Hit-the-Spot Food :)

Thanks for all the comments yesterday/today! It was nice to know I’m not the only one that has lazy days, and I appreciate all your feedback on my raging hunger. It’s so hard to keep feeding myself when logically I know I’ve eaten enough but my stomach disagrees. However, I’m trying to honor my pledge to listen to my body, so that’s what I gotta do.

Everything I ate today was soooo good. Seriously, it all hit the spot like no other. I was a very happy girl. Allow me to share. 🙂

I told you guys I had a delicious breakfast planned, right? It was something I pieced together in my head last night and it was absolutely amazinggg. I loved it.

PB-Nana Mousse

Ingredients:

  • 1 frozen banana, broken into pieces
  • 100 grams (about 1/4 of a block) silken tofu**
  • 2-4 TBSPs water/milk of your choice (start out with less, then add more if you need it)
  • 1 TBSP peanut butter
  • (optional) cacao nibs, for topping

Directions:

Process first two ingredients in a food processor. Next, add peanut butter and process again til smooth and creamy. Top with nibs and either refrigerate for 30 minutes to let it set up or eat it right then. 🙂

**I highly recommend Mori-Nu silken tofu. You shouldn’t be able to taste the tofu in this, but if for some reason you do, Mori-Nu is not a bad brand to taste. It’s very pleasant and it reminds me of soymilk.

Flavor Variations:

Tropical – Replace peanut butter with coconut butter and use pineapple juice for the liquid.

Rise & Shine – Add fresh/frozen blueberries, replace liquid with orange juice and garnish with granola.

Peanut Butter & Chocolate – Add 1-2 TBSP cocoa powder and use Unsweetened Chocolate Almond Breeze for the liquid.

Old School – Add a small handful of fresh/frozen strawberries to make PB&J.

There are tons more I’m sure, but this is all I can think of for the moment. Use your creativity and let me know what you come up with! (Also, regardless of your variation, I would suggest always using the frozen banana. The combination of tofu pudding and banana soft serve is what gives this its special texture/taste. :D)

Oh man, so good. I wish I had more silken tofu so I could make this again tomorrow. 😦 Hey! Maybe if you have some silken tofu laying around, you could make this FOR me, then tell me what you think! I like that idea better. 🙂

After my wonderful breakfast, I got quite caught up with things. I didn’t get to eat again until 4:30 PM, so I quickly heated up some soup and made a delicious salad.

365 brand Lentil Soup + salad topped with lemon juice and apple cider vinegar. Yumm.

Romaine, tomatoes, cucumber, carrots, celery, yellow pepper, red pepper, blueberries, strawberries, dried cherries and dried apple chips. Mmm. ❤

Tonight was very exciting for my family. My older brother Brady is going away for two years to serve a mission for our church, and tonight we finally found out where he’s going! He was called to the Mesa, Arizona mission and we are all very excited for him. They’re lucky to get such a great guy for two whole years. 🙂

Following a big letter-opening party and several guests staying afterward, my stomach was growling. I munched on carrots and cucumber slices to hold me over while making this:

I began by sauteing some red/green peppers and 1/2 cup black beans in lemon juice, cumin, onion powder and Mrs. Dash Southwest Chipotle. Next, I spread some cashew “cheese” sauce (a few dollops cashew cream + a few spoonfuls nutritional yeast + squirt of lemon juice + sea salt. No measuring here!) on 1/2 a lavash bread, added the sauteed peppers/beans and folded it in half. I grilled it all in a pan, cut it in half and ate up!

Ahh wow, this was SO good. I honestly wasn’t expecting it to be that yummy. It was perfect, and I have plans to make it again soon. Tomorrow, maybe?

Question of the Day: What’s your favorite dessert-type flavor? German Chocolate? S’mores? Berry? How do you think you could make it work with the PB-Nana Mousse recipe?

Question of the day 2: Do you guys have any better name suggestions than “PB-Nana Mousse?” It’s a super lame name, but my lack of creativity restricts me from coming up with anything better.

Thanks for reading!

18 responses to “Hit-the-Spot Food :)

  1. Your mousse looks fantastic! Pb & banana is the best combo ever. German choco would be good too! Or maybe a pumpkin flavor? The possibilities are endless! And congrats on your brother’s mission, that’s awesome 🙂

  2. Favorite dessert flavor – DARK chocolate or creamy cheesecake or baked fruit cobbler. 😉

    Another name – Banana Butter Mousse? Peanana Mousse? Silken Banana Mousse? Delicious bowl of yum?

    I want to try that cashew cream thing. I made the “thing” (frozen banana + PB + raw oats) for breakfast yesterday and I really liked it. 🙂

  3. spoonfulofsugarfree

    Wow, I make the exact same thing as the mousse only I don’t add tofu. It’s more of an ice-cream texture without the tofu, but I’ll have to try putting tofu in it next. I LOVE the texture of a fluffy mousse 🙂

  4. teenagehealthfreak

    mmmm that breakfast looks good!!! and you’ve come up with some pretty crafty flavors…how bout something like mint chocolate chip??? that used to be my fave ice-cream flavor!!!..and the coconut one pretty much has me sold!! and your wrap/bean thing looks good too! i say all of this but i really NEED to actually do it. lol

  5. can i just say first that I LOVE your new “Pensive-Kelsey-photo” so lovely! ❤

    PB nanamouse!!! omg!! thats so amazing! u just coined a nanamouse 🙂 sounds like a delicious animal.. a banana and a moose 🙂

    im loving ur creations! keep them coming ❤

  6. I totally have some silken tofu I need to use up 😉 LOVE that recipe…looks amazing.

    I hope you have a great weekend!

    Not sure if you got my reply to your comment – but I made my own header 🙂

  7. Oh my goodness, all of your food looks so good, no wonder if hit the spot! I seriously want to try all of it! I love all your flavor variations to your breakfast.

    Excuse my lack of food knowledge, but what exactly is lavish bread? It’s looks really good and I’d love to try some but I haven’t seen or heard of it.

  8. My favorite dessert flavors are german chocolate, cookies and cream, and probably cheese cake. This was such a creative recipe and I love all of your different variations to change it up!

    -Court

  9. Pingback: back to the pool. « Max In The Gym

Leave a Reply

