Return of the Pomegranates

Guess who’s back, back again? Pomegranate’s back, tell a friend.

Just kidding. I never liked Eminem; that song just fit well with my title. 🙂

Anyway, you may remember that a few weeks ago, POM Wonderful sent me some of their lovely juice to try. I’ve been using a little bit every day, and I’ve also attempted a few more creative “recipes” with it. Observe:

1. Protein pancakes made with POM Wonderful juice as the liquid instead of almond milk.

Made with 1 scoop vanilla protein powder, a couple handfuls of whole wheat pastry flour (the pancakes would NOT cook up without the flour. Kinda disappointing) a shake each of baking powder/soda, 1/4 cup flax-egg mixture and POM Wonderful juice.

Topped with warmed frozen cherries, 1/6 of a frozen banana, coconut cream and shredded coconut. Um, YUM.

Oh my gosh good.

2. Protein shake spiked with POM Wonderful juice.

Hello Mr. SIAB, nice of you to join us. 🙂 This was a very KERF-inspired meal.

1 scoop vanilla protein powder, 1/3 cup frozen cherries, 1/2 frozen banana, a splash of POM Wonderful juice, all topped with a tiiiiny sprinkle of granola, shredded coconut and coconut cream.  Yuuum.

3. Pomegranate Quinoa Salad.

Say what?! Um, yeah. This was INCREDIBLE. All I did was cook up 1/4 cup quinoa with 1/4 cup POM Wonderful juice and 1/4 cup water. After that, I stirred in various mix-ins such as broccoli, carrots, cucumber, tomatoes, dried edamame and chopped almonds. No dressing needed; the pomegranate juice gave this salad HUGE amounts of flavor. Soo good.

4. Pomegranate-sauteed veggies and tofu.

I made a really yummy sandwich last night with grilled veggies and tofu, but I did something out of the ordinary. Rather than use my normal lemon juice trick, I decided to saute everything in pomegranate juice. It was definitely a good idea, and I definitely think you should try it. See the little pink edge on the piece of tofu sticking out? Yeah, pomegranates are kinda pushy with their color. 😛

Another thing I plan to do soon is something my lovely friend Mandiee suggested: make a glaze for tempeh out of pom juice! Great idea, Mandiee! I can’t wait to try it.

I hope you guys liked the ideas for ways to use your POM juice. It’s one of those things I’d heard a lot about it in the past and I’ve been grateful for the opportunity to test it out!

Speaking of things I’ve heard a lot about, what are some of your favorite things that are popular amongst bloggers? You know what I’m talking about: those items that are featured on almost every blog, such as chia seeds, xanthan/guar gum, goji berries, etc.

My favorites are probably coconut cream/butter, Larabars and nutritional yeast. I’d heard a lot about each before I tried them, but after I did I was hooked. However, I still have a $25 giftcard to Whole Foods burning a whole in my pocket and I’m trying to decide how to use it. There are lots of things I haven’t tried yet and I want to make the most of my upcoming Whole Foods trip! Here are some things I’m considering..

  • cacao nibs (they’re at the top of my list for a reason, lol)
  • kabocha
  • xanthan gum
  • guar gum
  • agar agar
  • chia seeds
  • stevia
  • egg replacer (I think it’d be a lot easier than using flax/water every time)

Of course there are plenty more; I often wish I could just go on a huge Whole Foods shopping spree. Wouldn’t that be fun?!

What do you guys think? Have you tried any of the above products? What are your opinions? I’d love to know how you think I should spend my gift card. 🙂

Thanks for reading!

Kelsey 🙂

4 responses to “Return of the Pomegranates

  1. I’ve been drinking POM for awhile but never realized you could make things with it. I had lunch with my friend and we had POM Blackberry tea which comes in a bottle. I actually like that better than the straight POM and kind of switched to that. There’s others flavors but I don’t remember what they are. She was the one that told me about POM to begin with. And I still like the regular POM too.

    I think you will own your own restaurant one day.

  2. The POM protien pancakes look very creative girly, like the twist.

  3. UPDATE: This morning my sister made POM smoothies and with the left overs we made POM popsicles for later. She used POM juice, frozen blueberries, yogurt and honey. I think she just guessed on the ingredients but it came out great. We used one of those plastic popsicle makers to pour the leftovers in. She said she would make the pancakes this weekend sometime but is going to use a different type of flour. I’m not a cook but my sister is good at it.

  4. teenagehealthfreak

    yum to POM pancakes…looks great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

