HUGE Newman’s Own Organics Review

Warning: This is a HUGE review. It will take quite some time to read through. Good luck. 🙂

About a week ago, Newman’s Own Organics sent me a HUGE, generous package of their products to try and review. The spray bottle in the picture is to give you an idea of its size.

This is what it looked like upon opening…

And this is what it looked like all set up. 🙂

What I received:

  • Raisins, a resealable bag and individual boxes
  • Soy Crisps (with 7g protein!), White Cheddar and Barbeque flavors
  • Champion Chip Cookies, Double Chocolate Mint Chip & Espresso Chip
  • Dried Berry Blend (Raisins, Cranberries, Blueberries, Cherries)
  • Hermit Cookies, Ginger and Cinnamon
  • Newman-O’s cookies, Chocolate and Hint O’ Mint
  • Ginger-O’s cookies
  • Fig Newman’s, Low Fat and Fat-Free
  • Pretzels, Honey Wheat and Hi-Protein
  • Cinnamon Graham Alphabet Cookies
  • A variety of chocolate bars: Milk Chocolate (34%), Dark Chocolate (54%), Orange Dark Chocolate (54%), Espresso Dark Chocolate (54%), Mocha Milk Chocolate (34%), and Super Dark Chocolate (70%)
  • A variety of mint tins and rolls: Wintergreen, Ginger, HOT Cinnamon, Peppermint.

Newman’s Own Organics was established as a division of Newman’s Own in 1993, and became a separate company in late 2001. Paul Newman has given over $200 million to thousands of charities worldwide since 1982.

“‘Great tasting food that happens to be organic.’ (That’s what we kept in mind when we created our products.) We want to offer organic food products with wide consumer appeal,” says Nell. “We feel that people want to know more about the food they eat, not just how much fat or cholesterol a product contains. How ingredients are grown and processed on the way to their grocers’ shelf is becoming more important to today’s consumer. Once people see how much organic foods have improved since the early days of packaged `health’ foods, we hope they’ll try other organic food products.

“We focus on the kinds of products we loved as kids, but take them one step further by using the highest quality of available organic ingredients.”

If you’re interested in seeing all of their organic food principles, go here.

Let’s start with my favorite product of the whole batch: the Soy Crisps.

“Soy Crisps are a new addition to the snack food line. Gluten free, they are made with organic soy and organic rice. The Crisps come in four varieties: Cinnamon Sugar, White Cheddar, Lightly Salted, and  Barbecue, and have between 7 and 9 grams of protein depending on the variety.”

White Cheddar:

(source)

Ingredients: Organic Low Fat Soy Flour, Organic Rice Flour, Salt, Seasoning (cheddar cheese [cultured milk, salt, enzymes], whey buttermilk, salt, disodium phosphate), Sunflower Oil

Nutrition Facts: Serving Size: 1 oz,  Calories per Serving: 120, Calories from fat: 35, Total Fat: 4g (saturated fat: .5gm, trans fat: 0g), Cholesterol: 0mg, Sodium: 290mg, Total Carbohydrates: 13g (dietary fiber: 3g, sugars: 1g), Protein: 8g

I didn’t try this flavor because of the milk/cheese, but my family loved them!

Mom: Delicious; VERY good
Brady: Really good.
Dakota: I like it.

If their words alone aren’t enough, the empty bag is further proof.

Barbeque:

Ingredients: Organic Low Fat Soy Flour, Organic Rice Flour, Salt, Seasoning (dehydrated cane juice, sea salt, onion powder, garlic powder, tomato powder, extractives of paprika, natural flavor, spices, citric acid with not more than 2% sunflower oil and silicon dioxide added), Sunflower Oil

Nutrition Facts: Serving Size: 1 oz, Calories per Serving: 110, Calories from fat: 30, Total Fat: 3.5g (saturated fat: 0gm, trans fat: 0g), Cholesterol: 0mg, Sodium: 390mg, Total Carbohydrates: 14g (dietary fiber: 3g, sugars: 3g), Protein: 7g

Like I said before, this was probably my favorite product out of the whole box. I really, really enjoyed the crisps. They were delicious. The texture was great, and the flavoring was slightly sweet and tangy, just like real BBQ chips. In fact, one day we had a party at my house and while everyone was munching on Lay’s BBQ chips, I could happily enjoy my BBQ Soy Crisps. I knew that what I was eating was organic, not too processed and way better than the alternative. Score. 🙂

Although I’m not a huge advocate of soy, I do eat it in moderation and these are a great way to get extra protein. My mom put it perfectly by saying: “They have the same light, enjoyable flavor of a rice cake, but you get protein.”

My second favorite products were the pretzels.

Honey Wheat on the left, Hi-Protein on the right.

Hi-Protein

Ingredients: Organic unbleached wheat flour, yellow pea flour, gluten, organic sunflower oil, salt, organic sugar, organic barley malt, yeast and sodium bicarbonate

Nutritional Information: Serving Size: about 22 pretzels (30g), Calories per Serving: 120, Calories from fat: 15, Total Fat: 1.5g (saturated fat: 0gm), Cholesterol: 0mg, Sodium: 230mg, Total Carbohydrates: 22g (dietary fiber: 4g, sugars: 1g), Protein: 5g

Yum! These were great. My mom and I were the only ones interested in them, but we really enjoyed them. I LOVE that they’re made with yellow pea flour because they boast 5g of protein! They tasted like normal pretzels, which can be good or bad depending on your opinion. In my opinion it’s great, because it shows that you can eat organic, whole wheat, protein-filled pretzels without even knowing the difference.

Honey Wheat

Ingredients: Organic unbleached wheat flour, organic whole wheat flour, organic honey, organic sugar, organic sunflower oil, salt, yeast, [baking] soda

Nutritional Information: Serving Size: about 20 pretzels (30g), Calories per Serving: 110, Calories from fat: 10, Total Fat: 1g (saturated fat: 0gm), Cholesterol: 0mg, Sodium: 180mg, Total Carbohydrates: 22g (dietary fiber: 3g, sugars: 2g), Protein: 2g

I loved these. They were sweet yet salty and were my favorite of the two. If I ever want to buy pretzels, this (and probably the hi-protein, too) is the kind I would buy.

Berry Blend and Raisins:

Raisins:

Yum! I like raisins, and these were great. I look forward to using them on my celery/carrot + pb + raisin sticks. 🙂

Berry Blend: (Raisins, Cranberries, Blueberries, Cherries)

Also very good! Everything but the raisins is sweetened with sugar, which is too bad, but at least it’s organic.

Chocolate Bars:

I was very excited to receive a variety of chocolate bars from NOO! Like I mentioned before, they sent me Milk Chocolate (34%), Mocha Milk Chocolate (34%), Dark Chocolate (54%), Orange Dark Chocolate (54%), Espresso Dark Chocolate (54%) and Super Dark Chocolate (70%).

I can tell you now that all of their chocolate is GOOD. It’s smooth, delicious, and I think the average person would be surprised at its organic status. Keep in mind that my tastebuds are very sensitive to sweetness, so what maybe perfect to me might not be sweet enough for you. Likewise, what’s too sweet for me might be perfect for you.

Naturally the first bar I tried was Super Dark Chocolate. I’m used to 85% or higher, so this was a little sweet to me, but I really enjoyed it. It was rich, satisfying, and it’ll be great to snack on over the next week few days.

I didn’t try the Espresso or the Mocha since I don’t consume coffee products. I’m sure for a coffee lover they’d be great, so don’t let my lack of review keep you from buying them! Go out, try a bar for yourself and then let me know what you think. (Also, please note that I did mention to the company that I avoid coffee. I didn’t want them to waste anything, so I was sure to include it. I’m not trying to call out a fault on their part; I just don’t want you guys to think I’m rude for not saying anything to them.)

Next I tried some of the Orange Dark Chocolate. It was great! I’m not a huge fan of fruit + chocolate, but this was yummy. It wasn’t too sweet and the orange flavor was kind of zesty. Is that an odd description? Maybe. Either way, it was good. If you like orange chocolate, you will like this bar.

The Milk Chocolate was all for my brothers. Dakota liked it, and Brady really did too. I’m sure it will be gone quickly. 🙂

Following that was the Dark Chocolate. I broke a piece off and although it was very sweet, I liked it. It was the perfect bar to melt for my Newman’s Own Organic Chocolate Covered Raisins/Pretzels.

(These are the only two bars pictured because the others–not including the coffee flavors–were all ready ripped into. Woops.)

Newman’s Own Organics Chocolate-Covered Raisins/Pretzels
(Based on this recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 1 Newman’s Own Organics Chocolate bar (I used Dark Chocolate, 54%)
  • 1/2 tbsp coconut oil (I used organic; it would’ve been Newman’s Own if they made coconut oil!)
  • Newman’s Own Organics raisins
  • Newman’s Own Organics pretzels (I used the Hi-Protein kind)

Directions:

Melt chocolate chips, either in a microwave or on the stovetop. (If you use the stovetop, I recommend placing a small saucepan in a frying pan that’s halfway full with water. Put your chocolate and coconut oil in the saucepan, then place the whole thing on the burner over medium. This way works the best for me and it’s nearly impossible to burn the chocolate.) Remove the pan from heat or let the bowl cool down, then plop your raisins and pretzels in. I’m not really sure how much; just kind of guesstimate and add more if you need to. Stir them around so everything is coated, then carefully spoon them onto a sheet of wax paper, dripping off the excess chocolate. Place in the freezer for 10 minutes and enjoy!

Chocolate melting.

Giving the pretzels a chocolate bath. 🙂

Not yet hardened…

Post freeza time. 🙂 Yeah, I also dipped a few strawberries in, just for fun. 🙂

These are soooo delicious! I surprisingly still have some in my freezer and I have enjoyed them very much. 🙂

Next, the Champion Chip Cookies.

I didn’t get to try these, since they had egg whites in them, but everybody enjoyed them. My mom, who LOVES mint, could not stop eating them. “They were slightly wicked,” she says.

Nothin’ but crumbs.

I was also sent the Espresso Chocolate Chip flavor, but because of the coffee thing, they went untested. Sorry. :/

Newman-O’s:

Chocolate –

Yummy! These were VERY sweet but they were good. My mom agreed that they were super sweet, but she also thought they were delicious. I would’ve never guessed they were organic and I definitely liked them better than regular Oreo’s. (It’s been over 6 months since I’ve had regular Oreo’s, but whatever. :D) My favorite way to eat this cookie was dipped in some Unsweetened Chocolate Almond Breeze.

Obviously this is not a “healthy” snack by any means. It IS processed and I would only eat it on occasion. However, its organic ingredients make it a far better choice than its high fructose corn syrup-laden counterpart.

Hint O’ Mint –

After trying the Hint O’ Mint cookies, my older brother Brady declared “I freaking love these.” Dakota also enjoyed them, and my mom wouldn’t stop talking about them. She said they were “very sweet, yummy, had a clean taste, and were DEL-ICI-OUS.” (She specifically said to type that with caps AND hyphens. :D) I also enjoyed them, although like the chocolate ones I would only eat them on occasion.

Ginger-O’s –

Brady: Pretty good.
Dakota: They taste like graham crackers + frosting. I really like them.
Mom: Good, I also think they taste like frosting + graham crackers. I would buy these at Christmas time.
Kelsey: Sweet, rich, Christmas-y. I agree that they taste like frosting and graham crackers, haha. 🙂

Fig Newman’s:


I didn’t test these because they contain corn syrup and non-fat dry milk, but everyone seemed to enjoy them. I really didn’t hear anything about the difference between low fat and fat free, so I assume they tasted the same. My mom has never been a huge fan of original Fig Newton’s, but she said that if she were, she would like these better. 🙂

Hermits:

I received both the Cinnamon and Ginger flavor of these, but they pretty much tasted the same. They were very strong, and as Emily said, they reminded me of Christmas. Both Hermits are filled with oats, raisins and figs, so if you don’t like those ingredients you won’t like these. I, however, thought they were soft, chewy and good. 🙂

Last but not least, the Cinnamon Graham Alphabet Crackers:

I actually really enjoyed these! The bag was gone fast, so rest assured my family liked them too. They were cinnamon-y, not too sweet and delicious dipped in peanut butter. As you can see, I had fun playing with the letters as well. 🙂

Oh yeah, I also had my brother Dakota test the mints. They contain corn syrup, so I passed. His thoughts:

Wintergreen – REALLY good; he liked them a lot. (Brady also thought these were pretty good.)

Peppermint – Very peppermint-y. He’s not a huge peppermint fan in general, but if he liked peppermint, these would be perfect.

Ginger –  These weren’t his favorite. I smelled them and thought they smelled very therapeutic, almost like essential oils.

Cinnamon – These reminded him of “hot gum.” He thought they were good and he enjoyed them.

This was a huuuuge, monstrous review, so thank you if you read to the end. Newman’s Own Organics was incredibly generous in their samples, so I thought it only fair to write a detailed review of the products.

Before I go, I wanted to make it clear the type of products these are. It should be fairly obvious to you that these aren’t health products or good-for-you snacks. Audrey worded it perfectly when she said: “a lot of these products—while organic and definitely better for you than, say, conventional grocery store brands—are not ideal. I am a proponent of consuming as many whole, fresh foods as possible, and this type of processed “healthy” junk food doesn’t quite fit the bill. That said, some of these items may be a fun treat on occasion.”

I agree completely. I know I say this a lot, but I truly do appreciate Newman’s Own Organics’ mission. Junk food DOES exist–whether you choose to consume it or not–and I appreciate their goal to make it a little better. Yes, it’s processed and I would suggest moderation, but on occasion an organic Newman-O is not going to kill you.

For complete ingredients and nutritional information, go here and select a product from the drop-down list.

That is all! Thanks for reading!


15 responses to “HUGE Newman’s Own Organics Review

  1. Woah! Monster review, haha, but a very thorough one. I was tempted by the low-fat fig Newmans, and my boyfriend finished the package! I was almost positive that they didn’t have HFCS though, because I wouldn’t have bought them if they did. =/

  2. wow so many goodies!! lucky you 🙂
    i LOVE those protein pretzels & the fig newmans! I like that their products are great ingredients – nothing fishy at all.

  3. Great review! I’m glad that you mentioned these are definitely not healthy. It seems like sometimes people think just because something it organic or fat-free or whatever it is good for you.
    Though I certainly wouldn’t eat these too often, if I”m wanting something sweet and don’t wait to make anything I’d give some of Newman’s Own products a try. Thanks for the detailed review!

  4. We got that package a little while ago too! 🙂 But so jealous that you got the honey-wheat pretzels, that did not come in our package. And Chocolate covered pretzels, holey yum!

  5. Oh my goodness, so much fabulous stuff! Those choco pretz look amaazing. And I have always wanted to try Hermits!! I know I would loove them.

  6. omg i love hermits! need to try these asap

  7. i seriously cant beleive they sent you ALL OF THAT! im heading over to you right now.. oh man.. if i only could!!!

    this is like an all day eating review haha. i love newman’s own products and its so fu nto see the new ones liek the new chocolate bars..with some of my old favs like the FIGGGIE newmans ❤ haha love ur alphabet name creation ❤ ur adorable 🙂

  8. Love the whole family reviews 🙂 So cool you get your whole household in on this too! I was also a big fan of the soy crisps and protein pretzels when I got to try them a while back – the BBQ is where it’s at – YUM 😀

  9. That was an epic review! I love Newman’s own stuff! Not only is it organic but its for a good cause! Those chocolate covered pretzels looked really yummy! Although pretty much anything covered in chocolate looks amazing, but I’m sure they tasted great too!

  10. Holy review! I have that same spray bottle 🙂

    I wish the dark chocolate from Newman’s Own was dairy-free. I always see it at the store on sale.

    I haven’t tried the hermits, but they sound right up my alley!

  11. Whoa what an awesome goodie basket!! And great review.. it was very informative!

  12. Mmmmm chocolate covered pretzels!! Great review post, girl!

  13. Wow that’s a lot of food to review glad you had some help from your family. I do love Newman’s products.

  14. I just got a box from them, so I’m checking out how you did your review.
    Can you explain why you avoid corn syrup? I don’t have many qualms about it, except for what I just don’t like (such as milk chocolate and soy crisps).
    I think maybe I’m biased in favor of NOO because they just gave me, like, $100 worth of *quality* food (for a family that does buy junk food, this is good news) That, and I’m planning on serving this stuff at my birthday party coming up!!

Leave a Reply

