Attune Probiotic Chocolate Bars Review

This is the review you I have all been waiting for! Haha. 🙂 A few weeks ago, an extremely kind lady named Annelies from the Attune company contacted me, asking if I wanted to sample and review some of their bars. I of course said yes, and taking into account my recent dairy avoidance, she sent me their three dairy-free, probiotic dark chocolate bars! 🙂 They came in original, raspberry, and coffee bean.

A little about the Attune company and probiotics:

Health & Wellness

A healthy digestive system plays a large part in your overall health and wellness. To begin, if your digestive system isn’t working well, it’s tough for your body to get all of the nutrients, vitamins and minerals from the foods you eat. Now add daily stresses, poor diet, antibiotics, travel, and other things we deal with every day, and it’s pretty easy for your body to get out of balance.

So what can you do to help your digestive system? Try Attune. Attune is packed with clinically proven probiotics that replenish and rebalance the friendly bacteria that keep your digestive system balanced and healthy.

Digestive Comfort & Immunity

Busy lifestyles, large meals, late dinners and other stresses can result in an overworked digestive system that could use a little help.

Attune’s clinically proven probiotics help promote digestive health*, so you can forget about feeling uncomfortable and focus on feeling your best.

Attune’s probiotics help…friendly bacteria and [helps] keep your digestive system in balance, which helps strengthen your immune system.  By keeping your digestive system healthy, it can help keep you healthier overall.

What are Probiotics?

The probiotics story begins with intestinal bacteria, which are a community of good and bad bacteria that live in the digestive system. We all have naturally occurring bacterial communities in our digestive systems. They help:

  • Protect the body from harmful bacteria.

  • Exercise the immune system to ensure it is ready to react to harmful bacteria.

  • Strengthen the intestinal wall so it acts as a defensive barrier.

  • Digest fiber in the diet, so we can absorb the nutrients from the foods we eat.

These digestive bacteria are essential to overall wellbeing. Probiotics act as a helper to these friendly bacteria, and that help can keep the digestive system functioning well.

For even more information about the health benefits, feel free to visit Attune’s website.

Before I move onto the taste review, I want to first review this company. I absolutely LOVE what they’re trying to do. How genius is it to load a chocolate bar with probiotics? I think it’s wonderful to take something that’s usually considered bad for you and replace it with something that can be very good for you. I commend them in their efforts to reintroduce probiotics to the world.

Now onto the best part: the taste-testing! 🙂

Original

Stats/Ingredients: As a clean-eater, it’s important to me that almost everything I eat be free of chemicals, preservatives, refined sugar and overly processed ingredients. I like it to be natural, and this bar did not disappoint. It has a fairly short ingredient list, not including the probiotics:

Dark Chocolate Coating (chocolate, evaporated cane juice, cocoa powder, inulin, calcium carbonate, cocoa butter, soy lecithin, vanilla)

In case you were wondering, the listed 6.1B Probiotic Cultures are:

Bifidobacterium lactis HN019, Lactobacillus acidophilus NCFM™, Lactobacillus casei LC-11

At first I didn’t like that the second ingredient is cane juice, but with only 6g of sugar I decided it wasn’t that big of a deal. It has a fairly low amount of carbs (8g net), is only 80 calories and has 6g fat, 3.5 of which are saturated. I should also mention that is has 30% of your daily recommended value of calcium, which is pretty dang awesome.

Taste: It was actually really, really good. I enjoyed it a lot; however, the chocolate was a little sweet, which was probably due to its 68% cocoa content. That’s a little low for me personally, as I prefer 89% or higher. For the average person with normal tastebuds, however, I think it’d be great. I definitely liked it a lot.

Raspberry

Stats/Ingredients: This bar also has a short, natural ingredients list. Yay! It’s pretty much the same as the dark chocolate bar, with the addition of freeze-dried raspberry pieces. So, everything I mentioned in the above “Stats/Ingredients” section above applies in this one, too. 🙂

Ingredients, including probiotics:

Chocolate Coating (chocolate liquor, cane juice crystals, cocoa butter, inulin, natural cocoa, calcium carbonate, vanilla, soy lecithin (an emulsifier)), Freeze Dried Raspberries, *6.1B Probiotic Cultures: (Bifidobacterium lactis HN019, Lactobacillus acidophilus NCFM™, Lactobacillus casei LC-11).

It has 90 calories per 20g bar, 6g net carbs, 4g sugar, 1g protein and 8g of fat, 4.5 of which are saturated. This one contains 20% of your recommended daily value of calcium. 🙂

Taste: I really enjoyed this bar! It was also sweet due to the low cocoa content, but it was very yummy. I loved the little raspberry pieces through out and I was sad when I finished the bar. It’s a close tie, but I think I like the dark chocolate a little better. I usually prefer my chocolate solo. 🙂

Coffee Bean

I actually don’t consume coffee products for personal reasons, so this was one bar I did not get to test. I don’t know of any friends that drink/consume coffee either, but I’ll keep an eye out. 🙂

Probiotics

As for the probiotics in these particular bars, I’m not sure I can vouch for them accurately. Unfortunately my package came in while I was out of town, so it went from doorstep to UPS truck a couple times. By the time I finally received them, the bars were melted and I figured that the probiotics had been killed. What a bummer. 😦

That being said, I did some looking on the Attune website, and they really recommend taking a 14-day challenge. You eat an Attune bar every day for two weeks, then you see how you or your digestive health has improved in that time. Pretty cool, huh? Based on that information, I would guess that I wouldn’t have noticed that much of a difference after eating one chocolate bar.

Regardless, I have a testimony of probiotics and I know they’re good things. Everyone could use more in their diets, and I really am glad Attune has come up with a way to make it easier.

I would recommend these products to you as a a delicious chocolate snack, a great source of calcium and a wonderful source of good-for-you probiotics! You can find them in the dairy/yogurt section of Whole Foods or possibly even your local supermarket. Check here. 🙂

Thanks for reading!

Kelsey 🙂

9 responses to “Attune Probiotic Chocolate Bars Review

  1. Pingback: Attune Probiotic Chocolate Bars Review « CleanTeenKelsey Eating

  2. Yumm I want ot try these! I would probably like the dark choco best 🙂

  3. teenagehealthfreak

    those look yummo!!!..and i would probably like the coffe one..lol..I love the chocolate/coffee laura bar!!!

  4. Very detailed review, great job. 😉 I haven’t seen these at my WholeFoods, but I’ll keep a look out.

  5. oh i wish i was near you right now cuz id totally try the coffee one for ya 🙂

    i will keep my eye out too for those bars. i love eating new food bars- i get so excited ❤ hehe

    xoxo

  6. So you found a product to review! Nice.
    I admire your clean-eating dedication. I have all the facts and ideals in my head, but often it’s hard to disconnect “eating healthy” and my disordered eating from each other. Ironically, when I ate the cleanest and healthiest, I was the unhealthiest in mind and spirit, and I deprived myself.
    I need to find a balance between eating healthily and becoming obsessive about it; currently I tend to err on the side of eating less-than-perfect foods.
    Right now, I would rather have a healthy spirit and mind and LIFE than a perfectly healthy body, you know?
    Sorry about the dead(?) probiotics! Shipping is a blessing and a curse (I always try to get free shipping on Amazon!)

  7. I’m with you on the clean eating thing and am happy to hear that they aren’t filled with too many crazy ingredients or overly sugared. I prefer my chocolate BLACK as well but would be interested in trying these anyway. I definitely like that they are filled with calcium. Although I believe in get vitamins (including probiotics, if possible) from the source, a little help in the form of chocolate couldn’t hurt. How did you get in touch with the company? I don’t consume coffee either, but I’d still be interested in trying it. They all sound like delicious healthy indulgences :D!

    Have a lovely day!

    P.S. Apple has been redoing it’s email site lately so I think that’s why we’re having email issues. I’ll get back to you asap :).

  8. Great product review! I will definitely be looking for those on my next whole foods trip!

  9. Pingback: I am constipated all the time. I ordered a bottle of senna leaf. Is it safe to take everyday? | Tea

Leave a Reply

