Surprise Smoothie

Hey friends,

It was awesome to hear your thoughts on my last post. It seems like everyone agrees that product reviews tend to get very lengthy and monotonous. I’m glad you all like the concept of doing them quicker and simpler. I like it, too. 🙂

So yesterday was a good day! My mom worked out with me in the morning which made me super happy, we stocked up on produce at Costco (is it weird that that makes me happy?) and I finished my college classes for this semester! Finally! I made A’s in both classes, so I am very excited. I’ve been talking quite a bit about my classes to anyone that will listen, because it’s kind of a big deal for me. As a homeschooler, I have actually NEVER been to public school. I went to private preschool and kindergarten, but that is it. As a result, I haven’t had a ton of experience with teachers, assignments, tests and due dates. So not only was this semester my first time doing college work, but it was my first time being a part of an actual school! That was really cool for me, even though it was just community college and I did online classes. My plan is to transfer to a university in 2012.

With my classes finished, I am very excited to finally have some free time; I can’t wait to get done the things I haven’t had time to do. I’m looking forward to writing my brother more, catching up on my journaling, blogging more (!), and getting into the Christmas baking I have been longing to do. I have a post to share with you about the baking, so that will be coming up next. 🙂

Classes and Costco aside, yesterday was a wonderful day because of this great smoothie! It was seriously one of the best SIAB I have had in a long time.

100_9454

100_9455

Looks like your average green smoothie, right?

Wrong!

I actually has a heaping half cup of pumpkin in there, along with cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and allspice.

It was creamy. And delicious. And amazing.

100_9456

Green Spice Protein Shake

  • heaping 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened almond milk (I used vanilla)
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (optional)
  • handful of ice
  • large amounts of cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and allspice
  • shake of sea salt (a must for flavor)
  • sweetener (I used a few Vanilla Stevia Drops)
  • vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp guar gum (you could do without this, but it makes an AMAZING consistency. It’s thick and creamy and awesome.)
  • 2 biiiiiig handfuls of spinach

Blend all together and devour!

So good. It was thick, spoon-able and awesome. Toppings included a shake of Galaxy Granola, shredded unsweetened coconut, a few pecan pieces and a tiny drizzle of coconut butter. I actually had to melt my coconut butter so I could drizzle it on… just to have it refrozen by the cold smoothie! Haha. What can I say, I love the little coconut butter/granola clump it makes. 🙂

Question of the Day: Are you still drinking smoothies in the winter? The only downside to this smoothie was that I had to eat it with a blanket. I was also freezing afterwards, haha. How often do you add greens to your smoothie? I do it almost every time. I love getting in vegetables without even trying. 🙂

Thanks for reading!

8 responses to “Surprise Smoothie

  1. im with you on the cold smoothies! I usually stray away from them in the winter and stick to warm oats in themorning.. its perfect!

  2. Yummy!!! that smoothie looks delish! congrats on the college courses! I’m homeschooled too, but have been to public and private schools also….

  3. My winter semester for college classes is almost over! I’m trying to study for the exams, and I’m freaking out!!

    That smoothie looks great! I have been neglecting salads, so smoothies are the only way I’ve been getting in my greens lately!

  4. I can’t seem to get into green smoothies! Recently I’ve been on a banana/soymilk kick. YUM! I love topping it with galaxy granola though 🙂

  5. theflourishingfoodie

    I don’t find it weird at all that you’re happy about produce. My mom just walked in with a bunch of fruit from Sam’s and it made me very happy 🙂
    Your smoothie looks great! Even in the summer I don’t have smoothies that often (not sure why as I enjoy them) and I haven’t had a single one in the winter. I”m all about having warm drinks, oh how I love tea and hot chocolate. A smoothie does sound pretty good right now though.

  6. no the recipe wasent dry at all- the oild wasent needed- actually ive kept them in the freezer and even after a week the one i had was still moist!! ❤

  7. I don’t have smoothies as often as I do in the summer but I still have them. I like them to much to only eat them when it’s hot outside. 😛

  8. Pingback: Feelin’ Good « CleanTeenKelsey

Leave a Reply

