Ch-Ch-Chia

Have you ever tried chia seeds? Up until a few days ago, I hadn’t–unless you count the chia seeds in Nuttzo. I don’t. 😛

So, what exactly ARE chia seeds?

Chia seeds are one of the most powerful, functional, and nutritious
superfoods in the world! The chia seed is an excellent source of
fiber, packed with antioxidants, full of protein, loaded with vitamins
and minerals, and the richest known plant source of omega-3.

  • More Omega-3 than Atlantic Salmon
  • More Antioxidants than fresh blueberries
  • More Fiber than bran flakes
  • More Calcium than 2% milk
  • More Protein, Fiber & Calcium than flax seed

Source.

In other words, they’re really good for you. 🙂 One thing that’s NOT good about them, though, is the price. I’d been wanting to try these super seeds for the longest time, but at $16.99/lb that wasn’t gonna happen. Thankfully my mom let me get a tiny bit (and I mean a tiny bit–not more than a few tablespoons, lol) at Whole Foods, and I have had a bunch of fun playing with them.

The first thing I made? Very Vanilla Chia Seed Pudding.

Exciting, I know.

Stir it all together and let sit overnight. In the morning, top with fabulous toppings. 😀

I’d like to thank Love Street Living Foods for this fabulous bowl. My toppings:

LOVED this bowl! Chia seeds are amazing, oh my gosh. They plump up and create a tapioca-like pudding that I just love. The texture takes a bit of getting used to, but it’s awesome. I only wish my bowl had held me over a bit longer. 😦

Overnight pumpkin oats with chia seeds! Yummm.

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin
  • water + milk (didn’t quite measure)
  • 1.5 tbsp chia seeds
  • LSLF Madagascar Vanilla Powder

Topped with coconut butter, unsweetened shredded coconut, LSLF cacao nibs, pecans and a dollop of Dark Chocolate Dreams. So amazing.

If you couldn’t tell, I got some awesome goodies from Love Street Living Foods.

Sorry for the bad picture. In the left column, top to bottom is

Right column, top to bottom:

Everything was organic, raw and amazing!

Pistachio halves: Absolutely delicious. Loved them.

Goji berries: Soo awesome. I love goji berries! They’re sweet, tart, chewy and a great snack. They’re also a superfood. 🙂

Vanilla Cookie Crumbs: These were so good. They were like little cookie clusters and I absolutely loved them. They’re organic, raw, vegan, gluten-free and grain-free. How cool is that? Ingredients: Coconut, Almonds, Pumpkin Seeds, Figs, Agave Nectar, Sea Salt, Vanilla Bean, Cinnamon, Ginger. Loove.

Cacao nibs: You all know how much I love cacao nibs. These were great and I loved using them.

Raw Madagascar Vanilla Powder: Oh my goodness, this stuff is SO amazing. This is what it says on their website:

“Our Vanilla Powder is 100% Organic, Raw, and Vegan with fair trade growing and harvesting procedures from Madagascar. Organic, Pure Ground Vanilla Powder is made by grinding the whole vanilla pod into a fine powder. This is not the same as other Vanilla Powders, which are a combination of sugar or dextrose and ground vanilla or vanilla extract.  Naturally high in antioxidants, Vanilla Powder is something no kitchen should be without!”

I absolutely loved using it in place of vanilla extract in recipes. It’s pretty strong, and 1/2 tsp is the equivalent of 1 tsp vanilla extract. It is so awesome and the vanilla taste is amazing. Love.

Raw, vegan, organic Love Street Chocolate Spread:

“Made with 100% organic Crillio variety cacao from Ecuador, this is the world’s purest chocolate experience!” This stuff is really good. It’s pretty thin and very drizzle-y. It’s rich and I love that it’s completely raw and organic. The only thing I don’t love is how sweet it is; it’s a little too much for me, but I’m used to darker chocolate. I bet normal people would find it perfect. 🙂

Raw, vegan organic Love Street Chocolate Coconut Spread:

“Made with 100% Crillio variety cacao and organic coconut butter, this is the world’s purest chocolate spread–with the warm, nutty flavor of coconut!”

This reminds me a lot of Artisana’s Cacao Bliss; however, this is more of a sauce and Artisana’s is a spread. It’s also really sweet–too sweet for me–but I absolutely love that it’s made with organic raw whole vanilla beans! That is super cool. I like this stuff and both the chocolate and coconut taste is very prominent.

Raw, vegan, organic Artisana Macadamia Butter:

The ingredients list was too small to photograph, but it contains nothing but raw “sustainably picked” macadamias and cashews. Absolutely amazing. I love this nut butter so much; I only wish I had more of it!

Before I go, Love Street Living Foods has an awesome offer for you guys.
“With any minimum purchase of $25.00, receive a free Raw Organic Chocolate Superfudge Bar!
-Just write in the Order Comments box on the Checkout page the words “Free Bar” to ensure that your Chocolate Bar is added to the order.”

It expires on October 22nd 2010, so order fast! 🙂 My recommendations for your order? Macadamia butter, cacao nibs, vanilla powder and/or the Vanilla Cookie Crumbles. Love Street Living Foods also sells chia seeds, so if you’re interested in trying them out, now would be a great time! 🙂

Question of the Day: Have you ever tried chia seeds? What do you think of them?

Question of the Day 2: Have you ever tried anything from Love Street Living Foods? If you could pick one thing to try, what would it be?

Thanks for reading!

 

 

P.S. Check out Kelsey’s (Snacking Squirrel) Vega giveaway! I’m excited!

10 responses to “Ch-Ch-Chia

  1. Haha I’ve had a bag of chia seeds in my cabinet for like a month, but then I couldn’t really think of anything to do with them and I forgot about them… maybe I’ll try that pudding!! That looks yummy!

  2. not going to lie, I’m incredibly jealous how you get companies to send you stuff! It makes me want to start up a food blog just so I can get free goodies 🙂 haha

    Personally, I’m dieing to try the vanilla powder and the vanilla cookie crumbles. YUM!

    Do goji berries taste similar to dried cherries? It seems like they would.

    I loved the title of this post by the way. Those Chia pet commercials were the best!

  3. Hey Kelsey!

    Long time no talk =P
    I tried to contact this company a while back to get some samples…did they contact you first, or did you contact them? I would love to receive some samples to review on my newest blog.

    Thanks! 🙂
    Katie

  4. spoonfulofsugarfree

    This looks sooo good, Kelsey!! I actually eat chia alot already, but I have been dying to make a pudding! this looks amazing 🙂

    Also. your bowls of overnight oats and what not look amazing….as always 🙂

  5. I loove adding chia seeds to oats! Sadly I forgot to bring my huge bag to college and don’t want to buy more! I do want to get some goji berries though 🙂

  6. I love chia seeds – they are like a healthier version of Jello! (When mixed with liquid, of course!) Thanks for the vanilla “pudding” recipe – I never thought of that. 😀

  7. I had a bag of cacoa nib. What shall I do with them?

  8. For more information about chia seeds, and some recipe ideas, check out my website: http://www.chiativity.org

  9. Pingback: Are You Drooling Yet? | FoodFitnessFun

  10. YAY for Chia Seed Pudding! 😀 I have really got to get me some Chia Seeds! 😀

Leave a Reply

