Sugar Booger

I don’t know what I was thinking titling this post with the word “booger” in it. I might regret it, but it worked with what the post is about, and when I was little one of my nicknames was actually sugar booger! There wasn’t really a reason behind it, but everyone called me it. Another one of my childhood nicknames was “Sissy,” or “Sissy Bear,” which came from The Berenstain Bears. I loved that show and watched it every single day. The girl bear was named Sister Bear, (original, right?) so that became my nickname. It stuck, and I am still known by my family to this day as Sissy, Sissy-Boom, Sissy Bear, and Sis-a-Mis. They’re all creative variations of “Sister Bear” that were made up by my family, haha. What were some of your childhood nicknames? Are you still called by any of them?

All right, moving on to the point of this post. Last night I had a pretty interesting experience. We’re having company over, and the plan is to make homemade pizza. The last time we had this company over I made brownies for dessert. Unfortunately I used whole wheat flour, part stevia/part sucanat and apple sauce. In other words, I made them “Kels-ified” brownies, and I sometimes forget how different those are from regular baked goods. Let’s just say that the look on their faces when they ate the “brownies” was priceless. I felt bad, to say the least.

This time I am determined to make them something slightly healthy that doesn’t taste like it. I thought fruit pizza would be a fun follow-up to the main course,  but fruit pizza is usually done on a sugar cookie crust. I had to find a good recipe, and I ended up using this one because it was the only one I found that called for oil instead of Earth Balance. I immediately decided against using stevia, but I wondered if I could still make whole wheat flour and a bit of apple sauce work.  I decided to do a tester of the sugar cookies before Wednesday to make sure they turned out okay, and here were the results.

Recipe/Plan:

  • 1 1/2 c flour
  • 1/2 c sugar (I used sucanat for both batches)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 c oil
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • egg replacer for 1 egg (I used a flax egg)
  • cinnamon sugar to coat (omitted)

Using 4 different bowls (2 wet/dry for the “healthy” and 2 wet/dry f or the “non-healthy”), the plan was to halve the recipe. I made the first half with all-purpose, bleached flour and the full half cup of oil.

100_9038100_9039

^ White, bleached, all-purpose flour. Note that I made this with sucanat, not white sugar. I wasn’t budging on that one, since they both come from the sugar cane plant and they’re basically the same thing. The only difference is that sucanat is way less refined.

I made the other half of the recipe with whole wheat flour, which I knew right away was a bad idea. Whole wheat flour yields a completely different result from whole wheat pastry flour, but I was out so I just went with it.

100_9040100_9041

Whole wheat flour.

100_9044

“Unhealthy” wet mix. All canola oil, maple syrup.

 

100_9042

“Healthy” wet mix: half canola oil, half sweetened applesauce (it was all I had) and omitted maple syrup.

Forgot to take pictures of the batter… but it was obvious right away what was going to happen once they were baked, lol.

100_9045100_9046

Okay, so I made 4 cookies for each version, and one mini “pizza crust” for each version. I had to see how they would turn out when baked in a bigger and flatter shape.

100_9049100_9050

Um.. it’s not that obvious, is it?

100_9051

Heh.

100_9052100_9053

The difference between the mini pizza crust things. Um, yeah. That’s pretty bad. I don’t think I have to tell you which one is which.

100_9056

100_9058

The whole wheat one is a bazillion times fluffier, which isn’t the greatest thing for cookies, especially sugar cookies.

So yeah, this was definitely a sugar booger. (<–see? It did fit. I’m not crazy.) However, I was absolutely determined to come up with something that worked, and I think it worked pretty well! You’ll have to wait for my next post to read about that. 🙂

So before I go, I want to address something that’s been on my mind. I really don’t like to use the word “healthy” as an adjective, hence the quotation marks above. I think it’s an extremely loose term, and there’s way more to being healthy than whether you use oil or applesauce in your cookies. In fact, I think one of the most important parts of being healthy is being able to let go every now and then and say “Yup, I’m gonna have this cookie made with white flour, oil and sugar, and guess what? It’s okay.” It isn’t going to kill you, and you will be far more healthy mentally than you would be if you were constantly obsessing over every ingredient and carbohydrate.  (<–Long sentence, whew.)

I also dislike using the word “healthy” to describe how I eat. That makes it sound so black or white, and there’s so much more to it than that. Also, the word “healthy” has a different definition for everyone. To some, it may mean eating low-calorie, low-fat and managing your weight. To others it may mean including an extra fruit or vegetable in their diet and getting some exercise. It’s different for everyone, and what works for one person isn’t necessarily going to work for another. That’s just how I look at it, and if someone asks me about my diet I prefer to give them details rather than limiting it to the word “healthy.” I like to eat wholesome, natural, unprocessed foods, and that’s what works for me.

Question of the Day: Have you ever had any experiences with replacing white/whole wheat flour that didn’t turn out well?

Question of the Day 2: What’s YOUR definition of “healthy?” How do you feel about that word and using it to describe yourself?

Thanks for reading!

14 responses to “Sugar Booger

  1. spoonfulofsugarfree

    So what are you going to make???

  2. I always bake with whole wheat flour and think that is why my baked goods come out too fluffy and cakelike! I didn’t know pastry flour makes such a difference. I do think the term “healthy” is used to loosely and hate when people say “oh you eat sooooo healthy! Do you ever eat junk? Like pizza?”. The answer to that comment/question is that I eat healthy because I am educated on whole foods and they give me more energy and taste better. If I’m out with friends, yes I will eat junk but I don’t hoard it in like I will never see it again. Healthy eating is all about balance and indulging once in a while is not going to kill you!

  3. teenagehealthfreak

    i usually use 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 unbleached white..i just got white whole wheat and have yet to try that..so i wonder if that works better. i made fruit pizza for my b-day! but i used this almond-cookie crust…i think it was mostly made with almonds.

  4. Totally agree with the whole “healthy” thing. Most people at work think I’m some crazy health freak just because I’m vegan and I am extremely sensitive to white sugar and white flour.

    At the store I work at we sell the Alternative Baking Company’s cookies and my co-workers freak out when they see me eat a cookie still to this day. “Whaaat you can’t eat junk food!”

    Plus I work in the deli/bakery (non-vegan) department and apparently we have the best desserts around but I wouldn’t know because I can’t eat any of them. My co-workers constantly cut up sweets and beg me to try them because they still don’t get it!

  5. Pingback: Sugar Booger « CleanTeenKelsey « healthy pizza recipes

  6. Pingback: Sugar Booger « CleanTeenKelsey « healthy pizza recipes

  7. Hey girl!!
    Oh wow those cookies look amazing!!! I am trying to look for an awesome healthy cookie recipe too bake while i am here 🙂 I agree with what vegan sunshine said up there .. when ppl see me eating ice cream or froyo they are like WOW YOU ACTUALLY EAT THAT!!! hahah its so funny.. people have no idea sometimes!!! happy weekend love!

  8. Love your blog girl! You made a great point – I completely agree with you about the word “healthy.” I think that everyone has their own definition of healthy and I hate the way that people assume if you are going to be healthy you cannot eat full-fat foods and sweets. To me, being healthy is being active and enjoying everything in moderation. I hate how people are shocked to see me eat a cookie because they thought I was so “healthy.” You just have to do what works for you and makes you feel you best 🙂

  9. Hey! First of all, I LOVE your blog. I just stumbled upon it the other day and its awesome. =]

    Question 1: I dont really have much experience with this one. I have substituted bread flour for AP, and that gives a fluffier texture. Otherwise, Ive heard that if you sub only some of the white with whole wheat things will turn out better.

    Question 2: My definition of “healthy eating” is pretty much along the same lines as yours. The most important thing to remember is variety. If your eating different fruits, veggies, proteins, and grains throughout the day you’ll be okay. And I really think its important to treat yourself too. Once you start thinking in terms of “good and bad foods” theres a problem.

    =]

  10. I once tried a bread recipe replacing ALL the white flour for whole wheat flour and it came out really really stiff.

    I just finished off a bag of white whole wheat flour, and it was amazing! It’s whole wheat flour, only it’s lighter in color and easier to substitute for white flour in recipes.

  11. Hey Kelsey! I decided to check up on your blog today. 🙂
    Not too long ago, I narrowly confined healthy as describing what I ate: healthy food. And, of course, running and exercise and sleep and all that…. that’s healthy. But being miserable inside, living in isolation, desperately seeking to fill an empty space: that’s not healthy at all. So while I might have been healthy on the outside, I wasn’t emotionally and spiritually healthy, on the inside where it counts. That was such a revelation to me: “healthy” is a BALANCE! I believe that I am a spiritual being in a physical body. The former takes priority, but the latter can’t be neglected either. Amen, sister.
    Love you, girl!
    Alisha

  12. I agree that healthy has soo many different definitions, you’re right!! And I try not to replace flours because my baking experiments always get funky. Haha oh well!

  13. If I’m making something for just myself, I have no issues with making it all whole wheat. But if it’s for company, I usually use only half whole wheat… or none at all 🙂

    And yeah, the word “healthy” sort of annoys me too. To me, healthy means eating nutritious food that fuels my body the majority of the time, but not being afraid to eat some refined/sugary things too. But you’re right that the definition is different for everyone, so I try not to use it too much.

  14. my chocolate mud muffins used stoned-ground wheat flour that i didnt like because they didnt rise as high as the pastry flour 😦 i stick to using it for scones..or things that i know will be better when grainy..like waffles!! ❤

    also just wanted to quickly wish you a HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!

Leave a Reply

