Gingerbread Girl

Hey, friends! So I realize that Thanksgiving was a week ago, and I am just barely getting my post up. Is that ridiculous or what?

…Don’t answer that. 🙂

So you may remember from my last post that I had some big cooking/baking plans for Thanksgiving. I also said that several of those dishes would be dependent on whether or not I had time.

Well, as circumstances would have it, I didn’t have time for over half of what I had planned. I ended up just making a main dish (this amazing lentil & walnut loaf) and two dairy-free pies.

100_9350

The only changes I made to the recipe were using 1 cup of quinoa instead of breadcrumbs (to bring up the protein content a bit) and 1 tsp of poultry seasoning instead of oregano. Yes, I know, the term “poultry seasoning” is not exactly ideal, but it’s really just a blend of basil, rosemary, sage, marjoram, thyme, and oregano. 🙂

100_9351

I knew when it was going into the oven that this was going to be really good. It would’ve actually been amazing if I hadn’t burnt it when I was supposed to be reheating it. That made for one sad Kelsey, especially when I stayed up till past midnight the night before making it. Like I said, I went out of town for Thanksgiving, so all the cook/prep had to be done before I left. Anyway, it was pretty good, and the dryness was nothing a bit of hummus couldn’t fix. 🙂

Because I occasionally fail at blogging, I totally forgot to take pictures of that amazing pumpkin cheesecake I told you about in the last post. I was so flustered and rushed that… yeah… I forgot. I’m sorry. 😦 But you can see Susan’s amazing pictures here, which are ten trillion times better than my pictures would’ve been anyway. Mine also was nowhere near as pretty as hers, but I tried. I ended up doubling the amount of pumpkin used, because I didn’t think it was strong enough, and I used a gingerbread cookie crust. I thought it turned out pretty well, and I think everyone else did, too?

The other pie I made was my classic tofu chocolate mousse pie. My goodness, I just love that pie. It is so good; you would never ever guess that it has tofu in it. This time I used 63% dairy-free dark chocolate chips, but the rest of the ingredients were the same. I probably used quite a bit more agave than is listed in my recipe, because I knew that most of the people eating it would like it sweeter. When I made it for my 16th birthday, however, it was easy to make it dark, because that’s how I like it.

100_9356The tofu just about to be blended up. I HIGHLY recommend you use firm silken tofu—the kind by Mori-Nu that you find on the shelf, in a box. Please don’t use the refrigerated kind in water. It makes a huge difference, because the cold kind contains a lot more water. Plus, the taste is totally different.

100_9358All ready to go! Rather than use my oatmeal cookie crust (which would probably be better baked. Remind me to add that to the recipe page, since I was kind of a pie crust newbie at the time. Also, if you make it and bake it, I’d add some baking powder/soda.), I decided to use Susan’s. I subbed half of the applesauce with coconut oil, and I reduced the sugar a little bit because all I had was sweetened applesauce. I think I ended up using only 1/8 cup of organic sugar, and it was still very sweet. Next time I’d use even less. 😀

A few people told me they liked the cheesecake and I absolutely loved it, but the reactions to the chocolate pie were unmistakable. I think it was everyone’s favorite, because it was gone very quickly. I have to admit, it was pretty exciting to me to see everyone enjoy it so much. Is that weird? Probably. I guess I just think it’s cool that people with normal taste-buds liked my vegan, all-natural, “healthy” (by some standards) pie. 😀

Oh, you’re also probably wondering where I went for Thanksgiving. I got to spend the day with my wonderful extended family, then the rest of the weekend was spent at an awesome camp out with my friends. My family has really started to enjoy camping, and I’m getting better at it, too. 😛 It was cooooold, but we had a great time!

100_9408This is most of us. We had just finished an awesome game of kickball, and we were all really happy. I think my team lost. 😛

100_9411

100_9414And these are some of my very best buddies! They’re the greatest. 🙂 You may remember these guys from the camp out over my birthday. I also went to prom with my friend Ben, in the grey sweatshirt. From left to right is me, Burke, Ben and Landon. We all had a ton of fun.

Switching gears a bit, but ever since I made the gingerbread crust for Thanksgiving, I have been craving molasses and ginger like no other. That is so weird for me, because I’ve never been much of a gingerbread fan. Now, it’s all I want, haha. To satisfy this craving of mine, I made a wonderful bowl of Pumpkin Gingerbread Oats.

100_9445Natural light FTW.

100_9447In this bowl was…

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • vanilla extract, dash of sea salt
  • a couple drops of NuNaturals Vanilla Stevia
  • 2.5 tablespoons canned pumpkin
  • heaping 1/2 tbsp molasses (full flavor, baby!)
  • unmeasured amounts of nutmeg, cinnamon, and looots of ginger

It was so. amazing. I topped it with some Galaxy Granola, shredded coconut, pecan pieces and just a few pieces of chopped 88% dark chocolate. Heaven, and it totally satisfied my craving.

One thing that I did differently for this bowl was eat it cold. No, it wasn’t overnight oats. It was cooked oatmeal that I actually stuck in the fridge to get cold. I’ve found that cooked oatmeal fills me up a LOT better than overnight oats; the overnight kind usually leaves me hungry again in 5 minutes. This is probably because there is more liquid and way more volume with cooked oatmeal. Anyway, I wanted to be full, but after a sweaty morning workout hot oatmeal is the LEAST appealing thing. So I cooked my oatmeal before the workout, stuck it in the fridge, and had cold oatmeal waiting for me afterwards! So simple, but it was so perfect. It also was hugely reminiscent of rice pudding, of which I am a fan. 🙂

Well, my molasses/ginger craving is still rampant. I’m thinking these gingerbread muffins will be next? Vegan and no added sugar? Sounds like my cup of tea almond milk. 🙂 Maybe I’ll make them into a quick bread instead. Bread is so much more fun in my opinion.

Question of the Day: Any recent winter cravings? I, for one, have been loving pumpkin, roasted vegetables and soup! I can’t get enough of it. Oh, and ginger/molasses, too. 🙂

Thanks for reading!

6 responses to “Gingerbread Girl

  1. i didn’t know about the tofu difference! i always use the refridgerated kind but now I’ll try that extra firm stuff for my puddin! ihavent tried molasses in oats! that sounds super good though.. illtry!

  2. spoonfulofsugarfree

    Happy (belated!) Thanksgiving!!!! Your eats look wonderful, as always 😉

    It looks like you had a wonderful time with friends and family! When’s prom? I’m sure you’ll have a blast-your friend is really cute 😉

    Don’t have your next post be too far away! I miss reading your blog 😦

    Bye, girl!

  3. All of that food sounds yummy!!!!!! The day after thanksgiving, we went to visit family that lives in the mountains, and it snowed!! can you believe it?
    anyway, it is cool when other people like “healthy” food and don’t even realize that it is healthier than traditional food.

  4. I’m never satisfied after overnight oats either! So I’ve just been eating hot oats, even though I love cold oatmeal! I’m going to have to do your idea, cook it before the workout and refrigerate to enjoy after! I never thought of doing that!

    I’ve been having massive soup cravings and have yet to make some!

  5. Hey Kelsey! I’m going to try that chocolate tofu pie one day. It looks so delicious!

  6. teenagehealthfreak

    Happy (late) Thanksgiving! Hope you had fun! wow, your pie look great! the cheesecake sounds awesome!!! i’ve been craving winter squash!!! mmmmm. i love it. and eat it a lot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

