would taste great with white beans on a sandwich! 🙂
    I need to find this daiya cheese that everyone is eating, too!

  14. you remind me of how much i love taking sandwiches and wraps to go, to eat in the car. ive taken countless photos of mid driving eating and they all turn out messy but somehow thats what makes them so appetizing. the filling pretty much jumps out of its own skin (a.k.a bread) and says “i want in ur tummy NOW” 🙂 hehe. looks awesome! that Daiya vegan cheese seems to be quite the rage. is there a strong or mild taste to it. we finally carry it hear but im worried that it has a bland taste or one that is waxy tasting too… but then again im sure people wouldnt rave about it if that was the case huh! hehe

    xoxo ❤

  15. I LOVE grilled sandwiches and yours looks positively sublime! Mmm…

    My mom has a sandwich press thing that she always used to use when I was younger… I think ti naturally conditioned me to like grilled sandwiches 😉 NOthing like the perfect crunch of toasted bread with the ooey-gooey of melted cheese/daiya…

    Damn it now I’m hungry 😉

  16. I have a favorite chocolate mint protein shake that I make all the time, I love it!! Also, I always FORGET about grilled sandwiches, but I love them, they’re the best!

  17. Just this week I’ve had two smoothies already and its only Wednesday! That’s because I tried a green smoothie made with spinach for the first time and loved it so much I made another one for today’s lunch. But I am so cold natured, I gotta eat it while wrapped up in my electric blanket 🙂
    I love grilled sandwhiches. Do you have a panini maker? They are wonderful for grilling sammies!

  18. I honestly adore pesto! That sandwich looks so good. I’m kinda jelous that I didn’t get to eat it

  19. I LOVE pesto on sandwiches! Also on eggs, which sounds weird, but I think it’s awesome. 🙂

    I just make protein shakes with vanilla powder, banana, milk, stwarberries sometimes, and a bunch of ice. Kind of boring but I m new to the game. 🙂

  20. that smoothie looks delish! GREAT PICS 🙂

  21. That sandwich looks so good! I absolutely love pesto.
    Grilled sandwiches are definitely a favorite of mine. Half the time I make a sandwich I just can’t help but throw it on the stove and use our panini press- there’s something about warm toasty bread that I just can’t resist!

  22. your pesto panini with white beans look amazing! i love pesto 🙂

  23. LOVE that pesto sandwich! I must make a panini with it 🙂 I put pesto on anything! I’ve even put it in oatmeal: http://www.vegginout.vg/1/post/2010/12/pesto-love.html and on veggies: http://www.vegginout.vg/1/post/2011/01/smoky-pesto-veggies.html
    Your smoothie looks great too! I don’t eat many smoothies during the winter, but I might have to make an exception for yours 😉

  24. that sandwich looks so delicious I love pesto, and for protein shakes, I LOVE anything green! Ill have to try the chocolate covered strawberry, looks soo good!

  25. I make smoothies and usually it’s the same stuff… and I don’t always use ice either. My protein is hemp… it’s kind of strong, too.

Leave a Reply

