The Mother of All Oats

Okay, here is the real post I promised. Sorry it took me so long; my time has been very limited, and I like to respond to everyone’s comments before writing my next post.

Before I begin, I want to say hello to my new readers! It made my week to come home to so many comments saying “I just found your blog.” You guys make me so happy. Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoy my blog. 🙂

Moving right along! I told you guys that I have a new method to prepare my oatmeal, but then I left you hanging. I’m so evil. 😛 Regardless, I’m here now to share it with you and I’m very excited to do so.

I wish I could take credit for it, but the credit goes to Hungry-Girl. I read one of her Q&A emails recently, and the question was from a person who loves oatmeal, but is never full after eating it. HG said she had the same problem, but that she remedied it by doing something very simple: doubling the amount of liquid.

That’s right. Instead of adding 2/3 cup water to your 1/3 cup of oats, you add 1 + 1/3 cup of water. Rather than using 1 cup liquid for every 1/2 cup oats, you use 2 cups liquid.

It sounds incredibly simple–too simple, and you may think it won’t work; however, I’m here to tell you that it does! In time, your pot of oat-speckled water will turn into a creamy, fluffy, HUGE bowl of oats. (Wow, do I sound like a car salesman or what?) I thought it looked double the usual size and it was way more filling.

I found that it worked best when I left the pot simmering on medium for 7-10 minutes, stirring occasionally. After I let the oatmeal cool and set up it got even more thick. Surprisingly I needed to add a little extra liquid to stir in my mix-ins!

So, even though I can’t take credit for the method itself, I haven’t seen any other blogger do this yet. Can I take credit for being the first one to show it to you guys? 😛

Here are some picture of my 2x Oats–in a jar. 🙂

At first it’ll look like wayy too much liquid, but it will start to boil and will eventually be more like this…

Told you it was thick. Yes folks, that is 1/3 cup of oatmeal.

Sorry for the terrible lighting.

After stirring in my protein powder and a little extra water.

Yumm. 🙂

I spooned it all into a nearly-empty 365 brand peanut butter jar (the best PB ever! I know Katie would agree. :D) and topped it with a little granola and some shredded coconut.

It was really great and I enjoyed it a lot. I highly recommend the 2x Oats method!

Some other food I consumed that day was a SIAB and an Asian Tofu Stirfry. So good.

A C³ Breakfast Shake: chocolate, cherries and coconut. ❤ Do you like my cute little bowl?

For dinner I began by cutting up a whole bunch of vegetables and sauteing them.

Asparagus, broccoli, green pepper, zucchini, squash, corn, tomatoes and snap peas. Absolutely beautiful. I don’t understand how people can use artificial colors when there are so many beautiful, contrasting natural colors out there!

After sauteing the veggies, I sauteed some firm tofu in a ginger soy organic marinade, then tossed it all in a bowl. I also added some coconut, pineapple and almonds. It was beyond delicious.

Last but not least, I’ve been teasing you all for quite some time about an upcoming product review. It’s late right now and I need to go to bed, but I can tell you that I was sent some lovely Attune Probiotic chocolate bars to taste and review!! They were absolutely delicious and I can’t wait to give my full review within the next few days. It will require a little extra computer time, but they were great and I look forward to writing about them.

Goodness, I’m such a night-owl. It’s 2 AM! Agh! Goodnight everyone. 🙂

Thanks for reading!

Kelsey 🙂

8 responses to “The Mother of All Oats

  1. I have never thought to double the amount of liquid, but now I definitely want to try it!! I don’t normally do stovetop oats but hopefully tomorrow when I have more time in the morning I can. Thanks for the tip girl! 🙂

  2. I made healthy chocolate oatmeal yesterday by stirring 2 T of coco powder into my banana oats. It was soooooo amazing. We’re such smart girls. 😉

  3. those are some mighty dynamite oats Kels! ❤

    uno its good when its thick and can hold a fantastic texture when u pick it up with a spoon!

    YUM<3

  4. teenagehealthfreak

    mmm…that stir-fry sounds great! 🙂

  5. Oh Kelsey, you really are the sweetest, most thoughtful girl. Great minds must think alike, with our posting about the same idea :). And I can think of no one with whom I’d rather share a mind connection than pretty little you!
    Happy Saturday, fellow 365 pb-lover!

  6. Pingback: Egg, Bacon, Cheddar makeover « Teens Eat

  7. Pingback: The Most Creative Meal of the Day « CleanTeenKelsey

  8. I ALWAYS use this method with my oats-it makes it way more creamy and delicious anyway-WHICH I LOVE! hehe hope you’re having a great week; haven’t heard from you in awhile!

Leave a Reply

