I Knead You

I have an important announcement.

I have found the most amazing bread recipe ever!

This year my mom and I started a new tradition of baking whole wheat bread to give away. After quite a bit of searching and trying, we found this recipe and fell in love! It takes a little more work than the average recipe, but it is beyond worth it. It seriously makes one of—if not THE—best loaves of bread I have ever had. A lot of whole wheat bread ends up dry and hard, but this loaf is anything but. Soft, moist and better than the bakery, I don’t know why it took me so long to make my own bread.

We doubled the honey and baked it for 26 minutes. It was perfect, but we like ours slightly on the undercooked side, so if you don’t, add a few more minutes.

100_9575

Kneading, kneading, kneading.

100_9576

The kneading process was actually quite an adventure. For some reason, our mixing bowl does not like to sit on the mixer and it won’t lock in place. As a result, kneading the bread for ten minutes meant my mom and I desperately clinging onto the sides of the bowl, trying to control the crazy mechanism for ten minutes straight. I’ll let your imagination do the work. It was quite a sight.

100_9554

Here is my mom pressing the air bubbles of the bread—a very important step if you’d like a loaf free of holes and gaps.

My family and I were so eager to try this recipe that we tore into it right away. “Cool these for at least an hour before slicing” did not happen. At all. We did not let it cool.100_9561

And as you can see, we most certainly did not slice it.

100_9562

100_9564

That, my friends, is desperation in its highest form. Between the three of us, this loaf didn’t even last 24 hours. In our defense, we also had two friends in town, so they ate a little bit. But when I say “a little bit,” I really do mean a little bit.

I only include them to make myself feel better.

We were so ridiculously happy with it that we made more. 10 more, to be exact.

100_9581

Except one of the loaves accidentally stuck to the pan upon removal.

100_9582

It was mangled. We had to eat it.

100_9584100_9568

Darn.

Question of the Day: Merry Christmas Eve!! How are you celebrating today? Have you ever made homemade bread? Do you have a yummy recipe you’d like to share?

Thanks for reading!

12 responses to “I Knead You

  1. Yes! I have made a homeade bread! But girl! That was back in my gluten-eating days! LOL (aka:longgg time ago!)
    For christmas eve we always have a niceeee prime rib dinner and then open most of our presents tonight and tommorow we open up the leftover special ones from ‘santa’ Lol. Then…we have a nice ole breakfast and head off to granny’s!

  2. theflourishingfoodie

    The title is so cute. I’ve made whole wheat bread a couple times but never have I been totally happy with the results. I’d love to try this one. Where can I get the recipe? Merry Christmas Kelsey!

  3. Yum!!! I’ve never made homemade bread, but after seeing this, I really want to!
    Merry Christmas!

  4. I’ve made homemade bread a few times in the bread machine but 100% Whole Wheat never turns out quite right!! I really need to try this recipe, but I think it will be harder for me since I don’t have a stand mixer!! 😦

  5. wow! i am impressed- i have never been successful at making my own bread!

  6. teenagehealthfreak

    awesome!!! looks great, wow. 10 loaves!! i’d go crazy. i make my own sourdough bread from time to time..i have my own starter that i made too. i love it!!

  7. YUM! That bread looks SO good. I’m also massively jealous of your kitchen aid mixer 😉

  8. I’ve never made homemade bread, just pizza dough! I don’t have a stand mixer so I’m kinda afraid to 😛

    Hope you’re having a very merry Christmas, beautiful!

  9. Pingback: What Have I Been Up To? « Little Miss Healthify

  10. Pingback: Hey Hey, CFA! | CleanTeenKelsey

Leave a Reply

