Dr. Kracker Review & Giveaway!

Have you ever heard of Dr. Kracker? If you haven’t, you should.

Dr. Kracker is a company based out of Dallas, TX (like a certain person I know) that makes scrumptious, unprecedented artisan “krackers.” On their website it says “Dr. Kracker produces a line of deliciously wholesome, stupendously satisfying organic Flatbreads, Snacker Krackers, Snack Chips and Snack Flats.”

Their mission is simple: “[to] make good-for-you food that tastes good.” All their Flatbreads and Snacker Krackers are 100% natural, USDA certified organic and made with whole grains and seeds. None of them contain trans fats.

These yeast-leavened, artisan-baked crackers are nutritionally dense and are packed with good-for-you ingredients. “Because we make our crackers with organically grown cereal grains, whole, mineral-rich bran, and organic seeds, aside from being stupendously delicious, they’re also an excellent source of fiber, protein, Omega-3 essential fatty acids, vitamins and iron.”

If you’re interested in the history of how Dr. Kracker came to be, click here. It’s actually very interesting and I recommend you give it a read. 🙂

George Eckrich, Dr. Kracker himself, very kindly sent me a variety of flavors to test. I received several packages of the Culinary Crisps in Seedlander, Seeded Spelt, Apple Crisp, Cherry Semolina, Fire-Roasted and Hummus Maximus. I also received two packages of the Flatbreads in Klassic 3-Seed and Pumpkin Seed Cheddar.

Flatbreads-

Klassic 3-Seed Flatbread:

“In Germany, flax, sunflower, and sesame seeds are a classic mix for crusty breakfast rolls. Our cracker version of this old-world staple, with its distinct, nutty flax flavor, is an excellent base for nut butters, cheeses, avocado, and deli meats.”

Ingredients: organic whole wheat flour, organic wheat flour, filtered water, organic oats, organic sunflower seeds, organic flaxseeds, sea salt, organic sesame seeds, yeast, organic barley malt syrup

Upon pulling this flatbread out of the package, the first thing I noticed was its thickness. This is not a wimpy Kracker! I’d say it’s about two times thicker than a graham cracker, to give you a point of reference. The next thing I noticed was its speckled exterior. A cornucopia of seeds adorn the top, namely flax, sunflower and sesame. (<—Haha, that was a fun sentence to write. :D)

(source)

As you can see, the flatbread itself is rather large. I attempted to break a piece off and it was much harder than I expected. After another attempt with a little more effort, the piece came off. I bit into it, and my first thought was “hearty.” It is hearty indeed, as well as crispy and dense. The sunflower seed taste is very evident and I enjoyed it a lot.

My favorite way to eat it is topped with a spread. I have yet to try it with hummus, but peanut butter and Gena’s amazing spread have been recurring accompaniments.

Pumpkin Seed Cheddar Flatbread:

“We toast this cracker while it’s baking to coax the “wow” out of those delicious organic pumpkin seeds, and to get that the most out of that unique, extra-crispy toasted cheddar flavor. Absolutely delicious.”

Ingredients: organic whole wheat flour, organic wheat flour, filtered water, organic cheddar cheese (organic pasteurized milk, hannilase enzyme, salt, cultures), organic pumpkin seeds, organic oats, organic sunflower seeds, organic flaxseeds, sea salt, organic sesame seeds, yeast, organic barley malt syrup

These, like the Klassic 3-Seed, are very crunchy and crispy. They were also hard to break, but I consider that a positive thing. They hold your toppings well and don’t get soggy under spreads.

I tried a little piece of this–knowing I’d regret the dairy later–because I was intrigued by the flavor combination. The pumpkin seeds were slightly overwhelmed by the cheddar, but the cheddar had a distinct roasted taste which I enjoyed. It must’ve come from Dr. Kracker’s special artisan baking method.

My mom also tried this flatbread and she really enjoyed it. She liked the unique flavor profiles and appreciated the pumpkin seeds on top.

Culinary Crisps –
(Essentially thinner, smaller flatbread squares)

Fire-Roasted Culinary Crisps:

“Tart sundried tomatoes and rich sweet potatoes, blended with black sesame seeds, chili peppers and organic cheddar cheese.”

Ingredients: organic whole wheat flour, filtered water, organic wheat flour, cheddar cheese (pastuerized milk, hannilase enzyme, salt, cultures), sun dried tomato, sweet potato, red jalapenos pepper, black sesame seed, organic flaxseeds, organic quinoa, organic sunflower seeds, yeast, sea salt, fresh basil, olive oil, garlic

As much as I enjoyed the Pumpkin Seed Cheddar flatbread, due to my recent inability to digest dairy I had an upset stomach the next day. I then planned to not test the Fire-Roasted Crisps, but the ingredients list made me change my mind. Sun-dried tomatoes, sweet potatoes and quinoa are all things I adore, and I couldn’t in good conscience let them go untested.

The first bite reminded me of pizza. It’s been quite a while since I’ve had “real” pizza, but if my memory holds true, Fire-Roasted Crisps taste just like it. The next bite was a bit spicier; not hot by any means, but it had more of a kick to it. Finally, the third bite tasted strongly of sesame seeds. That can be a good or bad thing, depending on your opinion. My mom also thoroughly enjoyed this cracker.

Seeded Spelt:

“Rich, buttery organic sunflower seeds blend fantastically with nutty, earthy organic sesame seeds. Organic spelt flour provides a slightly sweeter flavor than usual wheat flour, making this extra crisp cracker especially delicious all by itself or (George says) with peanut and almond butters, jam or marmalade.”

Ingredients: organic spelt flour, filtered water, organic sunflower seeds, organic sesame seeds, organic flaxseeds, organic spelt bran, sea salt, yeast, organic barley malt syrup

George’s description of this cracker above sums it up perfectly. Although its ingredients are nearly identical to those of the Klassic 3-Seed, the use of spelt flour in place of whole wheat flour lends a different flavor. It’s slightly heartier and denser, and it lacks the extra flax seeds on top. This is my second favorite crisp.

Seedlander:

“Millet-crunchy and molasses-sweet, our Seedlander Kracker is baked with our specially milled, 100% whole grain organic spelt flour, combined with organic pumpkin seeds, millet, sesame, flax, and poppy seeds. Its sturdy texture and nutty, slightly sweet flavor make it the perfect cracker for cheese and fruit plates and creamy dips and spreads.”

Ingredients: organic whole grain spelt flour, organic pumpkin seeds, organic millet, organic agave syrup, organic sesame seeds, organic spelt bran, organic molasses, organic flaxseeds, organic poppy seeds, yeast, sea salt, organic barley malt syrup

As is the common opinion, the Seedlander crisp was my favorite. I originally fell in love with the number of seeds and grains it boasts, but over time I also detected a slight sweetness that the other krackers did not possess. I shouldn’t have been surprised, considering the Seedlander is the only kracker sweetened with agave or molasses. It’s a small amount, but it really makes the difference. I enjoyed this cracker with nut butter, beans, hummus, and of course straight-up plain.

Hummus Maximus:

“Made with a blend of garbanzo bean and spelt flours, these hearty crackers are flavored with lemon peel, garlic, sesame seeds, and just enough coriander to intrigue your palate. Excellent with soft cheeses, fresh fruit, and creamy spreads. (Including, of course, fresh hummus!)”

Ingredients: filtered water, organic whole spelt flour, garbanzo bean flour, organic sesame seeds, organic flaxseeds, organic sunflower seeds, olive oil, black sesame seed, sea salt, organic barley malt syrup, mustard seeds, garlic, yeast, coriander seeds, lemon flavor, garam masala

To be honest, this was the flavor I was the most excited to try. However, if I had to choose a least favorite, this would be it. That’s not to say that I didn’t enjoy it, but I was slightly disappointed. While the crisp itself was yummy, it didn’t really taste like hummus and was hugely overpowered by the sesame seeds.

After a taste comparison with the other flavors, the hummus taste was more pronounced. However, I still had to look for it and it wasn’t quite as accurate as I had hoped.

Apple Crisp:

“Chopped dried apple, toasted whole oats, and crunchy flax and sesame seeds. A sprinkling of natural cane sugar just before baking gives these spelt crackers an engaging caramelized finish.”

Ingredients: organic whole spelt flour, filtered water, cane sugar, butter, organic flaxseeds, dried apple, brown sugar, whole oats, organic sesame seeds, yeast, sea salt, organic barley malt syrup, vanilla

These crackers were thinner and easier to break than the others. They were light and crispy, but I couldn’t really taste the apples. The butter flavor was very pronounced and the oats/seeds on top added a nice touch.

My mom, however, disagreed with me on the apples. She thought this crisp tasted a lot like apple pie in cracker form. She really enjoyed them.

Cherry Semolina Culinary Crisps:

“Plump sour cherries, golden semolina flour and toasted sesame seeds. The delicious contrast of dark/light, chewy/crisp, and toasty/sweet makes these crackers endlessly (and irresistibly!) versatile.”

Ingredients: filtered water, organic whole wheat flour, semolina flour, durrum flour, cane sugar, organic sesame seeds, dried cherries, organic flaxseeds, olive oil, yeast, sea salt, organic barley malt syrup, fennel powder

These were my third favorite. I absolutely loved the tart cherries and the crisp, buttery-smooth (not my favorite definition, but it’s the most accurate) taste of the cracker.

I paired them with Gena’s Lemon Cherry Cashew Cheese and it was incredible. The flavors were perfect together and it was very enjoyable. 🙂 I also had them with hummus, yellow peppers, cucumbers and tomatoes below.

I honestly cannot say enough good things about these crackers. They have been so wonderful to have and I would buy them in a heartbeat. To find a list of local retailers, go here. I really would recommend picking these up the next time you have the opportunity, but three of you will get the chance to try them for free!

Dr. Kracker has graciously offered to sponsor a giveaway on my blog: three readers will receive two boxes of Dr. Kracker flavors.

You can enter up to 4 times. How to enter:

  1. Mandatory entry: UPDATED- Leave a comment telling me how YOU would eat the Dr. Kracker crackers.
  2. Link to this giveaway in a blog post and leave a comment telling me you did.
  3. Add me to your Google Reader/blog roll (or both, if you like!) and leave a comment letting me know you did OR follow me on Twitter and tweet thisHey, @kelzfosho is giving away @doctorkracker crackers! #DoctorKracker click here to enter. http://wp.me/pPq2v-iL
  4. Answer this trivia question: How many grams of fiber in a one ounce serving of Dr. Kracker’s Klassic 3-Seed or Seedlander Snacker Kracker? The answer can be found here.

For those of you without a blog..
  • Email me (cleanteenkelsey@gmail.com) your responses to 1 & 4.
  • You could also post the contest link to Facebook, if you have one, and email me to let me know you did.
  • If you don’t have a Facebook, feel free to tell 3 people about my blog, then leave a comment letting me know you did.
Giveaway ends Tuesday, July 19th. That’s two weeks from today. 🙂

Thanks for reading!

44 responses to “Dr. Kracker Review & Giveaway!

  1. omg the fire roasted looks awesome but the best is the seeded spelt!! mm spelt ❤

  2. there are THREE grams of fibre (boy i hope i got that right haha)

  3. 3 grams of fiber in the 3 seed crackers!

  4. I’d like to try the hummus and the spelt crackers the most. I really like this brand of cracker, I’d buy them again, and that’s a big compliment coming from someone who loves to test new products!

  5. healthyhelper

    Hey Kelsey! I have tried all those flavors lol! so instead of telling you the ones i would most like to try I’ll tell you my 2 favorites: Seedlander (same as you lol) and thebn cherry semolina! I actually really like the humus and the classic 3 seed as well! I would love to win some crackers, they are my favorites!

  6. healthyhelper

    three grams of fiber!!!

  7. healthyhelper

    just added ya to my google reader!

  8. healthyhelper

    just put a link in my latest post about the giveaway! check out my home page!

  9. I think I’ll want to try the Klassic one for sure, and also the Apple Crisp! 🙂

  10. Added you to my Google Reader!

  11. Great giveaway! I’d love to try the hummis maximus and the seedlander.

    happy_haylee_3@hotmail.com

  12. I follow your wonderful blog via email!

    happy_haylee_3@hotmail.com

  13. id like to try hummus maximus (great name!) and seedlander (also another great name!)

  14. youre in my google reader!

  15. 3 grams of fiber!

  16. Hi Kelsey,

    you’re already in my google reader.
    What a fantastic giveaway, and your style of writing is awesome 🙂
    You don’t need to enter me since I’m from Europe and the company can save shipping costs 🙂
    Watered-down pb is actually PBU (the blogger Emily from Curly top invented it last year)

    Have a nice day, you pineapple loving girl!!

  17. I would want to try seedlander or hummus maximus!!! I looove hummus!

    p.s. I was homeschooled from 1st-10th grade! 🙂

  18. Love Dr. Kracker! I have a bunch of the seedlander, but I would love to try the cherry kind 🙂

  19. Pingback: Just like me! « Food, Fitness, & Fun

  20. Wow, what a great review!! I love these crackers so much, but (very) unfortunately, they make my tummy hurt – I have the wimpiest tum tum ever. I haven’t tried the Seedlander, so maybe I’ll have to do that before I rule them out completely!!

  21. I think the Cherry Semolina and the Seeded Spelt sound fantastic! I’ve been wanting to try these but haven’t worked them into my budget yet!

  22. I’d like to try the fire roasted and the seedlander.
    Fabby giveaeway!

  23. 3 grams of fiber.

  24. Those crackers sound really good! How great that you get to do a giveaway! I would enter but the companey is actually already sending me some of their products. Now, I’m even more excited to try them!

  25. mysweetseason

    I want to eat the apple crisp with peanut butter 🙂 and the hummus with more hummus hahaha

  26. Pingback: The Most Creative Meal of the Day « CleanTeenKelsey

  27. I told three people!

  28. 1. With hommus 🙂

  29. there are threee grams of fiber

  30. 3 hearty healthy yummy grams of fiber!

  31. Oh gosh I don’t know if I can pick one to try! I’d try the fireroasted ones topped with avocado and roasted peppers or I would crush them up an use them as a breading of some sort
    The apple crisps I would dip in cinnamon spices ricotta cheese
    The cherry ones sounds ammmmmaaazing and I would dip them in almond butter
    Nom nom nom
    So excited!

  32. i set a link on my blog and talked about your giveaway!
    chewingoncherries.wordpress.com

  33. I’d definitely eat the Apple Crisps for a snack at work to keep me from snacking on unhealthy food around the office in the afternoon.

    mattschmunk at gmail dot com

  34. I added your blog to my google reader list!!

    mattschmunk at gmail dot com

  35. I’m also hosting a giveaway..if you like chocolate, check it out 🙂

    I love your new layout!

  36. I’d eat them with hummus 🙂

  37. You’re in my reader!

  38. There are 3g of fiber in each serving

  39. Pingback: Dr. Kracker Giveaway Winners!! « CleanTeenKelsey

Leave a Reply

