Long Overdue.

Wow, can you say “disappointed?” I just had a big post typed up, then I hit something on my keyboard and the whole thing erased! Oh, I am so sad. Okay, let me see what I can recreate.

So basically I started the post out asking if anyone had noticed my lack of product reviews. I’ve been trying hard to take a break; I know they’re not always the most fun things to read. However, I do have some companies I need to review for, so I thought I would do a quick post about the products. Notice the word “quick” there. One thing I’ve noticed, is that people (myself included) tend to give incredibly long, detailed reviews about every single product. This can be helpful at times, but other times it’s a little too much and is slightly boring. Also, it can be somewhat of a turn-off to the product. I know that when I read a review, I want to read a brief opinion about a product, which may or may not influence my decision to buy it the next time I see it at a store. I don’t think every single ingredient or nutrition fact is necessary. So, from now on, my reviews are going to be much more brief and to the point. 🙂

The first is for NuNaturals Stevia. I’ve written about their products and included them in recipes on multiple occasions, but I want to tell you about my favorites.

White Stevia Packets – I love these and will buy more once I’ve finished them. Think of them like an all-natural, way better Splenda packet. Perfectly portable and convenient.
NuStevia No-Carbs – I use this & the packets interchangeably. It’s fairly concentrated & is simple to add to oatmeal or smoothies. Oh, it is also carb-free.
Liquid Stevia: Regular & Vanilla – These are by far my favorite products. I use them more than anything else. They are quick & perfectly concentrated. Vanilla = fave.
NuStevia Baking Blend – I have mixed feelings about this. I think the concept is GREAT (diluted stevia so it has 1:1 ratio with sugar) but I don’t always love the way stevia tastes in baked goods. It tastes a bit artificial and odd at the end. I’ve had a few good results though, so I’m on the fence.

The next one is the Greens 8000 supplement powders. I wish I could say I’ve tried every packet they sent (original, berry flavor and strawberry/kiwi), but I have so far only tried the original. I liked it a lot, and I really like this concept. It’s basically 50 different super-foods, powdered up, with probiotics and all sorts of awesome stuff. It’s also sweetened with stevia. Think of it a bit like Amazing Grass? I wish I could explain it better, but it is awesome. Visit the website for more information. 🙂

Last but not least is Chocolate Inspirations. They sent me an awesome selection of their all-natural, gourmet, vegan chocolates! Again, I wish I could say I have tried everything they sent, but I haven’t yet. It will probably be very gradual, since I’m not a huge fan of sugary treats and take them a little at a time. I will get there though—especially with the help of my mom and little brother. 😛

100_9318

100_9319

Look at all these wonderful samples! So far I have tried the caramel bar in the bottom left corner and the English toffee in the top left corner. Both were fabulous.

100_9325

One cool thing I’m excited to try is this hot chocolate cup. You stick it in a glass of warm water or (almond) milk, stir it around and voila! Gourmet vegan cinnamon hot chocolate. Pretty cool. 🙂

100_9327

100_9328All right, I think I saved it! This was a fairly short post for three reviews, right? I’m getting better, and hopefully I didn’t lose your attention.

Question of the Day: How do you feel about stevia and supplements? Stevia is a wonderful sweetener, but I try to use it sparingly. My main goal is to train my taste-buds to not crave sugar, and if I’m not careful, stevia can undo all that work. It’s awesome to have when I need an all-natural sweetener, but like I said, I use it only when needed. 🙂 As for veggie/fruit supplements, I think they’re a great, easy way to get in veggies when time/resources are short. They’re nice to have of course, but you know me—I love my vegetables. 🙂

Thanks for reading!

7 responses to “Long Overdue.

  1. those chocolates look YUMMY! you’re so lucky they send you samples!

  2. Like you, I use Stevia sparingly. Most of the time I only use it for baking because if I put it in my own foods, I would probably eat a lot of stuff that I normally wouldn’t have if it wasn’t sweetened. I guess that’s okay for green monsters, but other than that, I like it straight-up natural!

  3. Those chocolates look wonderful!! Can you buy them in stores?

  4. spoonfulofsugarfree

    Kelsey, this is great! I love this review a whole lot more than really long ones! I need to do this, too because I can kinda drawl my reviews out, too!

  5. theflourishingfoodie

    I like the short and product reviews. The Chocolate Inspirations stuff looks wonderful! If I’m going to sweeten something I prefer to use Stevia instead of sugar. However, like you, I try to use it sparingly. Even though it may be better for me than other sweeteners, it’s even better for me to not use any sweetener at all.

  6. Pingback: Surprise Smoothie « CleanTeenKelsey

  7. Pingback: Bread-Baking « CleanTeenKelsey

Leave a Reply

