Jammin’ Out

Hey hey everyone!

Well, I am now at the close of what has been an extremely busy weekend. I don’t really remember what happened on Friday (the last day I blogged), but Saturday was a day to remember  for sure.

The morning/afternoon part wasn’t overly special–after all, cleaning and making meals is a pretty regular thing around here–but Saturday evening was truly amazing. We arrived at my brother’s farewell party two hours early to set up and get everything ready, then people started coming around 7. There were local friends, friends from across town, and even some friends from out of town (Hi, Audrey!). It was truly great to see all the support and it was very, very appreciated. If you’re reading this, thanks to anyone that came last night! It was wonderful.

Because yesterday was so packed, I didn’t get the chance to eat very much, therefore I have very few pictures. One thing I did make, however, was a grilled sandwich I’d been seeing on Angela’s blog for quite some time: cashew butter and blueberry jam. I only used two pieces of Ezekiel bread, and I used coconut oil instead of the margarine.

In hindsight this probably took more time than it was worth, because I had to make both the blueberry jam and the cashew butter. It was delicious though, and I would definitely make it again if I already had cashew butter and blueberry jam.

For the  cashew butter, I ended up roasting 1/3 cup raw cashews at 225° for about 12 minutes, checking frequently. Although raw cashews are better for you and are what I typically snack on, roasted cashew butter tastes way better. 😛

Making my blueberry jam!

Kelsey’s 3-Ingredient, 20-Second, Any-Fruit Jam

  • 1/2 cup chopped fruit (I used blueberries)
  • sweetener, to taste (I used a sprinkle of NuNaturals Stevia)
  • 1/16 tsp xanthan gum

Place all ingredients in a mini-food processor and process until smooth, or smash everything together with a fork. Let thicken and eat. 🙂

The key ingredient here is the xanthan gum because it binds the jam, makes it thicker and helps it to spread. I suppose you could make it without it, but just expect a pureed fruit texture over a smooth jam.

Also, to be quite honest, I have only made this once. I’ve only made it with blueberries and I really have no idea whether or not it would work with other fruits. I can’t imagine why it wouldn’t though!

After making the jam and cashew butter, I spread about 1.5 tablespoons of each on the bread and grilled the sandwich with coconut oil.

The yummy insides:

Too bad you can’t see the steam that was emitting from the sandwich. 😛

This was really good! I can’t wait to try it with other flavors. Almond butter and blackberry jam? Pecan butter and cherry jam? Cashew butter and peach jam? The possibilities are endless. 🙂

Speaking of berries, today, in honor of both Pancake Sunday and my soon-to-be-a-missionary brother, I made pancakes for brunch. I used Alisa‘s recipe with the addition of blueberries and chopped strawberries.

Sorry, I definitely did not set these up pretty like most bloggers do. You’re lucky I even took a picture, because I was so ready to eat that I didn’t care about anything else, haha.

My pancake, topped with peanut butter, alongside some fruit salad:

I also made scrambled eggs for my family and an unpictured tofu scramble for me. First, I sautéed some peppers and sliced cherry tomatoes in a pan, then I added firm silken tofu and scrambled it all up. I seasoned the mixture with sea salt, pepper and some European spice my mom has called Tzatsiki, then ate it with a blob of hummus. (This Tzatsiki is actually completely different from the yogurt-cucumber dip you may be thinking of. They have no similarities, haha.) It was really quite wonderful and I’m regretting not taking a picture.

In other news, I bought a different non-dairy milk the other day!

I’ve heard a ton about hempmilk and its nutritional benefits, but I’d never tried it before. The lady at my grocery store recommended it over almond milk (can anything beat almond milk?!), so I thought I’d give it a shot.

My thoughts? Meh. I don’t really like it and it tastes like fish, possibly because of the Omegas. It has an odd, overly strong taste and I would never drink it on its own. So far the only way I’ve been able to down it is blended up in a protein shake because the protein powder masks the flavor. Almond milk is twenty-bazillion times better.

All righty folks, I’m gonna get off the computer and get some stuff done. I’m thinking about writing some letters and writing in my journal. For dinner I’m planning on a big plate of veggies–my favorite! 🙂

Thanks for reading!

13 responses to “Jammin’ Out

  1. Your brother’s going to be a missionary? Wow, that is so incredible and honorable. 🙂

  2. Farewells are so fun. Wish your brother luck on his mission for me! (Though he may find that creepy considering he has no idea who I am. 🙂
    I just recently bought the Tempt Hemp milk ice cream and have yet to try it. Bummer you didn’t like the milk but hopefully the ice cream will be better!
    And I need to get some xantham gum stat because that jam looks delish!

  3. I love the flavor combination of blueberries and cashews! I have them on yogurt all the time! I want to try making the blueberry jam and the cashew butter! Sounds so good!

  4. I have been drooling over that exact recipe at Angela’s blog for a while! I would have to sub almond butter for the cashew butter because I don’t particualarly like cashew butter.

  5. I hope you and your brother enjoyed the pancakes and good luck to him!

    Love the quick jam recipe.

  6. Good Luck to your brother! That is so great 🙂 It really sounds like you come from a GREAT family.

    I will try to make your jam…I will let you know how it turns out with something other than blueberries, LOL!

  7. I’m not a fan of hemp milk either 😦 Oh well! Your jam and those pancakes look delicious! I love love love cashews, and cashew butter!

    Hope you have a great week, Kelsey!
    Meg

  8. The homemade jam looks delish! I love jam!

    Oh girl, my pancakes never look pretty! Yours looks like a masterpiece compared to mine! lol!

    Have a great day! xoxo

  9. I LOVE that you made your own cashew butter and jam! That’s awesome. And thanks for the hemp milk review… I think I’ll stick to my almond milk!!

  10. yum! you know how to make a pb&j, girly! love the blog, just found you! 🙂

  11. teenagehealthfreak

    wow you can make me a sammie like that whenever you want! that’s patience right there..making your own jam/butter!!! i bet it was bomb! 🙂

  12. Wait, that sandwich looks absolutely delicious! 🙂 I’m vegan, so i obviously love food and health. Have you tried many vegan recipes? I have some on my blog you can check out if you want!

  13. Pingback: Grilled Cashew Butter and Blueberry Sandwich « Little Miss Healthify

Leave a Reply

