Parfait, Please

Hey everyone,

Thanks for your kind comments on my last post. I am SO glad you liked the muffins and brownies! That makes me really happy, and they will be making a reappearance in this post. πŸ™‚

Today has been a very long, tiring day and I am exhausted. My morning started out with an incredible breakfast made with my leftover muffins/brownies and a batch of finally-successful protein ice cream!! As you know, I’ve had some troubles with it in the past. Yesterday, however, I thought I would try a new method:Β Katie’s Sir Mix-A-Lot trick. The verdict? It worked incredibly well! My first experiment was yesterday, and it was so successful that I tried it again today.

My protein shake, poured and frozen in two ice cube trays. In the shake:

  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder (Rainbow Light brand, since I ran out of Nutribiotic)
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • Stevia
  • ice

In the blender the next morning.

I added a little bit more almond milk, along with some xanthan/guar. I blended it up using the tamper, and voila!

Protein ice cream!

I was very excited, so I decided to make an ice cream parfait in my waning Coconut Butter jar. It was fabulous.

Layers 1 & 2: remaining Coconut Butter & leftover healthy brownie.


Layers 3 & 4: big scoop of protein ice cream and more brownie pieces.

(Pardon the chipped nail polish. It’s ugly, I apologize.)

Layers 5 & 6: remaining protein ice cream and almond butter! Topped off with cacao nibs. πŸ™‚

Holy cow, yet another amazing breakfast. It was so tasty! There really is something about melty ice cream and baked goods… they go unbelievably well together.

I was so happy with yesterday’s breakfast parfait that I decided to make another one today. I didn’t have a see-through container so I didn’t take layer pictures, but here’s the top.

Layer 1: Protein ice cream (same shake mix as the previous one)
Layer 2: Β Half of a healthy brownie, crumbled
Layer 3: More protein ice cream
Layer 4: Half of a muffin, crumbled
Layer 5: Protein ice cream
Layer 6: Toppings- crumbled other half of the muffin, almond butter, coconut flour and cacao nibs.

Wow oh wow. It tasted like birthday cake and ice cream, yum. This sounds incredibly decadent, and it was, but honestly it wasn’t any more indulgent than a typical breakfast. It may seem like it, but let me break it down for ya:

  • The protein ice cream was nothing more than a typical, low-cal/low-carb/low-fat protein shake. Because of the way I prepared it, however, it seemed more “decadent” and made almost three cups of ice cream.
  • Both the muffins and brownies were low-fat; they were also almost completely sweetened with stevia. They counted as my complex carbs of the meal.
  • The all-natural almond butter, coconut flour and cacao nibs added wonderful flavor and crunch, and they also served as my (typical) healthy fats.

There you have it. A wonderful, dessert-like breakfast that was definitely within my carbs/protein/fat ratio. πŸ™‚

All right, sorry for that little tangent. Moving right along.

After my fabulous breakfast, I took the dogs on a hot, sweaty walk/jog/run. I don’t typically enjoy running, but I kinda like it when I have my dogs beside me. They like to run, so they give me an encouragement boost. πŸ™‚

The plan was to go do weights at the gym next, but after running a bunch of mandatory errands and taking my brother to his friend’s house we realized we didn’t have enough time. I was very disappointed, but I got happier when we stopped at the Farmer’s Market! Here’s some of the stuff I got:

Cherry tomatoes.

Big tomatoes.

Cucumbers, zucchini and cabbage.

Squash!

While out and about I snacked on this dry-roasted edamame..

and this Lemon Ginger Gnu Bar.

Loved the texture; didn’t really love the flavor. It was okay, but I don’t think I’d buy it. πŸ˜›

We also went to Costco while we were out and picked up a huge container of organic blueberries! They were on sale. Yay. πŸ™‚

Following my Costco trip was an exhausting 2 hour dance class. Β It was really fun but I am definitely tired now! I can’t wait to sleep. πŸ™‚

Question of the Day: What is your favorite way to manipulate your breakfast so that it seems more decadent? One of my favorites is obviously protein ice cream, and I also really like tofu whipped cream. Protein powder pancakes are great, too.

Thanks for reading!


12 responses to “Parfait, Please

  1. I manipulate my breakfast to make it more gourmet by the way it looks on the plate presentation-wise. Sometimes adding a little sprinkling of stuff on top. Or by putting my toppings in small containers on the side.

    Protein ice cream and protein pancakes are awesome πŸ™‚

  2. spoonfulofsugarfree

    OH MY GOSH! I can’t tell you how excited I am to try this!!! HOly Guacaomole that looks sooooo good!!! I am screaming right now with joy!!!! πŸ˜‰

    But definitely my secret breakfast trick is oatmeal. Mix yummy stuff in it, put pretty stuff on top. You can make oatmeal taste like anything-especially dessert!

  3. Holy (vegan) cow! Your breakfast in a jar looks so FUN! And so creativo!

  4. My favorite (kinda boring) way to manipulate breakfast to make it more decadent is slathering it with Dark Chocoalte Dreams PB or Nutella and Fluff! Haha!

  5. I don’t have a vita-mix, but do you think a standard food processor could make protein ice cream? It says not to blend ice cubes… lol. Also, I have never heard of Rainbow Light protein powders so I looked it up and the ingredients list is impressive! All natural ingredients and sweetened with stevia… much better than the “Green Whey Pro-96” I am using now that I found out has sugar alcohol in it πŸ˜› I must order some of this stuff!

  6. Ohh wow, your breakfast looks AMAZING!
    I love adding cocoa powder to oatmeal, it makes it taste so chocolatey. And I bet I could demolish that blueberry container in a day!

  7. Mmmmm. That looked sooo good! Wow! I think I might try that in my Vita.

  8. teenagehealthfreak

    oo la la! cool breakfasts!!! i’m just obsessed with coconut in the morning..i love it…and cream-top yogurt. πŸ™‚

  9. altho it wont compare to this, im making my first oats in a jar tomorrow!! i cant wait!!
    wow you put a nice serving of almond butter in there!! mmmm what a perfect jar of energy hehe ❀

    ps. yes definitely post MORE MUFFINS!!

  10. K that breakfast parfait pretty much looks AMAZING! I’m definitely trying that sometime.
    For me, a little bit of coconut butter makes everything soo much more decadent. Mmm mm love that stuff.

  11. Whoa those look delicious!! I love “decadent”, healthy breakfasts. I usually add chocolate sauce or lots of fruit to make it seem mor decadent. I definitely need to give protein ice cream a try!

  12. Pingback: Catch-Up « CleanTeenKelsey

Leave a Reply

