Ballroom Competition and My Two New Pledges

Hey everyone!

This weekend has been crazy, fun and stressful. Why, you ask? Because as I mentioned in my last post, I competed in my first ballroom competition!

I competed in three different categories: Country/Western (Two-Step, C/W Cha-Cha and Swing), Latin (Cha-Cha, Rumba and Swing) and Smooth (Tango, Foxtrot and Waltz). I danced 16 different times and ended up placing 1st nine times, 2nd five times and 3rd two times. It was really great and I learned a lot!

Here are some pictures from the weekend:

My dance partner, Shane, and I. You might remember this dress from my first prom. We actually bought it for competition, but I wore it for prom, too.  😛

Waiting in between dances.

This is me being relieved in my room after the first day. Competition hair/makeup + PJs, lol.

Latin!

My Smooth costume. Yes, I also wore this competition dress to prom, lol.

Our whole group after the competition had ended. The relief is evident across all our faces, lol.

Shane and me again.

The boys showing off their numbers, haha.

I was crazy busy so I didn’t take any pictures, but here’s a picture of a yummy bowl of oatmeal I had on Saturday morning.

I wish I could remember what was in it.. I think it was just 1/3 cup oats cooked in 1/3 cup water + 1/3 cup Unsweetened Almond Breeze with cinnamon. Then I topped it with 2 sliced strawberries and like, 1/6 of a banana. Oh, and you can’t forget that beautiful dollop of peanut butter and the pretty sprinkling of unsweetened coconut.

My recent bowls of oatmeal have had more carbs and fat than they have in the past, but I’m all right with that. I used to not pair fruit with oatmeal or PB with coconut for fear of too many carbs/grams of fat, but I’ve realized that that’s totally dumb. For one thing, more carbs in the morning means more sustained energy through out the day, and for another thing, my skin really seems to enjoy fat. (Lol, that sounds funny.) My hands are usually dry and cracked, but they don’t seem to be that way when I’m consuming more fat. Also, I really like fruit with oatmeal or peanut butter with shredded coconut. Those are things I enjoy. I’m not trying to lose weight and I portion myself well, so it’s silly to worry about it.

Speaking of not worrying, I had an epiphany the other day. I went with my friends to get ice cream, but I just sat and talked while they ate. My friend Josh got a banana split that looked awesome, but I immediately started thinking of ways I could “healthify” it. I could use So Delicious soy ice cream (it’s clean and organic), coconut oil + cocoa powder + sucanat chocolate sauce, stovetop smashed-fruit jam, a banana, cashew “whipped” cream, etc. Sure I realized it wouldn’t exactly be “good for you,” but I figured it’d be better than the alternative.

As I began listing my substitutions out loud, my friend Josh interrupted me. “No, stop,” he said. “You’re taking all the fun out of it. You don’t eat ice cream to be healthy; you eat it because it makes you fat and it tastes good.” I almost disagreed with him, but what he said really made me think. While I don’t completely agree, he has a point. It’s great to be able to make healthier versions of your favorite things, but sometimes it shouldn’t be necessary. Sometimes we need to be able to let loose and enjoy the simple things in life, like a banana split with your friends or s’mores around the campfire.

So this is my new pledge to myself: every now and then, on the very special occasion, I’m going to try to relax the rules a little bit. That doesn’t mean I’ll totally abandon them, but I’m trying to teach myself that sometimes it’s okay to be less strict.

In addition, I’ve also decided on another pledge: to listen to myself.  Heavenly Father created the body to be intuitive, unique and intelligent, equipped with the knowledge of what it needs to perform at its best. It would be wonderful if we could all listen to and trust it because of that fact, but the logical side of us often interferes. We tend to overlook the body’s promptings because “we know better.”

For example, society tells me that I need to watch my fat intake and use low-fat versions of things whenever possible. My body, however, does not agree with that mindset based on my dry skin. Thus, unless I want cracked knuckles and rough hands, it’s my job to listen to my body and disregard everyone else. That’s what works for me, and that’s all that matters.

Of course there needs to be balance in everything. Sure my body functions better when I consume more fat, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to guzzle jars of peanut butter or down avocados by the handful. I can still keep my common sense without sticking to the restrictive, text-book rules and you can, too.

I hope you understand the point I’m trying to make and that this isn’t a long, meaningless tangent. I really feel like it’s important to give our bodies what they ask for, whether it be more protein, more water, more exercise or more sleep. I’m still in the process of figuring out what I need, but I will be sure to keep you up to date on how it goes.

Well, with that I’d like to end this post, but do me a favor and answer the following question…

Question of the Day: Will YOU pledge to listening to your body, common sense included? Will you give it what it needs, regardless of what society or logic says? Please say yes!

Thanks for reading!

Kelsey 🙂

3 responses to “Ballroom Competition and My Two New Pledges

  1. Yes! I promise to listen to my body! Mom and I are starting a sugar deal. Which is basically, we’re going to not eat processed sugar excessively. We’re trying to eat better. I’ve set goals for the summer for myself, and I promise you that your blog is going to help me reach them! Thanks for being so involved in clean eating, Kelsey Marie!

  2. Hey Kelsey!

    I just found your blog and wanted to let you know it’s really cool! I’m 16 as well, and have been really into living a healthy lifestyle for about a year now. I love all your posts because you seem really fun and also mature for your age, but I especially love the pledge you made to respect yourself. I learned the hard way that being too healthy and extreme about eating can lead to really bad consequences, so I’m glad to see that you seem to have a good head on your shoulders about that!
    I’m looking forward to following your blog, and if you want to chat sometime that would be great! I love cooking and eating, so it seems like we have a lot in common!
    Liv

  3. I’ve realized that too: sometimes trying to “healthify” treats like ice cream just defeats the purpose of ice cream. Amen, girl!

    PS: I am so impressed by the dancing! And you’re in a movie? Wow!

Leave a Reply

