Cream of the Coconut

Hey everyone!

Well, the plan for this post was to make coconut milk ice cream and write about it along with the other things, but time was not my side this week. I didn’t get the chance to make it, but I don’t really have anything else to write about, (I’ve been eating less meals and more snacks these past few days… not sure why) so this will have to suffice.

Actually, the honest truth is that I DID make coconut milk ice cream recently; however, it was such a disaster that it was not blog-worthy. I attempted to make the ice cream out of homemade coconut milk, which I quickly discovered was a bad idea. It was not nearly thick enough, and the fat content was far too low to create a creamy consistency. Instead, it was an icy, unmanageable mess. Rest assured, my next attempt will be made with canned, full-fat coconut milk.

Despite my ice cream failure, there has been no shortage in the coconut consumption department. (Of course, for me, that’s not really a surprise.) I told you about my accidental coconut flour in a previous post, and yesterday I made a version of May’s Cacao(nut) Euphoria.

  • About 2/3 cup coconut cream**
  • Vanilla Stevia drops, to taste (or honey, agave, Stevia packets, sugar; whatever you like. If you don’t use the vanilla stevia drops, be sure to add some vanilla extract to the mix.)
  • dash of sea salt
  • Spoon the coconut cream out of the can and put it into a medium-sized mixing bowl. Store the remaining coconut milk in an airtight container in the refrigerator for other uses. (I like to put it in smoothies and shakes.) Add your salt and sweetener to the bowl (for me, it was about 6 drops of Vanilla Stevia drops. Use whatever sweetener you like and make it as sweet as you want.) and cream it all together with a hand mixer.

**Coconut cream is what you will find at the top of a can of cold, regular coconut milk. Do NOT buy light coconut milk, and it must be cold, so put it in the fridge the day before. Also, the 2/3 cup measurement is loose; just use however much ends up at the top of the can!

Oh, this stuff is so good. Use it in oatmeal, on toast, as a filling/frosting for cake, and I bet it would make wonderful pie filling. I love to eat it over berries, too. 🙂

One of the other coconutty things I ate recently was the most amazing ice cream I think I’ve ever had. Contrary to my coconut milk ice cream failure, Luna and Larry have it down to a science with their Coconut Bliss.

I cannot get over this ice cream, you guys. What I LOVE about Coconut Bliss is how ecologically-minded their company is: everything is fair-trade and certified organic. Seriously, it’s amazing stuff and I really recommend you try it. It’s got 4 little, organic ingredients and it is out-of-this-world good.

  • Organic Coconut Milk (Organic Coconut, Water, Guar Gum)
  • Organic Agave Syrup
  • Organic Fair Trade Vanilla Extract
  • Organic Fair Trade Vanilla Beans

So amazingly creamy. Keep in mind that when I tried this, I had no idea what to expect. I’d never had coconut milk ice cream, and I expected the coconut flavor to be totally masked. Let me assure you, however, that the coconut flavor is fully evident and it is fully enjoyable. I really, really loved this stuff and I hope you get to try it.

Coconut Bliss over a fruit salad.

Drizzled with coconut butter and cacao nibs.

I also liked to use it with berries, in protein shakes,  and over protein brownies, but I’m not going to lie: the most common method of consumption was spoon-to-mouth, straight from the container. No shame.

(Stomach picture source.)

This would be my lame, Paint-drawn graphic displaying the beloved Coconut Bliss in my stomach. It took me about 15 minutes to make, so you better like it. 🙂

Okay, friends. When I begin to make pixelated ice cream on my computer I know it’s time for bed. Tomorrow is a packed and busy day, because we’re having my brother’s 19th birthday party/mission going away party! Gotta wake up early and get stuff done. 🙂

Oh, before I go! Head on over to Court & Whit’s blog to check out their Namaste Giveaway. I did quite a bit of baking here, girls. 🙂

Thanks for reading!

P.S. **Disclaimer** Any and all products that I review were sent to me, free of charge, to test and write about on my blog. I am in no way required/paid to say positive things about them, and I never will unless I truly mean it.

11 responses to “Cream of the Coconut

  1. I seriously need to add more coconut into my diet.

    I want your coconut cream thang it looks soooo good!

    Have fun tomorrow!

  2. Haha I want coconut bliss in my tummy too! I’ve never found coconut butter near me, but I am guessing it tastes pretty amazing!!

  3. Hi Kelsey,

    Funny enough, clean eating ice cream is in full development mode in my kitchen at the moment. I’ve found that 1 little packet of unflavored gelatin goes a long way in replacing the fat content. I made a batch with non-fat milk the other day and it was near perfect.

    Hope that helps!
    Tiffany

  4. That looks delicious! I’ve never tried coconut ice cream, cream, milk, or butter before..I know, it’s horrible. I didn’t think it was so bad until I typed it just now haha 😛 This will be a great way to get into it, though! Thanks! 🙂

  5. Hey! I have had coconut ice cream and coconut butter and LOVE them both! (I wish they weren’t so expensive, though!) I have never had coconut milk or cream…but will definitely be on the lookout for the milk! YUM! 🙂

  6. Court and I have only tried the SO Delicious coconut ice-cream, but I am seriously dying to try the coconut bliss one now!!!

  7. YOU GOT IT SO THICK!!! WOW im impressed! ❤

  8. No way! Is your brother going on an LDS mission?

  9. Tried it, loved it, have extra cans of coconut milk for backup in the pantry.
    AMAZING stuff!

  10. Pingback: Coco-n-butter « Damjana Likes it Wholesome

  11. Pingback: Trader Joe’s Trip « CleanTeenKelsey

Leave a Reply

