I Hate Crickets.

Okay, I don’t mind them too much when they’re outside in their habitat, but the second they enter my home, that’s it.

A few minutes ago, a cricket randomly landed in my trashcan and started climbing around. I unnecessarily freaked out, asked my mom for a shoe and started to smack it around in the trashcan. I didn’t think it was working and unfortunately I was right. It hopped out of the trashcan, onto the ground, and tried to run away. I let out multiple squeals while attempting to stop it, then I finally succeeded and threw it away. Blech. It was so gross.

Anyway, believe it or not, this whole post is not devoted to crickets. It’s actually devoted to food like it’s supposed to be. What a concept. 😉

I’m so glad you guys liked the Attune review! It was funny to hear from all of you coffee/chocolate lovers that said you would test the bar for me. 😛 I would actually be happy to do a giveaway with it; the only problem is that, like I mentioned before, the bar melted. It’s solid now because I refrigerated it, but the shape in the wrapper was lost. It’s kinda flat and doesn’t look great. Also, I mentioned before that I think the probiotics were killed because of heat exposure (bummer!).  Is anyone still interested in it, even after all that? I don’t blame you if you aren’t, but if you are, let me know. If there’s a good response, I’ll contact Annelies and ask her if that’s okay.

I haven’t been very good about taking pictures lately (what else is new?) so I apologize in advance if you find this post boring. I will not be offended if you choose to skip it. 🙂

Some random food I’ve consumed lately…

A couple pieces of Green & Black’s 85% dark chocolate bar.

Alongside a fresh cut up nectarine, with warm almond milk and shredded coconut. Yum.

A yummy thing I found on Katie‘s blog. 1 frozen banana blended with 1/4 cup raw oats, 1 tbsp peanut butter and topped with cinnamon and cacao nibs (my addition). This was sooo delicious; thank you for the recipe, Katie!

A yummy salad (red leaf lettuce, cucumber, tomatoes, carrots, broccoli and dried edamame), some 365 Organic Vegetable Soup and a piece of homemade bread! My lovely, fellow Clean-Eater friend makes bread often and was kind enough to bring me a few pieces. Thank you, friend! You know who you are. 🙂

As you can see, I enjoyed it as a dessert. I topped it with homemade coconut butter and a drizzle of pb. 🙂

Dinner was simple: roasted zucchini/squash, a small handful of pita chips and honey mustard baked tofu. The tofu was delicious! Thank you for your cooking method, Mandiee! Oh, and just in case you were wondering, I marinated my tofu cubes in a mixture of 1.5 tbsp mustard + 0.5 tbsp honey + a couple teaspoons of soy sauce for maybe 40 minutes. It was very, very good. 🙂

Once again, I’m falling asleep in my chair. I’ve got to get in the habit of posting earlier, gosh darnit. On the plus side, my brother will be home for the summer in a matter of hours! I cannot wait to see him; it’s been way too long.

Question of the Day 1: Would you like me to do a giveaway for my Coffee Bean Attune Bar?

Question of the Day 2: How are you around bugs? Are you one of those intense, macho “get out of the way, I’ll kill it” type people, or do you get scared and let someone else do it? Who knows, you could even be a pacifist that believes in setting the bug free outside. I can see the logic behind that thinking, but sometimes I don’t have time to DO that thinking. The bug is right there and I just need to get rid of it, let alone take the time to carefully catch it and let it outside.

Question of the Day 3: Have you ever had any boring, non-blog-worthy food weeks? What’d you end up doing?

Question of they Day 4: Does anyone have any idea why my pictures on Google Reader are sometimes centered, and sometimes to the left? I’ts so frustrating because in the WordPress editor and on the WordPress page, they’re all centered. I wonder what the dealio is.

Thanks for reading!


P.S. Like the new sig? 🙂

10 responses to “I Hate Crickets.

  1. Lovely signature! 🙂
    I think you can eat the Attune bar yourself – though you’re so kind and would like to share it with us!
    I have no idea regarding pics on Google reader. I see that they are sometimes linked to the text if there’s no space between the text and the pic..otherwise I have no idea..
    Boring weeks..I’m often frustrated because I don’t take good pictures. Even if the food is great and the picture is bad, I don’t think it looks appealing so I skip posting. Lately I take little pics of food because the lightening is terrible (I kind of don’t make it to bring food outside and take a pic of it. What would my neighbours say if they saw me exercising around a plate of food? :))
    xoxo

  2. I do like the signature! 🙂
    I usually think people are silly when it comes to insects, as long as they’re not actually being attacked, but that’s a little double-faced because I HATE all worms, caterpillars, centipedes, millipedes… squirmy things. Ugh.
    I think if I got in the habit of posting more food-related things, I would start to feel bad when I don’t. Sometimes I don’t feel like it’s really worth my time or the megabytes, you know, to put all of what I eat on the Internet. It would make my blog more universally appealing, I’m sure, but… there’s enough good eats out there to look at.
    I write my blog posts on Windows Live Writer, a free program download. It’s a little easier than writing online, but there are always those pesky technical issues… your blog looks great anyhow. 🙂
    The banana+oat thing looks interesting; I will have to try that sometime!
    Blessings,
    Alisha

  3. Haha sometimes I forget to take pictures altogether! I dive into my food and then realize I should’ve taken a picture. Bummer. Hahha

    Your food still looks yummy though! 😀

  4. Haha…once there was a snake in my garage and I almost threw up I was so scared!! Bugs don’t bother me as much – but snakes, just forget about it. I was trapped on top of my car for like 30 minutes until my neighbor heard me screaming and came and chopped its head off with a shovel. Dramatic but true.

    Also, yay for the banana mash!! I’m so glad you tried it and liked it…the cacao nibs are perfect addition!

  5. Sorry, not really interested in that bar after its super harsh life. 😉 . . .

    I’m totally cool with bugs.

    I’ve been doing tons of cooking this summer, so I have lots of blogging content! 🙂 But I also include art and reviews on my blog. And I don’t limit myself to only recipes.

    And 4. . . I’ve been having A TON of trouble with WordPress. It kicks me off when I’m typing a post quite frequently. I’ve had the picture centering problem a couple times, but it’s not my biggest issue. :s

  6. I love that pb stuff from Katie too! So yummy. If I have boring eats then I try to think of something else to feature, like a recipe or something! Your new signature is awesome 🙂

  7. i have a funny story about crickets. there’s this one beatles song on the Abbey Road album that has the sound of crickets chirping in the background, and once while i was listening to that album in my car (that song), i thought there was a cricket in my car and FREAKED OUT! i even pulled over to look for the cricket… but once i turned off the engine of course, the sound of the cricket disappeared! i like the sound of crickets but not really the crickets themselves… i guess i just grew up listening to the sound of crickets chirping outside my window so it has always been a soothing sound to me.

    i am always the one in my college dorm room to kill bugs… haha. i dont like them but im not terrified of them.

  8. teenagehealthfreak

    mmmm..I see coconut..yum..lol. bugs don’t bother me..spiders/snakes…yes. I like the new signature..very cute. 🙂

  9. squigglefloey

    Beautiful blog!! Just found it, love the background.
    For some reason I’m not as scared as bugs as I thought I would be. I just kill the larger ones if I see them. It’s ants or fleas that really annoy/freak me out. Probably because they mass multiple and I feel like I can’t control them! They’re either flying or crawling all over in masses.

    <3floey

  10. oh geez i dont blame you about the crickets. isnt it so strange why people eat choc covered crickets as a delicatessant!!! crazy ppl!!

    here its ants, spiders, and silverfish. most ppl havent heard of silverfish but theyre very gross. lol

    oh i totally wouldnt mind an attune bar giveaway..if its open to this canadian girl. i always get so sad being canadian and only americans can enter lol. hey but since im moving to cali in 2011 i will finally be able to enter freely lol

    wow that green and blacks looks like i totally dif choc bar since its so crazy thick and delicious in the pic! YUM

    awe and i LOVE the new name signature sign at the end. hehe 🙂 makes it fun to have the name ‘Kelsey’ huh!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

