Protein Post Numba Two

In honor of my recent protein post, I thought I should show you guys some of the ways I’ve been getting my protein. Most of these are made with protein powder, but what I can say? It’s tasty and it allows me to be creative. 🙂 Also, warning: there are a couple product reviews in this post. 🙂

For starters, Jay Robb recently sent me some products! I definitely should have taken a picture of the whole spread, but I was so excited that I forgot. What a ditz. I apologize. I’ll take pictures of what’s left soon.

My package included:

  • An awesome Jay Robb bag
  • A blender bottle
  • 5 Jay Robb whey protein samples in Vanilla, Chocolate, Strawberry, Pina Colada and Orange Dreamsicle
  • 3 Jay Robb Egg White protein samples in Vanilla, Chocolate and Strawberry
  • One of each of Jay Robb’s protein/energy bars: Peanut Butter, Fudge Brownie, Cashew-Coconut and YAMMIT! Almond Energy Bar

So kind and so generous. THANK YOU, Jay Robb!

I apologize for the lack of pictures, but I’ve been enjoying my samples very much. I was initially planning on only testing the brown rice and having my family test the others, but when Beth informed me that the brown rice was sold out I changed my mind. As much as I was looking forward to trying the brown rice, it’s my duty as a blogger to review the samples that are sent to me. I was fine with testing some and having my family test the others, but it didn’t feel right to not offer my opinion on anything. After a lot of contemplation and with that thought in mind, I decided let up on my whey restriction for these protein powders/bars. (Mind you, I only let up on the whey. I feel too strongly about not eating eggs to let that one slip by.)

A big part of my whey justification was the quality of the protein. All of Jay Robb‘s whey comes from farm-raised, pasture-grazed, grass-fed cows not treated with the synthetic bovine growth hormone rBGH. I find that highly admirable, and if I’m going to consume any sort of animal product I want it to be to that standard.

Along with high whey standards, Jay Robb also focuses on completely natural ingredients. Sweetened with stevia and thickened with xanthan gum, Jay Robb claims to be “the best-tasting protein on the planet.” You will never EVER find anything artificial in this protein powder; it is low-carb, high-quality stuff.

As I mentioned before, I received 5 different flavors of their whey powder. The one that intrigued me the most was Pina Colada, so with that I created an island-inspired treat.

  • 1 package Jay Robb Pina Colada protein powder
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 scoop (1/4 cup?) coconut milk ice cream (Wait, what’s this?! :P)
  • Ice
  • Xanthan/Guar gum
  • Coconut butter for topping

Typically I stay away from more adventurous flavors because they’re artificial, but Jay Robb claims that even their “natural flavors” are completely natural. I wish they would list the individual ingredients, but oh well.

Doesn’t look like much, but I promise it was ahh-maaazing. I tried some of the powder mixed with almond milk and that was great, too. It had a very coconutty-pineappley taste without me adding anything.

The next one I used was vanilla. I decided to put it in my unpictured Green Monster and it yielded a very SWEET result. I literally found myself digging for the tartest cherries I could find just to tone it down a bit. Crazy. I guess it could be due to the fact that I’ve been using a chalky, unsweetened protein powder for the last few months. I’ve become very accustomed to it, so perhaps my taste buds just weren’t prepared for something different. Interesting.

Following that one I tried strawberry. Keeping in mind its extreme sweetness, I decided to add cocoa powder to the mix.

  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 package Jay Robb Strawberry
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • Ice
  • Xanthan/Guar
  • Cacao nibs on top, peanut butter on bottom

Strawberry, chocolate AND PB? I wanted to love it, but unfortunately this powder was just “pretty good.” It had a slightly artificial aftertaste to it but other than that it wasn’t too bad. Jay Robb makes incredibly smooth, creamy, voluminous shakes so it’s hard to be disappointed.

I also used the chocolate in an unpictured chocolate shake. It was pretty basic and nothing special, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 package Jay Robb chocolate protein powder
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder (to tone down the sweetness yet again)
  • Ice
  • Xanthan/Guar

Yum. Not over-the-top amazing, but it was still really good. Like I said before, it’s hard NOT to like Jay Robb’s thick, creamy shakes. I’m definitely a fan.

The last one I tried was the Orange Dreamsicle. My mom loves that flavor so I let her have it, but I still managed to get a sip. We were both really, really happy. It, too, was delicious on its own and required no additional blend-ins. Hooray. 🙂

Thanks again, Jay Robb. My review of the bars and (Mom’s) review of the egg white powder is coming soon!

As the last review in this post, I was recently contacted by a company called Lenny & Larry’s. They make brownies that are packed with protein, yet they still taste incredible. Their tagline is “Eat Brownies, Get Muscle” and each brownie contains 20g protein.

Unfortunately for me, their brownies contain a lot of animal-derived, unnatural ingredients. Fortunately for my brother, he doesn’t care! He is very much into working out and lifting, so I thought these would be the perfect things for him to test.

He received three flavors: Triple Chocolate, Peanut Butter and Cookies & Cream. The stats aren’t too bad (note that serving size is 1/2 a brownie) but the ingredients list is too long to post. To their credit, Lenny’s and Larry’s ingredients are not as bad as they could be. They pride themselves on being preservative-, sugar alcohol- and collagen-free, but they still contain things like corn starch, corn syrup, powdered sugar, and mono/diglycerides.

The first brownie Brady tried was the Triple Chocolate Brownie. (Click on the link to see stats/ingredients.)

His thoughts: “Really good, I enjoyed the texture. It had a yummy aftertaste and I was sad when it was gone. It tasted a LITTLE bit like a diet brownie, but it didn’t affect my overall opinion.”

The next one was the Peanut Butter Brownie.

He had nothing but positive things to say about this one: “This is really good. It’s better than the chocolate one and is enjoyable to bite into. It makes me feel happy inside and doesn’t taste diet at all. It’s like, a legit thing you’d want to go and buy for a chocolate snack. Man, that was freaking good.” He’s so funny. 🙂

The last one was the Cookies & Cream Brownie.

Brady’s thoughts: “This one was probably my favorite. It had an awesome texture and I loved the icing on the top. It was really good.”

My mom also tried this brownie and she thought very highly of it: “This is really good! This does not taste diet at all and I really like it.”

In addition to the Muscle Brownies, Lenny and Larry’s also makes something called The Complete Cookie. It’s vegan, “all-natural,” and contains 15g protein in the whole cookie.

As far as being all-natural, I’m not sure I can completely agree. It could definitely be worse and the ingredients are mostly-recognizable, but some are still refined and not-so-great.

Ingredients:

“Enriched Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour [Unbleached], Niacin, Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Brown Sugar, Non-Hydrogenated Margarine [Expeller-Pressed Oils (Soybean, Palm Fruit, Canola, Olive), Water, Salt, Natural Flavor, Soy Protein, Soy Lecithin, Lactic Acid, Natural Beta-Carotene for color], Non Dairy Chocolate Chips (Chocolate Liqueur, Sugar, Soy Lecithin, Vanilla) Water, Wheat Gluten, Soy Protein Isolate, Wheat Protein, Oat Fiber, Natural Vanilla Flavor, Baking Soda, Salt.

Like I said before, not too bad, but it could be better and shorter.

Stats:

Nutrition Facts

Serving Size 2.0oz (56.5g)
Amount Per Serving % Daily Value *
Calories 204 Calories from Fat 54g
Total Fat 6g 9%
Saturated Fat 1.25g 6%
Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol 0mg 0%
Sodium 255mg 11%
Total Carbohydrate 30g 10%
Dietary Fiber 2.5g 10%
Sugars 16g
Protein 7.5g 15%
Vitamin A 2%
Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 7%
Iron 10%

This cookie is pretty big! That’s a normal napkin and it was almost the same size.

It was really, really good. It’s been a long time since I’ve had a chocolate chip cookie and this definitely impressed me. It was soft, chewy and better than I thought it’d be.

I created a protein-packed bowl by breaking up the cookie and topping it with Katie’s whipped cream.

Uhh YUM. Cookie, tofu whipped cream, peanut butter and cacao nibs = delicious. I really enjoyed this.

My last protein-related thing was more protein shake overnight oats. In the protein shake:

  • My last scoop of Nutribiotic chocolate
  • 1 cup chocolate almond breeze
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • NuNaturals No-Carb NuStevia Blend (P.S. I LOVE this Stevia brand! It’s incredible. More on that in a later post)
  • Ice
  • Xanthan/guar

Combine protein shake with 1/2 cup rolled oats, cacao nibs, 1 tsp coconut oil and 1 tsp ground flax seed. Let sit overnight. In the morning top with coconutty goodness (review coming soon!) and coconut butter. DEVOUR.

Beautiful, tasty and protein-packed. I was doing a calculation recently and I figured out that my typical oatmeal breakfast contains 36g of protein! 7g from the oats, 1g from the almond milk, 4g from the peanut butter and 24g from the protein powder. How awesome is that? Even without the powder it still contains 12g, which I think is so great. 🙂

My new favorite summery salad. 🙂

  • Tomatoes
  • Cucumbers
  • Black beans (<–protein)
  • Dressing of hummus + balsamic vinegar + sea salt + water to thin
  • And a new addition: avocado!

Way good. 🙂

Woops, how did that get in there? 😉

All right friends, that is all for today. I’ve been having some fun in the kitchen recently that I can’t wait to tell you about.

Thanks for reading!

11 responses to “Protein Post Numba Two

  1. Goodness, girl! You sure do have the protein thing down! 🙂

  2. why am i so obsessed with protein posts!!! ❤

    omg protein brownies has to be the most fabulous idea! i agree with Katie, no one does protein like Kelsey (sorry, i was referring to ME haha JK) seriously tho, ur muscles are thanking you for the protein goodness ❤

  3. Loved the reviews! I like jay robbs stuff!

  4. spoonfulofsugarfree

    Nice reviews! My dad used to take his protein powder a looong time ago (well, like 5 yrs), so His powders have been around for a while…

  5. Reading this post makes me want to buy some Jay Robb’s and make some shakes! Haha! Maybe I can get my mom to take me to the store… 😉

  6. The chocolate stripe muffins look awesome!

    That’s a really cool Jay Robb package. I’ve been wanting to try it for awhile but just haven’t yet. I love those shaker cups though 🙂

  7. Len&larrys brownies and brownies are the best! have you tried the PB one yet. That one is my fav 😉 Oh, and props to you for such a protein packed breakfast!!!

  8. Pingback: Cream of the Coconut « CleanTeenKelsey

  9. Pingback: Catch-Up « CleanTeenKelsey

  10. Pingback: Return of the Pesto | CleanTeenKelsey

  11. Those protein brownies sound and look SO good!!! About the same nutr. stats as a Luna too; love that! I’ve been looking to try Jay Robb’s protein powders actually so I’m really glad I found this post!

Leave a Reply

