Thanksgiving Plans

Oh my goodness, I am SO ready for the school year to be over! I only have 3 more weeks including Thanksgiving week, so I am stoked. I deeply apologize for my blogging absence; I know that you have your own life and probably don’t care whether or not I post, but I still feel bad. My schoolwork just takes up all my time. If I’m not doing school, I’m busy with church things, at dance class, and quickly catching up on blog-reading. My commenting has been next to nonexistent, and I barely have time/energy to come up with something to eat. In fact, I really should be doing my History right now, not blogging… but it’s been over a week since my last post, so I think it’s time for another. I’ll just have to read my history chapter quickly. πŸ™‚

I have missed you all! The more I don’t post the more I realize just how much I love blogging. There are some changes coming up for my blog and I’m very excited for them. I’m not sure at what point I’ll begin to institute them… possibly at the end of the semester, when I actually have time, and possibly at the beginning of the year. One thing for sure is that this blog is going to be come less of a “food” blog, and more of a “healthy, happy Kelsey” blog. Of course, a part of the reason I am happy and healthy is because of my diet choices, but that isn’t going to be the only focus. I also want to write about the other huge aspects of my life (which I will mention soon) and write about what’s important to me. Slowly but surely, these changes will come. πŸ™‚

(source)

In other news, Thanksgiving is coming up! Can I get a “woot woot?” πŸ˜€ I don’t know about you, but this time of year is when I am anxiously searching for recipes to satisfy traditional holiday dishes. I have been a vegetarian for several years now, but this will be my first Thanksgiving/Christmas as an all-natural, whole-food, dairy-free vegetarian. (Holy hyphens.) Obviously everything I eat this winter isn’t going to be good for me–after all, it’s not Thanksgiving without a pumpkin pie–but my goal is to make these treats as wholesome as possible, without sacrificing taste.

For instance, about a week ago we stayed with some family friends out of town. They were craving brownies as a Sunday night treat, and since they were intrigued by my dietary paths they asked me to make whole wheat, dairy-free brownies. They had some pre-conceived notions about vegan food, as everyone does, so I immediately accepted the challenge. I wish I had been creative enough to come up with my own recipe, but this was a good opportunity to show that you don’t always need to use dairy. I didn’t want to mess it up with my experimentation. πŸ™‚

I used this recipe from bread & honey, and substituted the all-purpose flour for white whole wheat. It was a new-to-me flour, but they had it on hand and the mom (who does quite a bit of whole wheat baking herself) assured me it would work. Oh yeah, I also substituted the semi-sweet chocolate chips for 63% dark chocolate chips. 63% is pretty bitter to the average taste buds, so I was a little nervous for that one.

(source: bread & honey I forgot to take pictures, sorry :/)

Anyway, the results were fabulous!! They were so good, and they even had that flaky top that you get with boxed brownie mix. They turned out wonderfully, and the 1:1 ratio of flour and sugar is probably why, haha. In my own home I probably would’ve reduced the sugar by at least half, but that wasn’t the goal at the time. The goal was to make a delicious, whole wheat, vegan brownie that everybody loved, and it’s safe to say that we succeeded. πŸ˜€

But back to Thanksgiving! Since I will be out of town for Thanksgiving, I’m having to do a lot of my planning ahead of time. I’m also having to find several recipes to make so there’s something I can eat on the table, hehe. When you think about it, almost everything on the Thanksgiving table contains dairy or eggs! Mashed potatoes, sweet potato casserole, rolls, pumpkin pie, stuffing (sometimes), etc. I certainly will not be recreating every Thanksgiving classic–I don’t have the time or energy to do that–but there are a few recipes I’m planning on making.

Vegan Double-Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

(source)

One of which is this amazing-looking pumpkin cheesecake. I already have most of the ingredients I need, so that will be the dessert. I also think it would be fun to make a molasses cookie crust, but that will be dependent on whether or not I have time.

I also might make these rolls and this sweet potato casserole. The casserole will, again, be dependent on whether or not I have time. I figure pumpkin pie is already orange and sweet, so the sweet potato casserole isn’t really necessary. My orange skin would probably appreciate one less orange dish, too.

I’m hoping I’ll be able to roast up a bunch of vegetables (asparagus, green beans, zucchini, squash, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, onions, etc.) and maybe make a quick spinach/cranberry/pecan salad. Maybe.

For the main course, I toyed with the idea of making a quinoa dish; however, I quickly decided there would be enough carbohydrates on the table. I think I will end up going with the traditional lentil loaf, which recipe I still need to find. πŸ˜€

Woo, that’s a lot of recipes for one little girl to make. I’m leaving on Wednesday, so there will be lots of planning + shopping + making + school these next few days. Wish me luck!

Question of the Day: What are YOU going to make for Thanksgiving? Do you have any special dietary needs that will have to be accommodated?Β Share your recipes with me, please! My plan is not set in stone so I would love to see what yours is. πŸ™‚

Thanks for reading!

8 responses to “Thanksgiving Plans

  1. mmm those brownies look so rich and chocolatey! I have NO idea what to make for thanksgiving.. im a lttle behind schedule!

  2. I am SO excited for Thanksgiving as well!! That pumpkin cheesecake looks amazing. I am making a dessert but not sure what yet!

  3. Jeeeez Kelsey, you are so organized! I still haven’t figured out what I am making for Thanksgiving. I know I am making cranberry sauce, healthified creamed corn, and rolls, but I still haven’t found the perfect dinner roll recipe. I might check out the Clean Dinner Rolls you linked too! Happy Early Thanksgiving! πŸ˜€

  4. Ahhh you always have such tasty recipes!!! I haven’t decided what I’m going to make for thanksgiving, but I’ll probably make some sort of veggie side dish and something tasty for dessert πŸ™‚

  5. theflourishingfoodie

    All the stuff your thinking about making for thanksgiving sounds awesome! I can’t wait for the new changes on your blog πŸ™‚ I totally can relate to the whole being busy with school and not having time for blogging…can’t wait for Christmas break!

  6. Yumm, good luck! That sounds amazing!

    I find roasted veggies are always appreciated by everyone at the table, no matter what their dietary preferences!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  7. Wow! That is a lot of stuff to bake!!!! I’m making a brown and wild rice stuffing with celery and mushrooms! I might end up adding carrots, just because they’re yummy and orange is a Thanksgiving-ish color. I also might bake a Chocolate Cobbler dessert, which is like a mix of a brownie and a lava cake.

  8. You are so lucky to almost have school over with! I must say, I’m a little jealous. lol The dish I plan on contributing this Thanksgiving is Candied Yams πŸ™‚ Hope you have a great week with your family.
    -Whit

Leave a Reply

