Farmer’s Market Fail. :)

Remember how I told you I’d be taking a trip to the Farmer’s Market this week? Well, today it happened! Hooray!

Because of various errands and such, we didn’t get there till about 20 minutes till close. I was pretty disappointed, cause I’d been looking forward to it for over two weeks, but oh well. I guess it happens and I can always go next week. 🙂

I did manage to get a few pictures before the vendors packed away, and we also got to try a few samples. Here’s a few of the food vendors as you walk in.

In the top picture, that first booth to the left was selling some amazing spreads! They had a pesto, a tapenade, a sun-dried tomato spread and hummus. I tried them all except the pesto (I guessed there would be dairy) and they were wonderful.

The booth directly across from it was selling incredible homemade lavender soaps. I could’ve sniffed there all day, no lie.

Another booth a little ways down was selling candied nuts. The guy practically shoved a sample in my face, and I ate it without even realizing it.

I definitely realized it afterwards. Those things were SWEET, and not necessarily in a good way. I was intrigued by both the Lavender and Coconut flavors though, so I tried a sample of each. I should’ve known the coconut would be even sweeter than the first (cinnamon vanilla), but the lavender flavor was kind of muted. Interesting.

We headed down past some other vendors and into the produce area.

Like I said before, most everyone was packing up and/or sold out, but we did manage to get a few cucumbers. Hopefully next week will be better. 🙂

Lunch was an interesting “salad.”

I sauteed black beans, tomatoes and spices in a little pan, then added lemon juice and a whole bunch of spinach. Once the spinach had wilted, I put it all on top a bed of romaine. It sounds pretty good, but the spinach + romaine was a little too much. It needed a little variety. If it had been a veggie mix (broccoli, peppers, zucchini, squash, carrots, etc.) it would’ve been better, but there were just a tad too many leafy greens in this bowl. Pretty odd for a girl that likes HUGE salads.

Dinner was something I just randomly whipped up. I got out my little rice cooker and tossed in:

  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup frozen corn (didn’t measure, just poured :D)
  • 1/2 cup black beans
  • 1 can diced tomatoes in juice
  • 1/2 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 large carrot, chopped
  • chili powder
  • onion powder
  • cumin
  • Mrs. Dash Southwest Chipotle mix
  • Vita-Mix Tortilla Soup seasoning
  • sea salt

and let it cook for about 5 hours! When I got home from running errands, dinner was ready. Yum. 🙂

Along with our dinner, I added a little veggie-love.

Roasted zucchini and broccoli. I should’ve made more.. almost a head of broccoli and a whole zucchini is not enough for the two of us!

My mom’s bowl of soup/stew. Notice the pile of ground beef underneath. When I told her I’d made the soup for both of us, she said “Oh, how nice! Would you be offended if I cooked up some meat and added it to your soup?” Lol. No Mom, no I would not be offended. I appreciate you being thoughtful though. 🙂

My bowl, sans meat, topped with nutritional yeast. 🙂

Aaand my plate of veggies.

I repeat: not enough for this veggie-lovin’ girl.

I’ve been kinda lazy with picture-taking, so that’s all the food pics I have for ya. However, I DO have some pictures of a few samples I was sent to test. 🙂

A little while back, the kind people at Raw Revolution sent me an incredible package of bars to sample and review!

All of Raw Revolutions bars are raworganic, gluten-free, vegan, and wheat, corn, soy, trans-fat, cholesterol and refined sugar free. That’s quite an awesome list of credentials!

“Raw, living foods are clean, and have higher nutrient content than cooked food. Processed foods such as protein isolates and grain based fillers are acidic and cause fermentation in the body. Raw Organic foods are closest to their natural state, bringing us closer to healing ourselves and the global ecology.”

Raw, alive, natural, organic and tasty! How wonderful. 🙂

Just look at all that! I received..

  • Coconut & Agave Nectar
  • Spirulina & Cashew
  • Chocolate & Cashew
  • Hazelnut & Chocolate
  • Raspberry & Chocolate
  • Cashew & Agave Nectar
  • Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough
  • Tropical Mango
  • Chocolate & Coconut

Plus THREE of each of their new Green Superfood bars!

  • Tropical Banana
  • Apple Cinnamon
  • Lemon Dew

Wow! Thank you, Raw Revolution.

The first bar I tried was the Raspberry Chocolate, which you saw here.

Ingredients: CASHEW, DATES, AGAVE NECTAR, COCOA PROCESSED WITH ALKALI, ALMONDS, RASPBERRY POWDER, SPROUTED FLAX SEED

My thoughts: This bar was delicious! The raspberry flavor was a little muted and not as strong as I anticipated, but it was totally fine. The bar was delicious anyway and I really, really enjoyed it.

Next up, Spirulina & Cashew.

Ingredients: CASHEWS, DATES, AGAVE NECTAR, ALMONDS, SPIRULINA POWDER, SPROUTED FLAX SEED

My thoughts: This bar was wonderful! At first all I could taste was the cashews, but as I kept going it changed. I was able to taste every wonderful flavor in the bar and it was really great. My favorite part was that it wasn’t too sweet–some bars send your blood sugar skyrocketing, and I really feel like this one didn’t. It was a very neutral, natural sweetness that I really enjoyed. I was also a huge fan of the amount of spirulina it packed.

The next three I tried were of the new Organic Green Superfood line. Each bar boasts hemp protein, sprouted flax seeds (whoa, cool!), sunflower seeds and eight super green foods.

Lemon Dew:

Ingredients: Organic Dates, Organic Sunflower Seed Kernels, Organic Hemp Protein, Organic Agave Nectar, Organic Lemon Powder, Organic Sprouted Flax Seed Powder, Organic Lemon Extract, Organic Wheat Grass Powder, Organic Spirulina Powder, Organic Spinach Powder, Organic Oat Grass Powder, Organic Kale Powder, Organic Broccoli Powder, Organic Barley Grass Powder, Organic Broken Cell Wall Chlorella Powder.

My thoughts: This flavor was very interesting, and at first I wasn’t entirely sold. It took a few bites for me to understand the flavor, then a few more for me to decide whether or not I liked it. Rest assured the verdict was a positive one, but I can see how it may not be for everyone.

Tropical Banana:

Ingredients: Organic Dried Bananas, Organic Dates, Organic Sunflower Seed Kernels, Organic Hemp Protein, Organic Agave Nectar, Organic Sprouted Flax Seed Powder, Organic Wheat Grass Powder, Organic Spirulina Powder, Organic Spinach Powder, Organic Oat Grass Powder, Organic Kale Powder, Organic Broccoli Powder, Organic Barley Grass Powder, Organic Broken Cell Wall Chlorella Powder.

My thoughts: This bar was yummy and tasted a lot like banana bread, but it was just a little on the sweet side. In my opinion bananas, dates AND agave nectar (three natural sweeteners) is a little much. But what do I know? 🙂 This bar was still delicious and I would certainly buy it–I would just probably eat it as dessert next time. 🙂

Apple Cinnamon:

Ingredients: Organic Dates, Organic Dried Apples, Organic Sunflower Seed Kernels, Organic Cinnamon, Organic Hemp Protein, Organic Agave Nectar, Organic Sprouted Flax Seed Powder, Organic Wheat Grass Powder, Organic Spirulina Powder, Organic Spinach Powder, Organic Oat Grass Powder, Organic Kale Powder, Organic Broccoli Powder, Organic Barley Grass Powder, Organic Broken Cell Wall Chlorella Powder.

My thoughts: I liked this one. The cinnamon flavor was strong, but it was really enjoyable. There were little apple chunks throughout the bar which made it a very pleasant chewing experience. 🙂 Pretty good.

Well, those are all the Raw Rev bars I have sampled thus far. I will be back with more flavor reviews as I try them! 🙂

Oh yeah, Gnu Bars also sent me some bars to try! They were very kind as well. So far the only ones I’ve had are the Banana Walnut and the Chocolate Brownie.

Banana Walnut:

“Chock full of delicious bananas and chunky walnuts, the aroma and taste will remind you of fresh, home-baked banana bread.”

Ingredients: Gnu High Fiber Blend™ (whole rolled oats, organic whole wheat flour, wheat bran, organic kamut, psyllium, flax, millet), chicory root inulin, fruit juices, rice dextrins, apples, canola oil, walnuts, rice, plums, bananas, wheat protein isolate, natural flavors, baking powder.

Topped with almond butter. Oh, this bar was truly wonderful. It reminded me of banana bread initially, but then the walnuts added a completely different dimension. The almond butter on top was also fab. 🙂

Chocolate Brownie:

“Rich with smooth, dark cocoa blended with real chocolate chips, Chocolate Brownie Gnu Bars taste more like a moist fudge brownie than a healthy snack—and they’re not too sweet.”

Ingredients: Gnu High Fiber Blend™ (whole rolled oats, organic whole wheat flour, wheat bran, organic kamut, psyllium, flax, millet), chicory root inulin, fruit juices, rice dextrins, dark chocolate chips (chocolate, cane sugar, lecithin, vanilla), cocoa powder, canola oil, plums, rice, wheat protein isolate, natural flavors, baking powder.

The description above is absolutely perfect. It does, indeed, taste like a decadent fudge brownie, but it is isn’t overpoweringly sweet. It’s the best of both worlds and I really enjoyed it. I was actually at a birthday party when I ate it and it was the perfect substitute for a piece of chocolate cake. The only thing missing was a tablespoon of peanut butter. 😉

This tired girl is off to bed! I will try to get one more post up tomorrow (Sunday) and then I will be gone for the WHOLE week. Yup. Monday-Saturday, no internet access whatsoever. I will still be reading your blogs from my phone, but I won’t be able to post again till at least next Sunday. Sad day. 😦

Question of the Day 1: What’s the longest you’ve had to go without internet? What did you miss the most?

Question of the Day 2: What’s your favorite on-the-go snack? My favorite thing to quickly grab is a bar (I’ve been switching off between the above brands and Bora Bora) and a baggie of dry-roasted edamame. Portable carbs, protein and fat. Perfect!

Question of the Day 3: Have you ever been looking forward to something for a while, only to be a bit disappointed with the outcome? It definitely happens and we just gotta deal with it. 🙂 What was your situation? What are you looking forward to right now?

Thanks for reading!



14 responses to “Farmer’s Market Fail. :)

  1. My new fave on-the-go snacks are LaraBars! I just wish they came in a family pack of 6 for $2.99 like the cheapo granola bars at the grocery store. Oh well, I guess you are getting what you pay for!

  2. Aww, that’s so nice of your Mom to ask. 🙂

    Q1: Three weeks probably, because I was in Italy. That way back when MySpace was the thing, so that’s what I missed most.

    Q2: Apples & Oranges! They’re the most satisfying for me. I’m also a watermelon addict. Or little bowls to cereal.

    Q3: I was looking forward to getting my ACT scores back! But, my overall score went down a point. . . Reading improved! But I wish the composite score was higher . . . Right now, I’m looking forward to my Business & Entrepreneurship camp in NYC! I’ve never been before. 😀

  3. The bars look so good…with so many flavors! I think the longest I’ve gone without an internet is about a week as well. Back then we didn’t have phones that could check the internet, so I really was internet-less! It really made me appreciate the technology we have though.

  4. healthyhelper

    im looking forward to the trips i am taking this summer (nyc and china!!!). oh and those gnu bars are awesome! i have tried eveyr flavor and absolutely love the banana walnut, cinnamon raisin (tastes just like an oatmeal cookie!), and the peanut butter! YUMMMMM. enjoy your vacay! where are ya headin?

  5. teenagehealthfreak

    I’m sorry your farmers market trip didn’t go as you had thought,,,but there’s always next week. 🙂 and I hope you have a fun, safe trip wherever you are going.

  6. omg I AM SO JEALOUS OF YOU RIGHT NOW U HAVE NO IDEA! share the goods with meeee lol. i always miss those raw bars because we sold them here for a month but i was probably the only one who bought them because they didnt order them in ever again! it took a trip out to see my grandma for me to find them in a little health food store. the spirulina was my favorite!!

    omg and they sent u the newer ones too!! LUCKYYY! hey u deserve it tho! let me know what u think of the spirulina one!

    im gonna post my organic festival photos tomorrow, but this little market thing u went to looked kind of similar, same white tents and all 🙂

  7. Does I rice cooker basically work like a crockpot? I’ve been thinking about buying one or the other, but I’m not sure what the differences are… That stew/soup looks SO good!!!

  8. I love samples at the farmer’s market! Hopefully next time will be better for you though. And your veggie-licious dinner looks awesome!!

  9. ive always wanted to try those RAW bars! your reviews rock tho- the banana sounds great to me!

  10. I”ve been to that farmers market!! I”m sorry you didn’t get there until close to closing. I hope you can go back!

    I went to Froots and tried the Go-Go veggie wrap, with hummus instead of blue cheese as you suggested. It was great! Thanks for the wonderful suggestion.

    I really want to try those raw revolution bars. Can’t wait to here about the other flavors.

  11. Hi, hope it’s OK to contact you here. We would love to include your blog on our giveaway search engine: Giveaway Scout (http://www.giveawayscout.com). Have a look and if interested, use our online form to add your blog (http://www.giveawayscout.com/addblog/ ). thanks, Josh

  12. Sara Christiansen

    We’ve been to that Farmer’s Market before and found it to be rather disappointing. Especially if you’re just looking for some good old fashioned fruits and veggies. There’s another one that we’ve been to that has much more of the old fashioned style farmer’s market, not so hoity toity. 🙂 It’s on Saturdays in the Michaels’ parking lot, right off the freeway. 🙂

  13. Pingback: Catch-Up « CleanTeenKelsey

  14. I’ve had similar experiences with my local farmers’ market – it closes at 1pm and although my mom can get me anywhere anytime on a school morning, Saturdays are too much, I guess. I’ve ended up bothering my parents all morning about it, and then arriving so late there’s nothing good left to buy. (Can’t wait till I can drive!) The market near me is small, selling basic goods like amazingly fresh produce with special varieties, too; local honey; flowers; baked goods and breads; free-range organic meat and eggs; goat milk soaps, and it’s open April-Dec. Sometimes I’ve wished I could visit a market that is larger and open longer, but mine is just wonderful. How far away is your market?

    Anyway, I have to admit, I’m jealous of these reviews, girl! Mostly because I want healthy free stuff, too, but I don’t blog about food stuff anymore (or blog much about anything!). Your blog has grown a lot, Kelsey!

Leave a Reply

