Happy Heart

Hey, friends!

I was so, so happy to read all of your positive feedback about my layout. Every single one of your comments made my day. I am extremely glad you like it! I do, too. Thanks again. Your comments mean more to me than you know.

The topic of today’s post is a bit different. There will be less pictures and more words, although I’m trying to keep this fairly short. The other day I was surfing the internet on various health and nutrition sites, and I came across this page: 18 Heart-Healthy Foods You Aren’t Eating. I was a bit curious to see how accurate their claim was (whether or not I was eating those heart-healthy foods), so I checked it out. After scanning through the list, I was pleasantly surprised: I consume almost every food on the list on a regular or daily basis. That made me really happy, and I hope that my heart is happy because of it, too. If you missed it, the foods that are on the list are:

  1. Cherries
  2. Whole Grains
  3. Pistachios
  4. Cinnamon
  5. Beans
  6. Olive Oil
  7. Oatmeal
  8. Oranges
  9. Tea
  10. Margarine Spreads
  11. Coffee
  12. Avocados
  13. Walnuts
  14. Tomatoes
  15. Fish
  16. Flaxseed
  17. Blueberries
  18. Wine

I was a little surprised to see margarine spreads on the list; they typically get a bad rap for being icky, processed and unnatural. I don’t eat a lot of margarine, but I do, on occasion, use Smart Balance Light, which is dairy-free. I don’t drink wine, coffee or tea at all, and I obviously don’t eat fish. But pretty much everything else makes a frequent appearance in my diet! I thought that was really cool and it made me want to know…

Question of the Day: What heart-healthy foods do YOU eat? Which ones are your favorites, and which ones do you want to eat more of? I should probably eat more oranges, pistachios and walnuts. I eat lots of pecans, almonds, etc., but not so many walnuts or pistachios. I also eat plenty of apples, blueberries and cherries, but oranges aren’t as typical.

Thanks for reading!

11 responses to “Happy Heart

  1. need to drink more wine, otherwise im fully covered! haha i love how wine and heart health is the best excuse to drink it..well red wine of course ❤ ❤

    mm i like to think my sweet potatoes are my heart healthy foods..but i think hemp and walnut butters help too 🙂

    xoxo

  2. I don’t eat cherries, pistachios, fish, margarine or avocados…guess I should! But everything else, I eat quite often!
    I don’t drink coffee or tea, but I’ve been drinking herbal tea. Do you like herbal tea, Kelsey? It’s pretty good, I like Celestial Seasonings.

  3. woah i didnt know cherries were so good for you! I should eat some more.. haha.. hmm I probably eat about 1/2 of the items on that list.. that should improve!

  4. Well, I loooove me some fish, so that’s on the list. And I have oatmeal for breakfast at least 4 times a week. Cinnamon makes an appearance frequently, too. Other things that I eat regularly are beans (I live in South America, we have beans for lunch every day), whole grains, coffee, tea, and tomatoes!

  5. theflourishingfoodie

    I eat many of these foods regulurly! Yay for a happy heart 🙂 I pretty much never consume margarine, coffee or wine but most of the others I have pretty often. I should probably eat walnuts, flaxseed, pistachios, and beans a bit more often though.

  6. I like everything on that list except for the tea, margarine, coffee, tomatoes and wine. I’d like to drink tea and eat tomatoes but I never have the urge for tea and I absolutely do not like tomatoes.

    As for the foods I do eat on that list.. well, I could always eat more of them! I just tend to get in food ruts and eat the same things over and over and over again.

  7. thanks for the list. I in no way believe margarine is healthy (for your heart or otherwise) and typically lists like this are just ways to attract people. I know some on this list are good for your heart (and overall health), for others a link has not been established at all. And the benefits of one glass of alcohol per day (preferably wine) start around the age of 30-35.
    x

  8. Oh and coffee is a two-sided sword as well. there are some benefits to name for coffee, but it has also been linked to increase in heart disease

  9. hey kels. 🙂
    love the new layout!
    this list is very interesting!!
    i’m guessing the margarine is as opposed to butter — probably less cholesterol leading to less risk of heart disease??

  10. I always love reading these types of lists. 🙂 And I think the reason they include the margarine spreads is as a substitute for butter. Vegetarians get lots of plant sterols naturally in their diet so I don’t think margarine spreads are necessary. But it’s nice to know they are fortified!

    To answer your question about eggplant, the key is to tenderize it. To do this, simply cut it into slices and sprinkle it with lots of salt (I don’t use salt in much anything else so I don’t fear the salt and you can use a paper towel to get it off later). The salt draws out some of the moisture from the eggplant, so you will see little dropplets form after about 20 minutes. Then you can use a paper towel to wipe off the water and excess salt. From here, either grill the slices or place thick slices in a 400*F oven for 40 minutes (flipping halfway through). Eggplant chips are awesome with a dry rub of sweet paprika and garlic powder, or just plain with some tomato paste for dipping. Grilled eggplant is also awesome in a sandwich with grilled zucchini and hummus. (And if you would like to see pictures, I have some on my blog.)

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  11. Yum! So happy oranges are on the list- I have been on an orange kick lately 🙂

    ps I love the new background… so pretty!

Leave a Reply

