Christmas Traditions

Today is December 9th, which means that Christmas is a little over two weeks away! My goodness, how did it sneak up so fast? I haven’t gotten any shopping done, and I don’t feel ready in the slightest. My mom and I are actually going to do some shopping for my older brother today, so that will be good. Since we don’t get to have Christmas with him, we’re going to send him a box with things for the 12 Days of Christmas! I’m really excited and we have some cool ideas for things that he might need. I’m also going to see Harry Potter 7 today! Eek, I can’t wait. I have heard so many good things about it and it will be awesome.

Do you like my new layout?! I stayed up till 12 AM I worked really hard on it. 🙂 It’s themed for Christmas and I’m pretty happy with it. I owe a huge thank you to The Cutest Blog on the Block for the graphics and background. Also, big thanks to Erika for telling me how to make a header! I’m not sure how long I’ll keep the single-column theme; it’s a bit too minimal for me. I think I prefer two columns. I’ll keep it for now though, because it works well with my layout/background.

I hope everyone’s houses are decorated! Mine sure is. We actually decorated the Monday BEFORE Thanksgiving, because we went out of town for Thanksgiving and knew we wouldn’t have the time/energy to put up decorations when we got back. We were right, and it was so nice to have them done. We have out our classic Christmas decorations: stockings, nativities, figurines, Nutcrackers, our seasonal Christmas poinsettias, Christmas pyramids, angel pieces, and of course, our beautiful tree.

100_9340

We haven’t put the angel on yet. We usually wait till Christmas gets closer to do that.

100_9341

My mom has a thing for gold Christmas trees! Every year, for as long as I can remember, we have always had a gold tree. Cream is allowed too, and sometimes silver, but other colors won’t be found on our tree. We have gold lights, gold ornaments, gold beads and gold ribbon. Our tree skirt is also cream and gold, and all the presents have to be wrapped in gold wrapping paper.

100_9343

It sounds a little weird and obsessive, but it makes for a REALLY pretty tree, especially when it’s all lit up. It looks ten times better in person than it does in the picture, I promise. 🙂 It’s a tradition that I’ve grown up with, and I will probably do the same thing in my own home when I’m a mother.

As for Christmas baking, we always make caramels, Velveeta Fudge, some sort of cookies and White Trash. (Terrible name, I know. It’s basically this recipe, except we use Rice Chex and Golden Grahams, and we don’t use pecans.) Those are our Christmas classics, and I’m eager to see how I can make them healthier as well as dairy-free.

Another tradition we have is to go look at Christmas lights in a nearby neighborhood. This neighborhood is known for its extravagant lights, and the lines to see the houses are ridiculous. It’s really cool though; they go all out. Maybe I’ll take pictures this year and post them on the blog. 🙂

We also open one present on Christmas Eve, which is ALWAYS new pajamas for Christmas morning. I think that’s a pretty common tradition, and I love it. We were also never told that Santa brings the presents under the tree. Nope, Santa fills the stockings and leaves them on the couch, along with a few other little things. My parents always wanted us to know that the “big” gifts were from Mom and Dad as a product of their hard work and time.

Question of the Day: How are YOU getting ready for Christmas? What traditions do you have, and what goodies do you typically bake? Also, do you like to give away the goodies? We always make a lot to give to our friends, sometimes as a ding-dong-ditch and sometimes not. It’s just so fun. 🙂

Thanks for reading!

9 responses to “Christmas Traditions

  1. spoonfulofsugarfree

    OMG!!!! I LOVE IT!!! It looks fantastic, Kelsey!!!

    My house is completely decked out with Christmas lights and decorations! The smell of cinnamon is in the air, and a mug of hot coffee

  2. WOAH! i like the new layout! at first I was like… wait is this the right webpage, but then i realized you changed it 😛

  3. Love the new layout, Kelsey! It’s super cute and a nice change!

    I can’t wait to see HP 7! I just wanted to read the book one more time before I saw the movie, and I’m almost done.

    I’m loving your gold Christmas tree! We can’t even put presents under our tree because there’s just no room!

    In our house Santa does the stockings (and leaves them on the couch, too!) and my parents do the big presents!

    Oh my goodness, WHITE TRASH! I didn’t know anybody but our YW call it that, but it’s so good isn’t it?

  4. My family puts CLUES on all our presents!!! It’s so much fun!! But it makes wrapping presents complicated, because you have to think of a clue while you wrap!

  5. Love the new look! Thanks for linking! 🙂

  6. theflourishingfoodie

    I love your new layout!! So pretty and festive. Your tree is super pretty too, I love Christmas decorations.
    Velveeta fudge? I”ve never heard of such a thing. I love White Trash though. The biggest hit in my family peanut butter balls. Basically just peanut butter, butter, and powdered sugar dipped in white chocolate. I was hopping to make a healthier version which was going to involve a bit of peanut flour, but I can’t seem to find it anywhere!
    I was never told my presents were from santa either, just the small stuff in my stocking was from him. I always knew the big gifts were from my parents.
    By the way, I love the daily postings 🙂 I can’t wait until finals are over and I can post more often!

  7. Wow girl I love the new layout, and your beautiful christmas tree! Your gonna have to give me some layout tips 😉 *seriously!*
    My Christmas traditions mainly occur on Christmas Eve. Our whole family comes over for a dinner and then we go to the candlelight service at church. Then all I want to do after that is go STRAIGHT to bed so I can wake up on Christmas morning!

  8. I absolutely love the new layout!!! Can’t believe how close Christmas is either!!!!!

  9. stuckoutsidethebox

    I love the layout! I never saw the old one (lol) but this one looks really great 🙂

Leave a Reply

