Peachy-Kreem

I initially had another post planned, but I was so excited about what I just had for dinner that I had to write about it. It was simple, filling, and so, so good.

The other day when my friend Audrey was in town, we made strawberry coconut milk ice cream in my Vita-Mix. It was awesome, and it left me craving more.

100_9835100_9838

3 cups frozen strawberries, 1 cup full-fat coconut milk, vanilla and stevia pulverized into ice cream. Topped with shaved Baker’s unsweetened chocolate and coconut shreds.

Today we picked up a bag of frozen organic peaches from Costco, and I was eager to experiment right away. I also wanted to have protein after my workout, as well as some glycogen-replenishing oatmeal. Add ice cream experimentation + protein + energy-sustaining carbs and you get my yummy dinner. Although it wasn’t pretty, the ‘fruit’ (no pun intended) of my labor was wonderful, if I do say so myself. 😛

100_9862

Cinnamon Peaches & Cream Breakfast

Oatmeal:
1/3 cup rolled oats
1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk + 2/3 cup water
dash of salt
splash of vanilla
big shake(s) of cinnamon, to taste

Ice cream:
1/4 cup full-fat coconut milk
about 1 heaping cup diced frozen peaches
splash of vanilla
optional: NuNaturals Stevia, to taste (or other sweetener: agave, sugar, honey, etc.)
optional: 1 scoop vanilla protein powder

First, make your oatmeal by combining all ingredients except cinnamon in a saucepan. Cook over medium heat till thickened, whisking occasionally. Set aside and let cool slightly.

While the oatmeal is cooling, make your ice cream. Put all ingredients into Vita-Mix, except protein powder, in the order listed. Turn the Vita onto variable #1, then quickly turn it up to 10. Next, flip the switch to High, and press the ingredients into the blade with your tamper. You will probably think it isn’t going to work, but it will. Keep pushing it, even if it looks like it’s not doing anything. I strongly suggest not adding any extra liquid. It may help to stop and stir the ice cream once or twice before starting the variable/tamper process over again. Don’t let it go for too long, or else the ice cream will start to melt. When it looks like it’s creamy and combined enough, turn off the blender. Either add and blend in the protein powder, or stir it in by hand. I opted for stirring, because I didn’t want to melt my family’s ice cream any further. (I split the ice cream in half, gave half to my mom and brother to try, then stirred the protein powder into the other half for me.)

Spoon ice cream and oatmeal into a bowl, top with desired toppings and enjoy!

100_9863

So good. Breakfast for dinner? You betcha. Alternatively, you could skip the protein powder and oatmeal and just make the ice cream. It’s super good, I promise. I didn’t take a picture of it other than the one above, but it basically looked like the picture here.

Oh, and a word to the wise, be careful when you’re cleaning your Vita-Mix.

100_9855

Don’t stuff the tamper into the full, running blender.

100_9857

100_9859

By the way, I just wanted to take a minute to thank you all SO much for your kind comments on my last post. They meant the world to me, and I appreciated your heartfelt responses more than you know. You are all truly amazing. I’m so grateful for my blogger (and in person!) friends. 🙂 ❤

Question of the Day: Have you ever made ice cream in your Vita-Mix? It’s so fun and takes literally less than a minute from start to finish. I see a lot more of it in my future.

Thanks for reading!

16 responses to “Peachy-Kreem

  1. I love that idea! I really want to try that in my food processor now!

  2. spoonfulofsugarfree

    I WANT A VITAMIXXXXXX!!!! Ugh….My food processor just stopped working last week, and so did my blender!! All I have is a magic bullet, and it doesn’t make blend frozen fruit 😦

  3. My favorite “ice cream” to make is banana. 😉 That looks deliciious!!!

  4. Yummy! I’ve had similar blender messes!!!! =P

  5. this look so GOOD! I NEED a vitamixx! would it work with a blender???

  6. Am I crazy or did you change your blog layout? It’s lovely!! And ya, I agree that ice cream in the Vitamix ROCKSS 🙂 And the only thing better would be to eat it for dinner 🙂

  7. Why, yes, I have made ice cream in a blender before. It was very yummy. =] Your recipe looks like it tastes yummy. Hopefully I’ll get to try it and it won’t taste like oatmeal at all. =P

  8. I LOVE making ice cream in my vita!!!! Experimenting is the best 🙂 I normally freeze cubes of almond milk and then blend those up with different ingredients. It adds a creamy icy texture. SO delish. That ice cream looks amazing!

  9. Love your new layout! Super cute!

    I looove making icecream in my Vitamix! I usually just do frozen fruit: strawberries, bananas, peaches, pineapples and blend them away! So delicious!

  10. I would love a Vitamix… I would definitely make ice cream in it!

  11. That looks so delicious! I need a vita-mix!!

  12. Hi Sweetie! I’ve not made ice cream in my Vita-Mix yet but your post made me want to do just that! Looks scrummy! x x

  13. Your breakfast looks delish — I don’t have a Vita-Mix, but it sure would be fun to whip up yummy treats like yours in it!

  14. Both “ice creams” look delicious! I LOVE the new blog layout! Even more than the other one, dare I say… 😉

  15. teenagehealthfreak

    looks really yummy!!!! the coconut ice cream has got me. i really wanta vitamix..i’ve almost got enough money!!!

  16. Ohh, so jealous of your awesome Vitamix! That strawberry coconut ice cream looks like absolute pink Heaven! Yum!

Leave a Reply

