Happy 4th of July & Peach Pickin’

Hey everyone!

Guess what? I am finally caught up on my Google Reader and commenting! My eyes are practically bleeding from all the time in front of the computer, but it’s done, and it feels good.

How was your 4th of July? Mine was pretty low-key and relaxed. I actually took part in a 24-hour fast from Saturday to Sunday, so I only ate one meal yesterday: dinner.

Homemade veggie burger (recipe to come!) on two romaine leaves, grilled fresh pineapple and sweet potato fries with this dipping sauce.

Peanut butter + almond milk. Unfortunately I milk’d-down the sauce too much; the peanut butter flavor wasn’t as pronounced.

That’s okay though, because everything else was INCREDIBLE. It was seriously the perfect end to my fast. The homemade veggie burger was so delicious and I can’t wait to post the recipe. The sweet potato fries were also fantastic.

After dinner, my family and I went out for a little fireworks-watching. I took some pretty trippy pictures that I was really happy with. šŸ™‚

Note to self: do NOT take your dogs to see fireworks! They don’t enjoy it at all. My bigger dog, Chansey, was really freaked out and had a hard time. Thankfully she calmed down, but I still felt really bad. :/

After we got home, we had dessert. I actually made a variation of Katie’s Raw Cheesecake–without even knowing it!

I originally was just planning on making banana soft-serve, tossing it in a homemade pie crust and calling it Banana Cream Pie. However, once I realized we had some leftover raw cashews I decided to add them as well. After a few hours of soaking, I blended the raw cashews with 5 frozen bananas and a squirt or two of lemon juice. The result? Creamy, tart, yummy Banana Cashew Cream Pie, or Raw Cheesecake.

It actually needed some time to set up, so when I had a piece last night it was more like melted soft-serve. My piece for breakfast this morning, however, was firm and delicious. šŸ™‚

After my wonderful breakfast I got ready to do something I’d never done before: pick peaches! There’s a local orchard about an hour away, so I went with my friend and her family to pick some peaches. šŸ™‚

A not-quite-ripe peach.

Signs for two kinds of peaches..

An icky rotten peach. Ew. šŸ˜›

My friend holding a cute, tiny peach. šŸ™‚

Me picking a peach.

Peach graveyard. šŸ˜¦

Our box when we began…

Our box when we ended. šŸ™‚

x4.

Umm yeah. We had this much…

x2. 4 huge boxes total.

The orchard was also selling zucchini, squash and cute mini cucumbers! $1.25/lb isn’t too bad, but I decided to save my money for my upcoming trip to the Farmer’s Market this week. šŸ™‚

Cute little cucumbers!

Vine-ripened, homegrown tomatoes. Yum.

They had cantaloupe, blackberries, honey and homemade jam, but I forgot to take a picture. Woops. šŸ˜› I definitely wanted to pick some blackberries, but my friend’s family was ready to go. Oh well, I’ll just have to get some later this week. šŸ™‚

I’m feeling a bit under-the-weather, so I think a leftover veggie burger/hummus grilled wrap is in order. Pictures tomorrow. šŸ™‚

Oh, before I go, I wanted to show you my dinner the other day. It’s what fueled me through my 24-hour fast: Mandie‘s favorite salad.

The nooch is kinda covering everything, but it’s steamed squash, steamed zucchini, steamed carrots, steamed broccoli and steamed cauliflower, topped with chickpeas and nutritional yeast. Wowww, this was good. I can see why it’s your favorite, Mandie. šŸ™‚

Thanks for reading!

P.S. No product reviews today, but I have a pretty awesome one planned for you tomorrow!


12 responses to “Happy 4th of July & Peach Pickin’

  1. Wow times a million!

    P.S. I’m emailing you soon :).

  2. Wow your homemade veggie burger looks huge! I never thought to make my own, I would love to try it! Those pictures are awesome btw!

  3. Aww my dog hates fireworks too!! And that raw cheesecake looks so amazing šŸ™‚

  4. p.s. I really appreciate all your comments on my blog!!

  5. That slideshow was so awesome! I LOVE fireworks šŸ™‚ The cheesecake looks amazing, I can’t wait to try some raw recipes. I hope you feel better šŸ™‚ can’t wait for the Dr. Kracker review šŸ˜‰

    Enjoy your night and some banana cream pie!

  6. That dipping sauce for your pineapple and sweet potatoe fries sounds sooo good! I love to mix pb and plain greek yogurt to dip mine in!

    -Court

  7. I just bought nutritional yeast and was looking for a way to use it! I’ll have to try that recipe!

  8. All that fresh produce looks great!

  9. mmm i ve been seeing that raw cheesecake everywhere and its gotten so many rave reviews, i need to try it! love your pictures of the cucumbers (they are indeed very cute) and the peaches!

  10. Eeek! I’m so glad you enjoyed my favorite salad! I basically just throw in my favorite veggies (minus, kabcoha, which reigns supreme), add a protein, and top with hummus and nooch. Hummus and nooch make everything amazing, especially with double chickpea power.

    By the way, I’m super jealous you got to go peach picking. I used to go apple picking when I was in Girl Scouts and it was SO. MUCH. FUN. Talk about knowing where your food comes from! I can’t wait to hear all about your farmer’s market adventures to come. There’s something that makes me so happy about fresh produce, and others sharing in that love.

    Speaking of which, I can’t wait for your veggie burger recipe, as well. I don’t buy store-bought veggie burgers anymore so I’m up for anything! They definitely look good.

    Oh, and may I ask why you did the fast? I’m always curious about those, even though I’ve never considered one myself.

    Wow, this comment is pretty out of order… sorry! Anywho, I’ve been reading all of your posts and have loved them. Unfortunately, I just moved so my commenting hasn’t been often. That’s definitely gonna change :D.

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  11. Pingback: The Most Creative Meal of the Day « CleanTeenKelsey

  12. Pingback: Baking In the Moonlight « CleanTeenKelsey

Leave a Reply

