Hefty, Hefty, Hefty.

EDIT: This post was supposed to have published last night, but for some reason it didn’t! Dangit. I was doing so well on getting a post up every day. Oh well; this one still counts as yesterday’s, and I’ll write another for today. πŸ™‚

Hooray! My older brother Brady is home for the summer and all is well with the world. He got in at around 12:30 pm, so I spent the majority of my morning in preparation for his arrival. I took care of some things, blogged a little, and I also decided to make him some breakfast. He’d been in the car for 22 hours straight so I figured it would be a nice thing for him to come home to.

Funny thing: the whole time I was making the pancakes, I mentally blogged about them in my head. I planned out what I was going to write and what pictures I would post, but then I totally forgot to take the pictures! What a nub.

Regardless of my blogger fail, I think the pancakes turned out pretty well.Β  They were Peanut Butter White Chocolate Chip, and they were definitely NOT healthy. The base was, because I used this recipe, but the additions most certainly were not. πŸ˜›

(This is so not my picture, but we’re going to pretend it is. Because it’s cool. πŸ˜€ source)

Peanut Butter White Chocolate Chip Pancakes
(adapted and halved this recipe)

Ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 to 1 cup white chocolate chips
cinnamon, to taste
sweetener, to taste
1 1/4 cups milk (regular, soy, almond, etc.)
1 whole egg
1 egg white
1/2 cup peanut butter (You can use natural PB. I didn’t in this particular recipe because natural pb is expensive and my brother could care less about hydrogenated oils)

Directions:

Mix first four ingredients together in a bowl, then add everything else (milk, egg, egg white and pb). Whisk till combined, being careful not to overmix. Pour onto a greased griddle by the 1/3 cup. Cook until done.

There’s nothing overly original about the recipe, but my brothers seemed to really like it. Score. πŸ™‚

I made protein pancakes for my mom, which consisted of 1 scoop of protein powder, one egg white, baking soda, baking powder, a sprinkle of whole wheat flour and unsweetened almond breeze. I added a couple spoonfuls of cottage cheese to the batter of the last two pancakes as well.

Since everyone else was having pancakes, I decided I wanted some, too. I whipped up some protein pancakes for me out of 1 scoop Nutribiotic chocolate rice protein powder, 1/8 cup (plus a little more) whole wheat flour, baking powder, baking soda and some unsweetened almond breeze.

The white stuff on the side is cashew cream that I spooned over the pancakes. Here are the cashews soaking the night before. πŸ™‚

Cashew cream is the greatest. πŸ™‚

After breakfast lunch, my brothers and I hit the gym. Brady’s been working out almost every day this semester and he’s seriously ripped, so we decided to have him train me over the summer. Today was arms, and he did not go easy. I didn’t write down everything I did, but I can assure you that I worked hard and that my arms were aching afterwards. πŸ˜›

I wasn’t hungry when I got home, so I forwent my snack and did some grocery shopping with mi madre. We got a whole bunch of produce at Sun Harvest, including watermelon, a cantaloupe and a bunch of kale that was on sale for 74Β’ a bunch! What a deal. πŸ™‚

After we got home we were definitely hungry, so we put our recent produce purchase to good use. I had a bowl of tomato slices, yellow pepper slices and cucumbers with some hummus, along with a couple crackers. Oh yeah, if you’re wondering what kind of crackers those are, you’ll just have to wait and see. πŸ™‚

I also had a plate of roasted veggies (asparagus, zucchini, green peppers and red peppers) with some honey mustard baked tofu. Kale chips were also made and consumed.

All right folks, that’s it for tonight, but before I go I have to comment on the cricket thing yesterday. After reading all your macho-sounding comments, I have to admit I’m quite embarrassed by my reaction. πŸ˜› Typically I’m pretty good around bugs; I’m not one of those girls that freaks out anytime she sees a spider, and I have no problem whacking them with my shoe. Last night, however, caught me off-guard. I was more afraid of the bug getting lost in my house than I was of the bug itself, and it was trying to fly away. Either way, it was kind of a funny situation and I loved hearing all of your bug stories. Thanks for sharing them with me. πŸ™‚

Thank you for reading!

17 responses to “Hefty, Hefty, Hefty.

  1. teenagehealthfreak

    cool..your own personal trainer!!..lol that cashew butter sounds good! never tried that before..or even heard of it..awesomeness! πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Music- What are good earbuds for hip-hop and rap music (lots of bass)?-On Sale,Shop Now!

  3. This is the first time I visited your blog, and it’s so cute! So, I have a few questions, how did you get the sweet apple background, and how did you get to sign your name in the cute little box @ the bottom? It’s so darling!

    Anyway, your pancakes looked good! I’ll have to try them sometime. I’ve never heard of cashew cream before? How exactly do you make that, and what other things can you use if for?

    Rachel
    http://rachelscottagehouse.wordpress.com

  4. Ahh I want to try cashew cream! YUM! And pancakes are my favorite. Your cracker + hummus plate looks great, I love snacky things like that πŸ™‚

  5. hey at least the post got posted now rather than never at all.. why? well duh because these pancakes are crazy and im waiting for my dinner which is making me SO HUNGRY!! Kelsey, only you can make white chocolate chips so amazingly delicious, it seriously never would have crossed my mind to put them in pancakes!! oh wouldnt waffles be good too!! mmm

    ❀

  6. Dr. Kracker Cherry Semolina!? I’m eating them right now. πŸ˜‰

  7. Holy cow, what a great pancake recipe. I β™₯ white chocolate, and PB! That’s nice that you and your brothers workout together, sibling support is the best πŸ˜‰

  8. Pingback: I Am Tummy, Hear Me Roar. « CleanTeenKelsey

  9. That is nice of you to make your brother pancakes, you guys must be really close πŸ™‚ I cannot believe he was in the car for 22 hours. That is crazy.

    Well I have to say those pb white chocolate pancakes are definitely are on my list to make for this weekend. Thanks for the recipe!

    -Court

  10. Pingback: Saturday’s are Refreshing « Teens Eat

  11. Cashew cream? Anything I need to know except soak and process? That sounds amazing for pancakes!
    PS That was really sweet of you to do that for your brother! Sometimes I show love to people by making them food, too. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

