UliMana Tao of Cacao Review

Tao of Cacao

Remember my hungry post? Remember when I said I’d had a little treat that I would tell you about? Well, this is it. ๐Ÿ™‚ A few days ago, Ulimana sent me some samples to try and review! They sent me their Tao of Cacao sampler and I enjoyed it sooo much. A little bit about Ulimana:

“๏ปฟ๏ปฟUliManaMana, or UliMana for short, was incorporated on July 13, 2005 (a very good day astrologically) and may very well be the first raw chocolate company ever! … Everything is made with organic chocolate (cacao) and other vegan, organic ingredients.

Uli is the name of the goddess from the Huna science who oversees the feminine domain and is also known as the ‘Goddess of Serenity’. Mana means life force energy. When you have a lot of Mana, (as in ManaMana), you are healthy and vibrant. When speaking the name UliManaMana you are asking the goddess Uli for the blessing of life force energy and vibrant health. We wanted the name of our company to mean something positive and uplifting. So say it often as you eat our chocolate and have gratitude for the gifts bestowed upon you.”

From the pamphlet I received in the mail:

“We use 100% organic and raw ingredients, hand mixing every batch. We practice fair trade purchasing and conscious manufacturing.”

I think that’s pretty awesome. I really like that all of their chocolates are raw, dairy-free, organic and are made with wholesome, natural ingredients. I really admire their company and what they’re trying to do.

Tao of Cacao

Tao of Cacao

As I mentioned before, they sent me the Tao of Cacao sampler. It included a Dark Chocolate Truffle, a Hemp Nut Brownie, a Goji Chocolate Cherry Truffle, a Chocolate Apricot Nut, a Lemon Fig Bar and a Chia Moon Drop. Each piece was relatively small, but some were larger than others. The size ended up being perfect, because everything was so rich that you only needed a little bit. I had one piece a day for six days as my “dessert.”

The first kind I want to review was my favorite, the Dark Chocolate Truffle.

Dark Chocolate Truffle, Inside

Dark Chocolate Truffle

This was truly delicious! I loved it so much. It was soft and chewy, and the texture kind of reminded me of fudge. I liked that it was dark chocolate; very rich and very satisfying. It was my favorite for sure.

Next was the Hemp Nut Brownie.

Hemp Nut Brownie

When I first opened the package, I was only planning on ripping a tiny piece of the brownie off. The plan was to come back later and finish the brownie, but it was so good that I decided to eat it all right then. So yeah, I liked it. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m not a huge fan of nuts in brownies, but the brownie itself was delicious. It tasted a lot like the truffle, which is probably why I liked it so much.

Hemp Nut Brownie

After that was the Goji Cherry Truffle.

Goji Cherry Truffle

This one was interesting for sure, but I really liked it! It was chewy and had an interesting texture, along with a good combination of tart and sweet. I’d never tired goji berries before and I was pleasantly surprised.

Chocolate Apricot Nuts

This was probably my least favorite of them all. I thought it would be delicious (hello, big blob of dark chocolate!) but it was pretty much just a chocolate-covered apricot. I was not expecting the apricot when I bit in, and I really didn’t like it. Oh well, they can’t all be amazing, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

Chocolate Apricot Nuts

Following that was the Lemon Fig Bar.

Lemon Fig Bar

This had HUGE potential and I could really see myself liking it. The only problem was that this particular piece (and the Chia Moon Drop) tasted strongly of soap. It wasn’t always evident, but when it was it tasted pretty gross. I was really sad, because the parts that weren’t soap-y were delicious. Has anyone else tried this piece? Did you think the same thing, or was it just my batch? This company does make everything by hand, so there could be some variations from piece to piece.

Lemon Fig Bar

Last but not least was the Chia Moon Drop. I didn’t get to take my own closeup picture of it because I’d left my camera in the car, but here’s the site’s picture.

Chia Moon Drop

I loved this one, but like I said before certain parts tasted like soap. So weird and so sad! I can’t imagine why that would be. Regardless, the parts that didn’t taste like soap were delicious and I really enjoyed them. The whole thing was soft, chewy, and covered in coconut which automatically made it even more awesome.

If I were to recommend one purchase to you from their website, it’d be the dark chocolate truffles. ย I know they’re a bit pricey, but with these chocolates you get what you pay for. Organic, raw, vegan, all-natural and tasty? What more could a girl want? ๐Ÿ™‚

Well, that’s my review! I hope you enjoyed it. I have plans to get another one up tomorrow.. probably two, actually.

In closing, here are a couple random food pictures from the day before yesterday, yesterday and today:

Delicious Green Monster.

  • 1 scoop protein powder (I used Nutribiotic Vanilla)
  • 1 cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze
  • handful or two of frozen pineapple/cantaloupe chunks
  • 1/3 of a small, frozen banana
  • a ton of spinach
  • topped with a sprinkle of granola, shredded coconut and cacao nibs

The same lavash wrap thingy I made last post, without red peppers (we ran out) and with wilted spinach. Yum. โค

Sorry for the terrible cell phone pic. I’d left my camera in the car, so this was all I had. That’s the rest of my lentil soup from the other day, a whole head of roasted broccoli and a Dr. Kracker flatbread, which you will be hearing about soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

Oh yeah! I topped my flatbread with an INCREDIBLE spread I found on Gena’s blog. Her Dilly Carrot Avocado Spread is the best.

For breakfast this morning I had overnight chocolate-covered strawberry protein oats. Thanks for the idea,ย Court & Whit! ๐Ÿ™‚

Overnight:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2/3 cup Unsweetened Chocolate Almond Breeze
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • Three sliced strawberries
  • Some cacao nibs, just because I wanted to see what they’d taste like softened in the morning ๐Ÿ™‚

I topped my oats with shredded coconut, a drizzle of coconut butter, a shaved sliver of dark chocolate and a dollop of peanut butter. Yum. โค

For lunch I made a quick wrap on a lavash bread. In it was Gena’s amazing spread, black beans, cucumbers and spinach. I really wanted to put tomatoes in, but we were all out. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Yum. That’s all for tonight, my friends.

Thanks for reading!

10 responses to “UliMana Tao of Cacao Review

  1. So delighted that you liked the spread!

  2. ive seen those on a few raw food sites! i love how its got samples of a whole variety of raw treats!!

    the fig one and the hempnut brownie would probably be my favorite! so yummy for the tummy โค

    those chia moon drops would be fabulous too! especially love the cashew decoration on top!

  3. Nice review, I appreciate your honesty, even if it isn’t all delectable. The first sounds the best to me too. I like my chocolate pure.

  4. The texture of all those bars/chocolates looks PERFECT. I love my sweets squishy – like I can really sink my teeth into it. ๐Ÿ™‚ But I have to say, I’m not a big fan of fruit + chocolate, I don’t think the apricot would have been my favorite either. Thanks for the review!

  5. Ohh wow, I would have devoured all of those treats! Especially the dark chocolate one!! Your wrap looks yummy too ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Hey I just found your blog! It’s so cute, and so are you! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’ve never tried raw chocolate before, but you can’t go wrong with chocolate right? Looks delish to me!

  7. Ummm hello chocolate! I would get addicted to these, no joke ๐Ÿ˜‰ Minus the soap flavor…that sounds pretty gross, but I really love how you were completely honest about it. That’s awesome and SO refreshing. So thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    I hope you have a beautiful Tuesday girl!
    Meg

    p.s. goji berries are so, so good – they have them in a few raw bars that I get from Whole Foods, HIGHLY recommend cooking with them!!

  8. Yumm I want! Well, all except the soapy tasting ones ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    What kind of protein powder do you use? I’m thinking of getting me some ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I use Nutribiotic Rice Protein. To be honest, it doesn’t taste good on its own. I have to blend in about half a frozen banana or some honey before I like it. Also, it’s chalky, but all rice protein powders are. ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh, and chocolate is better than vanilla. I’m gonna do a Nutribiotic vs. Sun Warrior vs. Jay Robb comparison soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Hi Kelsey- thanks for stopping by my blog! About the products- only if you agree to do a giveaway do you have to- it sounds like they just sent them to you to sample and review. I had agreed to do a review & giveaway for Gnu bars for my blog.

    By the way I love Ulimana- YUM! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

