Yellow & Orange

With the Fall season quickly approaching, I have been craving one meal and one meal only: grilled cheese and tomato soup.

But wait a minute, you may be thinking. Kelsey doesn’t eat dairy; how can she have grilled cheese? Enter the beloved Daiya cheese. I’ve told you about the “mozza style” before here, but this was my first time trying the cheddar flavor. My mom graciously allowed me to get it at Whole Foods and needless to say, I was very excited.

(source)

The other dilemma with grilled cheese and tomato soup is the fact that most commercial tomato soups contain milk and dairy products. That obviously wasn’t gonna work, so I was forced to get creative.

Enter Gena’s Basic Tomato Soup.

  • 1 ΒΌ cups chopped cherry or Holland tomatoes
  • Β½ avocado
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp agave or dash of stevia
  • Dash of salt

Blended together in the Vita-Mix. This was really yummy, but I think next time I won’t use the balsamic vinegar. It was a bit too strong. πŸ™‚

Grilled cheese with a tomato on Great Harvest 100% Whole Wheat bread and raw tomato soup. Yum!

This next one was the same basic concept, except I used a different (on sale) brand called Almond Cheese. It was kinda weird, and it had casein (a milk product) in it. I won’t buy it again.

The soup was good, though! This was a different recipe I found online that I modified a bit. It was simply 2 large, beefsteak tomatoes, a dash of sea salt, a single Deglet Moor date and 1/4 cup of raw cashews. This was my favorite one and I will for sure make it again.

Another fun thing to do is to make different varieties of grilled cheese. I wrote about an awesome combo peanut butter and apple comboΒ here. This particular one was sliced apples and Daiya. Yum. I ate the remaining apple slices on the side with some cinnamon and almond butter sauce. (1 T almond butter + 1 T almond milk, stirred and microwaved.)

So good! Have you ever had apples and cheese together? It’s an amazing combo, so if you haven’t tried it yet, do! I have memories of eating a hot slice of apple pie with a slice of cheddar cheese melting over the top, and dang–it is amazing.

In other news, I am turning orange. That is not a metaphor or an analogy; it is plain and simple truth. We recently obtained a huge bag of organic carrots, and since I am the only person in my home that eats carrots, I have been eating copious amounts to keep them from going bad. My hands are literally orange, as are my knee-caps, arms and face. It’s pretty crazy and I’ve definitely had to slow down.

A contributing factor to this carrot overload has been my recent obsession with all things carrot cake. I think it’s subsided for now, but it was pretty bad a couple weeks ago. My two favorite carrot cake-y things were this carrot cake oatmeal..

Overnight carrot cake oats topped with shredded coconut, coconut butter, some other stuff that I can’t identify from the picture and a raw carrot cake bite. The recipe for that will come soon; I want to perfect it first, but it was my other favorite thing. πŸ™‚

Question of the Day: What is your favorite grilled cheese combo, dairy or non-dairy? I know Ashlei has some great ideas.

Question of the Day 2: Have you ever turned colors because of a certain food or food group? Do you like carrot cake?

Thanks for reading!

17 responses to “Yellow & Orange

  1. Thanks for the reminder of the apples and cheese combo! It’s been too long!

  2. Oh my gosh I turned orange when I ate a lot of carrots, too!! Apparently broc makes you turn orange as well because of it’s vitamins (yeah, didn’t expect it) so it didn’t help the situation that I ate a lot of broc along with the carrots. I had to give them up/eat very very little for a few months for the color to finally go away.

    Love the grilled cheese and tomato soup πŸ™‚ That brings back elementary school memories- they served it at least once a week! And I’ve never tried apples & cheese but you have me wanting to now πŸ˜›

  3. Omg thats so funny! Thats never happened to me. All your recipes look delish! I have tried almond cheese too before. It is definitely weird and it doesn’t melt in a good way! haha. That oatmeal looks really good- I haven’t tried coconut on oats yet, I’m not sure why, but it seems like a great combo! =)

  4. Hey, um, I saw your comment on Katie’s site and I would be happy to take some tahini and cashini butter off your hands…. I am in love with tahini (especially Artisana’s). Well, I guess I’m getting a box of samples soon (!!), but still, the offer’s open πŸ˜‰
    VEGirl

  5. Kayla (eats healthy)

    Grilled cheese is probably my FAVORITE past time! Ahh, I used to LOVE that stuff. That and cheese quesidillas.

  6. I absolutely LOVE carrot cake…but I have never turned orange. πŸ˜‰ One of my favorite grilled cheese combos is a grilled (cheddar) cheese sandwich with BBQ sauce and sauteed onions. I highly recommend you try it! πŸ™‚

  7. teenagehealthfreak

    i love apples or pear + goat cheese!!! sooo good. πŸ™‚ my feet tend to turn orange too!!!! it’s funny. i really don’t know too much about tomato soup….i’ve had some but and i liked it..but i guess the home-made kind is the best!

  8. spoonfulofsugarfree

    I have to say that I am not a big grilled cheese fan. I never really liked cheese to begin with :/ But…I am a huuuuge fan of tomato soup. Now that is something I will try making!

    And ha! You silly girl, turning orange like an oompa lumpa! I have turned a little pink once from eating beets!

  9. I am loving that soup recipe! Yum!!! I’m totally making this!

  10. Daiyaaaaaaa…! Love it. I haven’t been able to get to Whole Foods recently so it’s been a while since I’ve had it. But meanwhile I’ve come up with a recipe for a sort of “cheeze” spread that I’ll be posting soon πŸ™‚

    Oh and I’ve definitely turned orange from too much pumpkin, carrot, and sweet potato too! The color goes away pretty fast after you stop eating them though, don’t worry.

  11. Your grilled cheese looks amaazing! I really want to try daiya. And YESS I love carrot cake!!

  12. Love this grilled cheese Action! I love daiya cheese, its so good! I need to get more!

    Hope your week is great! xoxo

  13. Whit and I LOVE grilled cheese and tomatoe soup. Our family always thinks that is such a weird combo… but I can’t get enough of it when it is cold. I have only ever had tomatoe soup with from the can where you add milk, or Progresso’s Tomato & Basil soup. It is to die for. Also I love creating different types of grilled cheese like adding turkey or ham, or having swiss/pepperjack instead of cheddar.

    Also who doesn’t love carrot cake?!? I know that I have had an obsession lately… carrot cake oats, overnight oats, on millet, muffins, and just plain ol’ carrot cake. Yum! I can’t wait for your raw carrot cake bite recipe. Is is similar to a lara bar?

    -Court

  14. My favorite thing with cheese is Brie cheese with apples or pears on toast with a nut butter (coconut butter or almond butter for pears) grilled with butta for crisp! Also I really love goats cheese honey and figs and rae spinach, that’s always a winner! I could go on forever, cheese and fruits are best friends!

  15. One of my vegan friends said Daiya cheese is the BEST for grilled cheese! I bought some and I can’t wait to try it!

  16. I was thinking about your “turning orange” while I peeled and roasted about 2 pounds of carrots the other day! Girl, I would lay off of the carrots if I were you! πŸ˜‰

  17. Hi Kelsey! I randomly found your blog and I really like it. I’m excited to read more and learn more about you.

    If you get the chance, pop on over to my blog and check it out.

    Looking forward to your next post! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

