On the Road Again

Hey, friends!

I’m checking in from the road, because my family and I are on the way to Utah. You’re all aware of my brother’s mission, and we have to take him to Utah before he can go to Mesa. While we’re there, we’ll be visiting a lot of friends, family, and attending some awesome workshops at a college campus. Hey, maybe I’ll even run into Janetha! 🙂

I had plans before I left to get up a fun post about driving, homemade pizza and family pictures, but time evaded me. With packing, shopping and organizing trip food, it simply did not happen. I don’t have great internet access right now (the reception is spotty in Gallup, New Mexico. Hi, April!) but I’ll be sure to finish the post once I’m at my grandpa’s.

I’ve been thinking quite a bit, and I’ve realized that this trip to Utah will be unlike any other. Although I’ve always been a health-conscious teen, the healthy lifestyle I’m living now is far more commited than before. In fact, it was in January at a Border’s in Utah that I first found The Eat-Clean Diet and started applying its principles in my life. I’ve made a lot of positive changes in my diet since then, and it will be interesting to see the difference between what I would’ve eaten then and what I will eat now.

I imagine I’ll still indulge in the occasional Iceberg shake, Creamie or Cafe Rio salad, all of which are native to Utah, but my goal is to eat as clean as I can. I hope my grandpa won’t take offense when I politely decline the packaged Honey-Buns, the Fig Newton’s or his favorite doughnuts from Smith’s, all of which are native to his kitchen. He is aware of this new lifestyle and I hope he will understand.

Because eating healthily on a trip is needed so often, I plan to do a post on it very soon. I’d like to include what types of food to have, how to plan your meals and other necessities you should bring. Is there anything in particular you’d like me to cover? Do you have any questions about it? Leave them in the comments, please! Fortunately I’ve packed food on several trips, so I will do my very best to share my trial-and-error experiences with you. 🙂

Well, it’s back to the drive. I think I’m going to journal, read and write some letters. Oh, I’m gonna catch up on your blogs too, but I won’t be able to comment. 😦 the app on my phone allows me to read them, but I have to use internet to comment. Like I mentioned before, my internet access is very weak, but know that I AM reading. 🙂

Thanks for reading!

Kelsey

P.S. We’re in Colorado now. Hi, Court and Whit! 🙂

9 responses to “On the Road Again

  1. Awwwwwwwwwwwww sounds like you will have a great trip! I hope it’s a safe one! I agree, I like to keep with my healthy eating routine while away, but I like to enjoy in moderation too, it’s all about balance, you should enjoy some stuff, especially the Iceberg Shake : ) Im glad you are going to : )

    Have fun and cant wait to see the recap!

  2. Hey KELSEY!!! lol. Are you guys going to be in Colorado long?

  3. im really curious and excited about ur upcoming post highlighting healthy eating when travelling. it comes pretty naturally for me thankfully but im always keen on hearing another persons perspective on it!

    xoxo

  4. It’s not really hard to eat healthy on a trip, it’s the endless planning that goes into it. I’ve traveled frequently this year and have not made all of the best choices…

  5. have fun in utah! i’m super essssssssssited to hear your tips for eating healthy on the road!

  6. Have fun in Utah! I love it there! I’d love to hear your tips on eating healthy while on a trip! I always have the hardest time turning down sugary treats at family reunions when all the rest of the family is enjoying them!

  7. I can’t wait for your post about eating healthily while traveling! Have fun in Utah!!

  8. By “workshops at a college campus”, you couldn’t possibly mean Education Week could you? 🙂 Because I will be there too! You should go to the teen dance they have at the end of the week. Maybe i’ll get lucky and run into you!
    And Cafe Rio Salads- definitely worth the indulgence.
    I am SO looking forward to your post on eating healthy while traveling. With my recent trips this summer, i’ve realized how hard it can be so your post will be much appreciated.

  9. Wow, that should be interesting to see how things changed. Looking forward to your post on eating on the road 🙂

Leave a Reply

