Feelin’ Good

Every time I think about the new year, the song “Feeling Good” by Michael Buble pops into my head. It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new life for me… and I’m feeling good. Those are the words I want to describe this new year for me. I want to look at every new day as an opportunity to be better, to improve myself and to make the changes I need to make. 2011 is going to hold a lot of surprises and uncertainty for me, and although I am nervous, I have faith that I will be able to handle it. A new life is about to begin for my family and me, and I’m ready to take the challenges head on.

Of course, that’s not to say that 2010 wasn’t a challenge itself. To date, 2010 was the hardest year of my life. I didn’t write much about it on my blog, but I experienced more heartache that year than I have ever felt before. Challenges and obstacles—things that I never thought I would have to deal with—were placed in mine and my family’s life, and we struggled quite a bit because of it. I often felt alone and scared, but thankfully my Heavenly Father pulled me through. Without His love, comfort and support, I don’t know how I would’ve handled it. He became my best friend; He carried me through the tears, and He calmed my troubled heart more times than I can count.

But 2010 wasn’t all bad. Even though much was lost, much was also gained; I officially deemed 2010 the year of learning. My knowledge and experience increased in many things, and I wouldn’t trade that for the world. It was the year that I learned about clean-eating, and I began to realize that whole, natural, unprocessed foods are far better for my body than chemically refined, low-calorie “foods” are. But the learning didn’t stop there. I spent every moment I could searching for information, reading articles and building a strong foundation of nutritional knowledge. That led to the creation of this blog, which helped me to gain confidence in my ability to cook and experiment with healthy food. Next, I began to realize the way dairy made me feel, and excluding it from my diet opened up a whole other world of learning opportunities. It truly has been a fun journey, and it’s not over yet.

2010 was also the year that my hobby-like attitude towards ballroom dance was replaced with a fierce love for it. Instead of taking a basic once-a-week class, I’m now training for competitions with my partner and have extended my goals to include the BYU Ballroom Team. Between classes and socials I’m dancing 4-5 times a week. I have a feeling that number will only increase as time goes on.

Academically I’ve learned a lot as well. You may recall that I started and finished my first semester of community college dual credit this year. It’s pretty common amongst homeschoolers to start at my age, but it doesn’t diminish the fact that it was a huge accomplishment. I learned a lot, not only about the subjects, but also about the college workload and what is/will be expected of me. I look forward to beginning the next semester this month and finishing out my first year.

Last but not least, I learned a lot about myself. I’ve done a lot of self-analyzing this year, and I’ve come to understand myself better than I ever have before. I’ve learned to recognize certain behaviors in myself, and I’ve traced those behaviors back to the thought processes that cause them. (Can you tell I’m interested in psychology?) It’s been a very interesting process and an important one, too. It’s good to get to know yourself, and I hope to get to know myself even better in 2011.

Not only do I want to know myself better, but I’d like for you all to know me better, too. In the future, I’d like to make this blog less of a food blog and more of a Kelsey blog. I will most certainly still be posting recipes, food, tips, tricks, products and ideas, but I also want to feel comfortable talking about my life. If I choose to write about my weekend with friends or some thoughts that have been on my mind, I want that to be okay. It shouldn’t seem off-topic or unusual. Also, writing more about myself and my life will include writing about things that are important to me. That means my family, my religion, the Lord, ballroom, my dogs, and my goals, among many other things. This is Kelsey’s blog, and I plan to take full ownership of that title.

In order to do so, I thought I would lighten the mood a bit and show you some pictures from my New Years’ Eve.

My friend Audrey came into town, so we got to go to a New Years Eve Eve (the night before New Years Eve) dance. We got ready and had a blast!

100_9728

100_9729

new years dance

We spent our New Years Eve day shopping! We got some killer deals at Plato’s Closet. It was awesome, to say the least. I really like Plato’s Closet, because you get awesome stuff for a ridiculously cheap price! For a penny-pincher like myself, that is good. 🙂

100_9774

After shopping, a bunch of kids in my youth group at church came over for a party. We played Dance Central on my little brother’s new Kinect, and then we played Curses, which is a really fun card game.

100_9799

From left to right: Audrey, myself and Ana.

dance battle

Audrey and I playing Dance Central on the Kinect. She obviously thought something was funny. 😛

group on NYE

All of us playing Curses. Afterwards, we watched a movie called Rocketman. It’s a tradition in our family and we’ve watched it every year for the past 10 years. It’s hilariously stupid, and we love it. We finished the movie and rung in the new year together, shouting and hugging. It was great fun.

Oh, and here are some pictures of me in my new dresses. 😀

100_9804

100_9806

Well, this has been a long, but good, post. I’ve shared a lot of thoughts with you guys, and I’m eager to hear your feedback. 🙂

Thanks for reading!

18 responses to “Feelin’ Good

  1. I’m happy for KELSEY”s blog- i think that is a great idea! cant wait to see what new posts will come in 2011- LOVE your dress it looks great on you!

  2. I can’t wait to read more from you in 2011! And you’re so pretty by the way! And I’m also jealous that you have so much time to dance 😦 I had to give up my dancing this year.
    Have a lovely day 🙂
    Nicky

  3. Sounds like you had a productive 2010!!!!
    That party looks fun, too!
    I’ve never been to Plato’s Closet before, but there is one close to me!

  4. I think if that’s where your heart is more, go for it! By the way, you look super cute in all of your pictures :)!

  5. Glad you found the strength to make it through 2010 so well; I know that strength will only help you make 2011 even better!

    And can’t wait to read more of this “Kelsey blog.” I was thinking of taking my blog in a similar direction, so it looks like we’ll be learning a lot more about each other (and I mean that in the least creepy way possible)!

  6. WOW what a beautiful girl you are!!!!!!!!
    I love how much you have learned and grown, i KNOW God is just going to grow you so much more this year as you dive more into your relationship with Him! Much love girl!

  7. I can’t wait for Kelsey’s Blog!
    I love ya girl! Always know I’m there for you whenever you need me! 🙂
    Super cute dress!!! You look adorable!
    P.S. Have you finished up the coconut oil yet? 😉

  8. I learned and grew so much this yar and really got the chance to get to know myself better and hopefully all for the better! I also went through some tough times emotionally but I’m all ready for 2011 to be my best, healthiest, happiest year yet! Kelsey, I’m so happy for you!

  9. theflourishingfoodie

    Wow, this is an amazing post! I am very excited for hearing more about you! You really are very inspiring. Super cute dress, by the way!
    Blessings,
    Ann Claire

  10. I can’t wait to read more of KELSEY’S blog – fantastic idea, girl and I’m here supporting you every step of the way. I had challenges this year, too, and I’m so happy that you too know about the love and support the Lord brings to us not only during the struggles…but during the good times, too!

  11. Audrey Michelle

    Kelsey, I’m excited about 2011 for you. I really hope you find peace. And I know you can. =] Love you.

  12. Your hair looks so pretty curled like that! 🙂 I am glad that 2010 turned out to be a good year for you, no matter what obstacles you had to face. You’re a very incredible person…you should be proud!

  13. spoonfulofsugarfree

    Kelsey, I am so glad that you looked at a tough year as a learning experience-I did the same thing for 2009. So many people will turn away from God, but it is fantastic that His faith runs strong through you!

    You are gorgeous! Inside and out, and I can’t wait to hear more! Happy 2011!!

    Btw, I LOVE plato’s closet. I had never heard of it before I moved last year. Now I go there whenever I need new clothes. A pair of nice, good-quality $10 jeans? Yes please!

  14. Katherine: Unemployed

    so random that I found your blog but I really like it. I think I actually have the same skirt you do!
    Katherine

  15. I Loved reading your blog Kelsey! Self examination is great.

  16. You are so pretty, hon! 🙂 I hope your 2011 is amazing!

    And i looove michael buble 😉


    n

    PS Hi, I'm Nicole… awkward introduction? 😛

  17. I love what you have to say about your Heavenly Father being there for you. That really is SO true! He is so good to us and He never ever lets go!

  18. Man, I am so behind on my blog reading! I loved this post Kelsey. You definitely have a way with words!

    2010 was for me an incredibly hard year as well. It rolled over from 2009, but I too would not have made it through all of the obstacles I faced had it not been for my trust in the Lord. He was the ONLY one that I could trust!

    You are so beautiful and I enjoyed reading this post and learning about you! Can’t wait to see more of the “Kelsey Blog” in the future!

Leave a Reply

