Seriously Super Salad

(Say that five times fast!)

I’m not a huge fan of salad recipes.

To be honest, when I make a salad I want the freedom to throw in whatever vegetable I want, top it with some sort of protein and call it a fresh, nutritious, wholesome meal. Because of that, I don’t really like someone telling me what to put in my salad, but my hope is that you don’t feel the same way. This salad is good–really good. It combines the light, fresh flavors of greens with the chewier, sweeter flavors of raisins and pecans; then it’s all brought together with Great Northern Beans, creamy avocado and a homemade Raspberry Lime Vinaigrette.

I think it’s amazing, but don’t trust my opinion. Try it for yourself and see if you agree.

End-of-Summer Salad with Raspberry Lime Vinaigrette

Ingredients:

  • Salad greens (spinach, romaine, red/green leaf, etc. You decide.)
  • Chopped tomatoes
  • Chopped red peppers
  • Sliced cucumbers
  • Chopped celery
  • 1/4 avocado, diced
  • 1/3 cup Great Northern Beans
  • Handful raw pecans
  • Handful raisins
  • Raspberry Lime Vinaigrette (recipe below)

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and toss. Serves 1.

By the way, the emboldened ingredients are the most important ones that make this salad. The others are pretty basic and can be substituted as you see fit, but the tomatoes and peppers do taste pretty good. 🙂

Raspberry Lime Vinaigrette
(Serves 1)

  • 4 fresh raspberries
  • splash of water, if needed
  • 1.5 teaspoons coconut oil
  • 1 teaspoon lime juice
  • smidgen of sea salt
  • 1/2 t balsamic vinegar (optional)
  • sweetener (optional)

Place the fresh raspberries in a small bowl and mash them with a fork till liquefied. You may need to add a splash of water to help get things going. Next, add the rest of the ingredients and whisk together with a fork. Add the balsamic vinegar and/or sweetener, both of which are optional. I didn’t think it needed any sweetener, but I do recommend the balsamic vinegar. It ties everything together. Enjoy! 🙂

I reallyyyy like this salad. And this dressing.

Try it. Pretty please with raspberries on top? 🙂

Question of the Day: What’s your favorite salad combination? Are you a fan of salad recipes or do you prefer to make it up as you go? What about dressings–which are your favorite?

Thanks for reading!


10 responses to “Seriously Super Salad

  1. spoonfulofsugarfree

    I totally agree! I never follow salad recipes, I just throw a bunch of yummy things together and hope for the bast (They always turn out well, though)

    There is one dressing that I have been loving lately, though. Ginger+Miso+water=yum!

  2. I love asian salad mixes. Anything with mandarin orange, sesame or soy dressings! I loved mandarin oranges on my salad with crispy wonton strips and tons of shredded cabbage. Yum!

  3. I’m definitely a do-it-yourselfer when it comes to salads. I start of with romaine and spinach, then I add tomatos, cucumbers, zucchini, peppers, protein (usually shrimp, chicken, tuna, or a boca burger), random fruit, and either sesame ginger dressing or poppyseed <– new fave. And I always have to top it with pretzels or triscuits for crunch and saltiness. I could eat this 24/7!

  4. Renee Bezuidenhout

    Hi there Kelsey…
    I am also not much of a salad recipe follower… I like to use fresh in season ingredients and make it up as I go.
    BUT your salad sound really great, and I am going to try it for lunch today, because it is our summer here is South Africa, and the temperatures have been up to 38 – 40 C, and it is sweltering… so lunch it is going to be…
    Thank you so much for all your recipes and great tips and ideas…
    Renee

  5. Hi Kelsey! I’ve never left a comment before but I’ve been reading for some weeks now (and read a lot of your older posts too!).

    I am not big on salads either, at least not when its more greens than anything else. I threw together a salad last week that I really liked, too; chickpeas, black beans, cucumber, tomato, pepper, a few shredded spinach leaves, green/black olives, some goat cheese, seeds and garlic balsamic and some garlic powder. The sweetness of the goat cheese and garlic balsamic goes great with the more sharp tastes of pepper, black olives and garlic powder.

    I really like beans in salads and my fav dressing is garic balsamic 🙂

  6. teenagehealthfreak

    i kinda like to make it up as i go alond too! this does seem like a nice commbo though! my fave dressing is this one i make with honey+balsamic+olive oil+dijon mustard…it’s really good!!!

  7. I’m sad this is called end of summer salad and not summer salad, but it looks delicious nonetheless! I love that you made your own dressing. I really need to start doing that!! I love salads with hummus and balsamic.

  8. I’m not normally a salad recipe kind of person either, but this looks really good! I might have to try that 🙂 I love raspberry in my salads!

  9. Kels, that looks soooewww good.
    Julia says it looks like an Arab dish. 🙂
    She went to the Middle East this summer.

    (you should feel honored)

  10. My favorite kind of salad is a salad where I just throw whatever I want into the mix! My favorite dressings are raspberry and balsamic. Your salad looks so good, that I may have to follow a salad recipe for once! 😛

Leave a Reply

