Fun With Fruit

Remember how I got a bag of chia seeds for Christmas?

100_9703

I love chia seeds, and they make an awesome tapioca-like pudding.

chia pudding 2

I was craving something fresh and fruity for breakfast, so I decided to make some delicious chia seed pudding. I used my Christmas orange, as well as some of our frozen (defrosted) cherries. The end result was awesome, and I wanted to share the recipe with you all. ๐Ÿ™‚

Cherry-Orange Chia Pudding
(serves 1)

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons chia seeds
  • 1/4 cup freshly-squeezed orange juice (I cut my orange in half and squeezed it like a lemon)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (or other milk of choice)
  • dash of salt
  • splash of vanilla
  • sweetener of choice, to taste (I used NuNaturals Vanilla Stevia Drops)
  • 1/2 medium orange, peeled and diced
  • 5-7 cherries, pitted and quartered
  • optional toppings: shredded coconut and granola

Combine chia seeds, orange juice, almond milk, salt, vanilla and sweetener in a bowl. Stir well, and let sit 20-30 minutes or overnight until thickened. In the morning (or later) stir in the orange pieces and cherries. Top with optional shredded coconut and granola, then enjoy!

chia pudding

Oh, by the way, last night I made Alexโ€™s Grain-Free Banana Bread. Itโ€™s free of dairy, flour, gluten and added sugar. I substituted peanut butter for almond butter, and instead of eggs, I used silken tofu. I processed 3/4 of a block of silken tofu in my mini food processor till it was the consistency of a very smooth (no chunks allowed!), spoonable, thin pudding. Then, I measured out 3/4 cup of the blended tofu (1/4 cup replaces 1 egg, and the recipe calls for three eggs) and added it to the mixture.

100_9910

This is what it looked like going in the ovenโ€ฆ

100_9916

And this is what it looked like coming out!

100_9918

Donโ€™t mind the big hole in the center. Sometimes the toothpick method just doesnโ€™t do it for meโ€”a knife is required.

100_9920

I ended up baking it for about 1 hour and 20 minutes, but it really couldโ€™ve used another 20-30 minutes. It was late though and I was ready for bed, so I just left it the way it was.

100_9921

It was more like a slightly under-baked, sweet quiche than a bread, but it tasted awesome. Alex nailed the flavor!

100_9924

Question of the Day: Have you ever made chia pudding? Whatโ€™s your favorite banana bread recipe?

Thanks for reading!

26 responses to “Fun With Fruit

  1. Hey girl! Yummilicious post! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I haven’t had the chance to try Alex’s banana bread yet. My favorite banana bread is my sugar/oil free Banana Nut Bread with Almond Butter on it.

  2. i wish i could! i can’t get chia seeds over here for the life of me… GRR

  3. spoonfulofsugarfree

    YAYAYAYAY!!! It looks fabulous, even if it might be a little under cooked ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m so glad you tried it and liked it!

    And yeah, tofu chunks in bread=not good ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. What a smart idea to use tofu instead of eggs, I’m definitely going to try that soon!! And I’ve made chia pudding before and I LOVE it! I find it’s so belly-friendly if that makes ANY sense at all LOL it just feels good when you eat it ๐Ÿ˜›

  5. Mmmm I love baking with ‘fu…just not when it doesn’t cooperate! It’s delish otherwise, though and your bread looks amazeballs! I poke holes in my baked goods too, no worries…toothpicks just don’t cut it ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Now you’ve got me craving banana bread ๐Ÿ˜‰ This is also probably because I haven’t had breakfast yet and am ravenously hungry. But blogging comes first, obviously! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Tag, you’re it!
    http://nicolecooks.wordpress.com/2011/01/11/tagged/

  7. Ooh Kelsey, if I ever get a hold of some chia I’m definitely making your pudding! Looks yummy!

  8. Molly @ mollyrunsfresh

    Hey Miss Kelsey, I’m gifting you with the Stylish Blogger Award. Check it out here: http://mollyrunsfresh.wordpress.com/2011/01/11/snow-day-yah-baybay/

  9. Mmm! That chia pudding lokos awesome!
    and definitly this one: http://snackgirlgoeshealthy.wordpress.com/2010/09/19/best-and-richest-banana-bread-ever/

    It is my own and it looks funny but with regular flour vs gluten free it rises a lot better if that is what you are concerned about! My whole family and best friend dubbed it the best banana bread ever! I got it from allrecipes.com a while back and adapted it myself!:)

  10. I have never actually tried chia pudding b/c I’ve never really found a recipe that actually looked good until now. That actually looks quite wonderful! Do you find that it fills you up decently?

    I’ll have to give it a go someday as I”ve got PLENTY of chia seeds in my pantry that I don’t often use. Thank you for sharing this great idea ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Alex’s Banana Bread is on my to-make list. Looks so good!
    PS – I nominated you for the Stylish Blogger Award!
    http://foodfitnessandfun.wordpress.com/

  12. Thanks so much for the blog comment ๐Ÿ™‚ Everything looks delicious! I actually have a protein pudding recipe on my blog that is basically a pumped up chia pudding. I LOVE it so much! And to be honest, I like any and all banana bread recipes. You really cant go wrong with them!

  13. I’ve never tried chia seeds at all before. That looks like a great recipe. I usually use a fork to check for doneness, so my baked goods usually have a couple of small holes in the center. ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Hey I love your blog, how’d you come up with the name??

  15. I love chia pudding! I’ve only made chocolate, but I saw a recipe for pumpkin… yum!

  16. It’s YOU who has the awesome blog! I am so impressed! Adding you to my blogroll now!

  17. So glad you found my blog!
    Love your sunflower theme, and it’s neat that you are into clean eating. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Looking forward to reading more!

  18. Oooh, my favorite banana bread recipe is the one I grew up eating… gotta love the stuff you’re raised on. ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Can I just say that I LOVE that you asked for chia seeds for Christmas!! Haha!

  20. I love your take on chia pudding!

  21. what a smart idea, subbing tofu for egg. i’ve never thought to try that before – i usually do a flax egg, or if i’m in a pinch i’ll use ener-g egg replacer.
    my favorite recipe for banana bread is actually the one i have on my blog! it’s dairy free, refined sugar free, whole wheat, and DELISH!
    http://cleaneatsinthedirtysouth.wordpress.com/2010/06/21/technically-speaking/

  22. I haven’t visited in a while, and it looks like I’ve missed a lot! Your new blog layout is beautiful! I think it fits you well. ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. oooh i just got a 2lb bag of chia in the mail i’ll have to try this!

  24. haha i love the hole in the middle of the bread, like a little crater that formed ๐Ÿ˜› banana bread sounds lovely, and the warmth goes so well with the winter season! i think i have like 5 banana bread recipes on hand but it goes to show how badly i need to make some!!

    xoxo

  25. I’ve never made chia pudding, but you’ve got me curious now!

    I baked Alex’s bread last week. Mine could’ve used more time in the oven, but it wasn’t until in the morning when I cut into it that I realized. It’s definitely different. I love just grabbing a piece for a snack while I’m fixing a meal.

    I am constantly trying new banana bread recipes! So far this one has been the best: http://www.thewannabechef.net/recipes/breads/the-very-best-banana-bread, but I can’t wait to try Kat’s Sugar Free & Oil Free Banana Bread!

  26. Pingback: Chia: The Seed of Champions! « Spoonful of Sugar Free

Leave a Reply

