Aril

Pomegranates are pretty wonderful, don’t you think?

I do.

I also think they’re pretty fun to take pictures of.

IMG_0535

IMG_0536

IMG_0541

Practice makes perfect. Which one is your favorite? I like the first one the best.

I discovered that the best way to cut a pomegranate is to cut it into quarters, then remove the arils under running water, over a bowl. The bowl catches the arils and the water helps prevent splatters.

Those are no fun.

Once your pomegranate is officially de-ariled (is that a word? I think not.), spread the arils on a paper towel to dry.

Take more pictures.

IMG_0543

IMG_0547Eat them. They’re really good in bowls of oats.

100_8906

100_8909Especially when those bowls of oats are in nearly-empty jars of nut butter.

100_8912

100_8913

Goodbye TJ’s Sunflower Seed Butter. I will miss you.

But it’s okay. I still have Nuttzo.

100_8997

And sprouted wheat.

100_8998

And pomegranate arils.

Question of the Day: POMEGRANATES. Love ‘em or hate ‘em? Ever tried sprouted wheat?

Thanks for reading!

9 responses to “Aril

  1. spoonfulofsugarfree

    Oh I wish I had a pomegranate tree! I love the stuff!

  2. No I’ve never sprouted wheat so far. Does it get soft or chewable? I read a recipe yesterday about raw bread – and the recipe demanded sprouted wheat..
    Your oatmeal looks great 🙂

  3. Never tried sprouted wheat but I LOVE POMEGRANANTES! ❤ Never thought of putting them in oatmeal. Thanks!

  4. I almost did a pomegranante post today because I have been eating them like crazy!

  5. I just wrote a haiku about preparing pomegranates, and now I’m looking at your yummy photos, and I can’t stand it any longer….to the produce stand, Batman! 🙂

  6. I loveeeee poms! We only get them once a year, at Christmas in our stockings, so it’s extra special! Never had sprouted wheat, and never will:) For obvious reasons 🙂
    vegirl

  7. Grr, I’ve NEVER had a pomegranate!! I never see them!

  8. We actually have a pomegranate in the fridge right now. I like them.

    Is that sunflower seed butter really good? What is it like? I’ve seen it but never tried it.

Leave a Reply

