Hodge Podge

Today’s post is sort of a hodge podge of random things. I don’t really have a set theme or any good pictures/recipes… so you’re gettin’ whatever I whip out of My Pictures folder! Smile

I have been testing some recipes to share with you guys for a while now. They’re both recreations of things I’ve tried and loved, but I want to get the recipes perfect before I share them with you all. Here’s a couple hints:

100_9944

100_9949

101_0005

Any guesses? Are they separate? Do they go together? You will just have to wait and find out. 🙂 I finished my third trial of the white recipe the other night, (note that this picture does NOT depict its completed state) and the second trial of the red stuff a couple days ago. I’m completely happy with the red one, but I have to get the measurements down so it’s not just “a dash of this, a sprinkle of that.” You know what I mean?

In other news, my family and I stocked up on produce this week! I love produce stock-ups. They make me so happy. This is what produce day looks like at my house…

100_9986100_9987

Romaine, peppers, green beans, celery, broccoli, cauliflower, etc.

100_9992100_9998

Kale, as well as oranges, pears, unpictured apples, unpictured beets, kiwi, lemons, limes, an onion, a cantaloupe (on sale for 88 cents!), bananas and an eggplant (which was also on sale for 88 cents). This should last me a while… maybe. 🙂 I am curious as to what to do with my eggplant though. I saw a blog post a while back with some great eggplant ideas, but I don’t remember whose it was. :/ Does anyone have suggestions? I think this is the first legitimate eggplant I’ve ever bought. Surprised smile Also, don’t mind my little olive oil mister in the above picture. 🙂

Oh, by the way, I made my first pesto.

101_0019

This was taken post-chopping, and I hadn’t added the oil yet.

101_0025

This was the recipe I followed, because it was tailored specifically to the tiny package of basil I’d bought to make pesto. I also didn’t want to make a huge batch for my first time. I was extremely excited because I’d heard sooo much about vegan pesto, but after making it, you know what I discovered?

I don’t really like pesto.

I was super disappointed, especially in this recipe. It was way too garlic-y, which I kind of suspected, so I did one regular clove and one super tiny clove. It still had me making faces. It also called for a ton of salt and pepper, which I ended up halving. Even then it was too salty. Finally, even with only using 3/4 of the amount of oil called for, I had to double the walnuts because it was very oily. (Oh, and if you’re wondering, I originally thought I’d just omit the cheese, but I quickly found out that it was very necessary. I subbed a scant 1/3 cup of daiya mozzarella.) So yes, this was definitely a pesto failure. In small amounts it isn’t bad, but you need to eat it with something flavorful to balance out the taste, like a Food Should Taste Good chip or a cherry tomato. Maybe I would like it on a grilled sandwich with daiya and tomato. That actually sounds very good. Dinner tonight or tomorrow, perhaps?

Time for me to go! I’m heavily considering making Kathleen’s Carob Banana Nut Muffins today. They look amazing, and after one of my friends brought muffins to my early-morning class today, I’m craving me some muffins! I’ll let you know how it goes. Smile

Thanks for reading!

21 responses to “Hodge Podge

  1. ahh i cant wait for these recipes!! and im not a fan of pesto either- im sorry it didn’t turn out well!

  2. Too bad about the pesto. =(
    As for the eggplant, you could make ratatouille. Its eggplant, zucchini, tomatoes, and some other veggies sauteed in olive oil. At least that’s the simplified version. Here’s a good, basic recipe: http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/ratatouille/Detail.aspx.
    Anyway, can’t wait for the new recipes to come!!!! =D

  3. Look at all that produce! Amazing! 🙂

  4. your my kinda girl! that produce looks BEAUTIFUL

  5. I love pesto, but when I tried to make it, it turned out horribly!

  6. Produce days are my favorite!!! 🙂 Once you try the Carob muffins, tell me how you think! 🙂

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  7. I love to put eggplant in lasagna! I layer sauce, noodles, eggplant, zucchini, mushrooms and various cheeses… it’s SO GOOD! I make a whole big pan for myself, cook, let cool, slice and freeze so I can take out and reheat on days when I’m busy/don’t feel like cooking etc. Just an idea!

  8. All that produce is like heaven! I actually did a bbq eggplant with white beans, zucchini, squash and onions that was really good. I need to make that again soon! Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  9. spoonfulofsugarfree

    You don’t like pesto??!!!! Shame on you! Just kidding…but seriously it is the best thing ever 🙂

    I can’t even guess what those two things are!! Yogurt? Hummus? Peanut butter? Whipped Cream (dairy-free of course)???

  10. Bummer about the pesto!
    My favorite way to have eggplant is with a punjab eggplant pouch from trader joe’s. I saute cut up eggplant and then add the pouch…Yum!

  11. Hmm, might it have been my post: “Friends, Romans, Countrymen, Lend Me Your Eggplant?”? There is a really REALLY good recipe for honey balsamic grilled eggplant that will certainly change your life! And fyi, I wouldn’t worry about salting the slices before cooking (most recipes call for this to eliminate excess moisture) unless you decide to bake it. When it is grilled, most of the water evaporates anyway.

    As far as pesto goes, I like a little taste of basil but not the “in your face” punch that traditional pesto can have so I just make mine with spinach or kale with a little basil added in.

    Love all the fruits and veggies! I would be in Heaven!

  12. Haha, whenever I’m unloading the groceries on shopping day I always have to lay my veggies out for a few minutes just to admire them 🙂 I mean, it’s RAINBOW FOOD.

    And the mystery pictures are… Katie’s vegan yogurts?

  13. Awesome Kathleen has great recipes. Sorry the pesto didn’t turn out the way you had hoped. If first you don’t succeed try try again!

  14. Looks like some fantastic produce!
    Can’t wait to see your recipes, too.
    Sorry the pesto didn’t turn out the best, though…it can be super garlicky!

  15. I like that you lay your veggies out and wash them first thing from the store verry good idea I am soon to copy.

    Thannks for posting (:

  16. Whoa! All of those veggies look SO good. Let me know how the eggplant turns out – I’ve never “owned” one but I had eggplant parm in a restaurant once. 🙂

  17. I’ve never made pesto either, but I think I’ve tried it and it was kind of weird tasting!

    Also, I can’t wait for the recipes! Roasted eggplant is the best with olive oil and salt and pepper.

  18. Hmmm, my first thought about the white stuff was pancake or crepe batter . . . but then when I saw it in the larger pot I got confused.
    By the way, I just discovered kale recently and I LOVE it. I wish I could help you out with the eggplant, but besides adding it to a Thai red curry, I don’t have any brilliant ideas. I feel like it’s a vegetable I have yet to master.

  19. You don’t like pesto?? I looove pesto! I’m sad it didn’t turn out so great 😦 Can’t wait to see the new recipes!

  20. theflourishingfoodie

    I have the same olive oil mister! All that produce looks lovely! That is disappointing about the pesto, but I guess not everything can turn out perfectly.

  21. Im not a huge fan of pesto either, but I made some cilantro pesto the other day (i LOVE cilantro) and it is really yummy spread on bread and topped with a cooked egg and some spinach! Its my new go to breakfast!

Leave a Reply

