The Most Creative Meal of the Day

Hey everyone!

I’m so glad you enjoyed the Dr. Kracker review and giveaway. The crackers are WONDERFUL and I can’t wait for you to try them. Also, I apologize for my attempted eloquence in that post. I read through it again and couldn’t stop laughing. It was late and I was tired–enough said. 😛

Moving on. I think I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. I, myself, am not a creative person, but somehow in the morning my mind is filled with inspiration. Visions of sugar plums incredible breakfasts dance in my head and I am usually quite happy with the results.

Sometimes, however, my ideas don’t turn out as I intended. Take my breakfast yesterday, for instance. I’d seen April write about oatmeal protein shake parfaits, so I thought I would give it a shot.

I cooked up 1/3 cup oatmeal the 2x Oats way, then let it thicken up. While it was doing so, I blended one peach with a little bit of ice and almond milk, layered it all in a glass and topped it with a tablespoon of almond butter.

The result was something I was less than pleased with. It just didn’t do it for me and I’m not sure why. It was just a little odd. 😦

The peach “shake” was yummy, but it didn’t taste right with the squishy, cooked oats. :/

Like I said before, I have gotten lucky a few times. One of my most successful breakfasts was the result of needed protein. I blended the last two pieces of my cheesecake with some almond milk and a scoop of chocolate protein powder, then topped it with the best tablespoon of peanut butter EVER. (Okay, it was really no different than any other tablespoon, but it really made this breakfast amazing.)

Without flash:

With flash:

Topped with a drizzle-y tablespoon of peanut butter and cacao nibs.

Banana Chocolate Peanut Butter Mousse?! Yes, please! So amazingly good. This was the best breakfast I’ve had in a long time. (read: Since the Overnight Galaxy Granola.) There was peanut butter in every bite. ❤

Yes, those are my plaid pajama pants in the background. Don’t judge.

My dinner that night was pretty good too. I had two pieces of toasted Ezekiel bread topped with spinach, homemade tomato sauce, black beans and nutritional yeast.

The homemade tomato sauce definitely was the hardest part of this meal. I only had canned tomatoes, so I had to use a fork to press the liquid out of all the tomatoes It was ridiculous and took forever! After the liquid was pressed out, I stirred in onion powder, italian seasoning and some sea salt. It was interesting and I probably wouldn’t do it again, haha.

Lunch on another day was a simple salad: romaine, tomato, cucumbers, chickpeas and nutritional yeast. I also had a juicy peach. 🙂

Dinner was huge but truly wonderful. I had steamed cauliflower and carrots, leftover sweet potato fries and a grilled veggie burger wrap.  In the wrap was my leftover veggie burger, tomatoes, cucumbers and Gena’s Dilly Avocado Spread, which I believe I’ve linked enough. 😛

My late-night snack was a SIAB consisting of:

  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder (we restocked, yes!)
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • ice
  • stevia (!)
  • topped with cacao nibs and a peanut butter sauce

Yeahhh man. Oh, and in case you didn’t notice, the stevia is a new product! I received some to review yesterday and I will write about it in a little while. I can’t wait. 🙂

Question of the Day 1: Do you enjoy being creative with your breakfasts? Obviously  I do. 🙂 What have been some or your best and worst experiments?

Question of the Day 2: Have you entered my Dr. Kracker giveaway yet? If not, you should!

Thanks for reading!

18 responses to “The Most Creative Meal of the Day

  1. Maybe the oatmeal would go better with peach and some Greek yoghurt?

  2. Hey! Wow you sound just like me I try to get creative with my breakfasts alllllll the time especially my oats and sometimes it can be a fail but sometimes it’s my new obsession! Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day to because I love all the ideas from the blog world that you can find and put your own twist on! My name is Ashley by the way and my blog is chewingoncherries.wordpress.com I’ll definatly enter your giveaway! Your eats look soooo delicious!

  3. that is very strange! strange but you KNOW its yummy!!

    sometimes i can get adventurous with my breakfast.. i think the strangest combo was a warm fruit salad with soy milk and fresh pressed hot coffee. it was really yummy tho!

    happy fridDddDdaY

  4. I can totally relate to the smoothie dealio, I have some serious failures in the kitchen when it comes to my blender 😛 Your combo sounds amazing, though, maybe it just needs some tweaks? I always try adding pumpkin to my smoothies, and they somehow always taste like garbage, blech. Somehow frozen bananas always save my smoothies, though 🙂

    Enjoy your day!

  5. Your Banana Peanut Butter Chocolate Mousse has me drooling. I gotta make this ASAP!

    My most creative breakfast would have to be the Almond and Flaxseed Crusted french toast I made for my father on Father’s Day. I used Pepperidge Farms Cinnamon Swirl Bread and after dipping it in a bath of: egg whites, cinnamon, sugar, and almond milk, I dipped one side of the bread onto a plate of flaxseed and sliced almonds. My dad gobbled them up!

  6. Without flash, no question. . . This morning I made grapefruit brulee! That was pretty tasty. I don’t have a “go-to” breakfast, everyday is totally different. Breakfast is my favorite meal too. 🙂

  7. Breakfast is my favorite meal BY FAR. Seriously, I could eat it for every meal… I’d just have to figure out how to work more veggies in for my crazy veg cravings haha. I’m not creative, either, but breakfast always inspires me. With the smoothie issue, I think your problem might have been cooking the oats first. When I’ve seen smoothies with oats before, usually people don’t cook them so they work like a thickner. I really can’t wait for your veggie burger recipe, girlie; you’re such a tease ;)! By the way, great idea with the black beans. I just cooked up a huge batch (if you haven’t made your own beans, you absolutely must–they’re DELICIOUS!) and have been wondering what the heck I’m going to do with them.

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  8. teenagehealthfreak

    i just like to make grains for breakfast. 🙂 with fruit combinations..by far the best has been mango/coconut!!! :)..and strawberry/grape/pomegranite

  9. I’ve been having fun with peaches lately! Or..well..yesterday at least..since that was the only peach left in the fridge. Experimenting with food is oh-so-fun, but yeah, it can be disastrous. I think I tried making my own bean burger once, and I added too much tofu into the blender and the patties turned out kind of soft 😦

    BUT! The best lessons you learn are from your own mistakes right? 😉

  10. I made a peach smoothie today and did not like it at all! I think peaches are good by themselves, but maybe not sweet enough for a smoothie? I gotta have banana in mine.
    Your late night SIAB looks yummyy!

  11. You probably already know… but breakfast is both mine and Whits favorite meal of the day as well! Our best experiments have probably been with overnight oats… but our worse is definitely pancakes. I recently tried to use coconut flour and kefir to try to make a pancake mix and it was a complete DISASTER! We got the same Dr. Kracker package as you. Which flavor was your favorite?
    -Court
    P.S. Whit and I are going to rent Minor Details this weekend!

  12. That’s awesome that we’ve both been to Froots. I really liked the hummus in the Mediterranean wrap so I”m sure I”d love it in place of the blue cheese in the Go-Go veggie. That would be espicially good as I try not to eat too much dairy.
    I certainly enjoy being creative with my breakfast but recently it seems like I”ve been in a rut of always having a piece of Ezekial toast with cashew butter and maybe some fruit. I really need to get more creative, huh? There’s so many kinds of oats, smoothies, scrambles, ect to be had!

  13. I’m kind of obsessed with breakfast. Sometimes I’ll actually lay in bed at night thinking up concoctions for the morning. 🙂 My best is probably frozen bananas/raw oats/peanut butter – and for worst, I’ve created some pretty weird smoothies.

  14. Banana chocolate peanut butter mousse? Ah yes, I would love some of that for breakfast…and lunch…dinner too. Sounds amazing Kelsey. In fact everything does, even down to that yummy looking peach. Love summer fruits!

    Hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend. 🙂

  15. I always have ideas for breakfast– generally very fancy. But once I wake up, and I’m HUNGRY I always seem to revert back to my usual standby: fruit and hot cereal. Yesterday, however was probably the weirdest thing I’ve made yet. I tried to make stevia sweetened pancakes with hemp protien powder. they wern’t very sweet, and the protein powder had this odd minty taste. Oh, and I put in a spoonful of canned pumpkin (tasted wrong). I ate the pancakes anyway, becuase I was hungry and they tasted kinda fine with agave nectar on them!
    VEGirl

  16. OH no to you not liking the shake!! Well, it is a soggy texture so I can’t blame ya 😉

  17. btw. regular mustard works just as good. had to add the stone ground one in since i said ‘raw’ and i was like “hmmmm guess i better stick to that without false advertising” lol

    XOXO

  18. Pingback: Parfait, Please « CleanTeenKelsey

Leave a Reply

