Three New Breakfast Recipes

Hey everyone!

I hope you enjoyed yesterday’s post, even though it was slightly rant-y. I’ve been meaning to make my pledges public for quite some time and I felt like yesterday was the perfect opportunity. Thank you for sharing your pledges with me and I hope to hear many more!

Let me begin with a recap of yesterday’s food:

I woke up craving pancakes, so that’s what I made. I recently bought a new brand of protein powder called Nutribiotic (I got vanilla) and was anxious to see how it would work in pancakes with it being rice protein.

I quickly whipped up my batter which was 1 (30 gram) scoop Nutribiotic protein powder, 1/5 banana – mashed, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, 1 tsp sucanat and Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze till it was the right consistency. It did not hold together on the griddle at ALL, so I added a small handful of whole wheat pastry flour to see if it would help. It definitely worked better, but I still had a really hard time flipping the pancakes and getting them to stand up. I guess that’s what happens when you don’t use eggs or the flax/water combo.

After many failed attempts, I gave up on the idea of “pancakes” and decided to scramble the batter like eggs. I ate the scramble in a bowl with a yummy apple topping (recipe below) and some Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze. Yum!

Coconutty Apple Topping
(Makes 1 serving)

  • 1/3 of an apple, chopped
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tbsp coconut oil (depending on your allowance of fat)
  • big shake of cinnamon
  • big shake of apple/pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1 tsp peanut butter
  • 1 tsp coconut cream concentrate or coconut butter

Place the first four ingredients in a sauce pan and cook over medium heat. As the oil starts to cook away, slowly add the water, using more or less as needed. Let the apples cook for a few minutes until they’re soft, then remove from heat and stir in the peanut butter and coconut cream/butter. Top over pancakes and enjoy!

My breakfast was very delicious, but it left me craving one thing for lunch: vegetables.

It was pretty simple. I sauteed broccoli, green peppers, tempeh and carrots in lemon juice with some spices, then tossed the hot veggies with raw cucumber and half a raw tomato. I dressed it all with a little more lemon juice, balsamic vinegar and a tiny smidge of POM Wonderful juice.

After lunch I wanted to use up the mango I had sitting in the fridge, so I made this.

Mango Mousse

  • 1 mango, peeled and seeded
  • 1 tbsp coconut cream/butter
  • sprinkle of unsweetened shredded coconut

Combine first two ingredients in a high-speed blender or food processor. Blend well until the mixture is thick and fluffy. Spoon into a bowl and top with the shredded coconut.

I think this may be my new favorite way to eat mango. It was like a bowl full of fluffy, decadent mango pudding heaven. Please try this soon and let me know what you think. 😀

Four hours later, after snacking on some broccoli and salsa, I made a bowl of cracked wheat for dinner. Typically my dinners are more veggie-based because starchy carbs aren’t the best thing to have at night: they leave you with a heavy feeling in your stomach and can make it hard to sleep; not to mention, carbs are converted into energy which your body doesn’t need before bed. However, I really wanted cracked wheat and it would be another five hours til I went to bed, so I had cracked wheat. I have to honor my pledge to listen to myself, right?

1/4 cup cracked wheat cooked in 1/2 cup Unsweetened Almond Breeze, 1.5 tsp sucanat, one small handful of raisins, 1/6 frozen banana – sliced and 1 TBSP peanut butter.

It was really carb-y, and it was really good.

Well, I guess that means I’m caught up now and I can tell you about my AMAZING breakfast this morning!

After my cracked wheat dinner last night, there was only about a tablespoon of peanut butter left in the jar. Of course, you all know what that means: OIAJ. This wasn’t just any OIAJ, though. It was possibly the most amazing OIAJ I’ve ever had. I call the combo Blondie Brownie Overnight Oats, and it can be made in a jar like mine or just a regular bowl. Last night I combined..

  • 1 (3o gram) scoop vanilla protein powder (I used Nutribiotic)
  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 frozen banana, smashed (I wasn’t planning on using it, but Nutribiotic doesn’t taste very good so the banana was really needed)
  • 1.5 tsp sucanat
  • 2/3 cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze
  • Optional: 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • Optional: small handful of dark chocolate chips (I didn’t use any, but you can if you want the full Blondie Brownie effect)
  • Rest of the PB jar, which was about one tablespoon (If you’re making this in a normal bowl, just slowly stir in the peanut butter.)

Then in the morning top with..

  • Small sprinkle of unsweetened shredded coconut
  • Optional: chopped walnuts (I used 3 almonds since I didn’t have walnuts)

Enjoy!! Oh my word, this was soo good. It was thick and fudgy like a brownie, and I really, really liked it.

Well, that’s all for right now. I might be back later with a lunch/dinner post.. I guess we’ll just have to see. 🙂

Thanks for reading!

Kelsey 🙂

P.S. Don’t forget to think about and follow your pledges to yourself! Thanks to Heather for the idea in the first place. 🙂

2 responses to “Three New Breakfast Recipes

  1. So glad you’re listening to what your body wants. Seems like such a simple concept, but I know for me, it can be really challenging as I stopped listening to all my signals years ago. Now I’m trying to tune into them once again, and it’s hard! However, I always feel better when I do listen.

    Your blondie oats in a jar looked and sounded amazing – totally made up for the pancake mishap although your Cocunutty Apple topping sounding pretty amazing too atop the protein pancake scramble. You are so creative in the kitchen. 🙂

  2. That coconut apple topping sounds SO delicious! And I definitely saved your blondie oats recipe. Can’t wait to give it a try!!

    I read that post about your pledge and it. is. amazing. I related SO much to everything you said! Especially that part about healthifying the banana split. I do stuff like that in my head without even realizing! Anyway just wanted to say that your post really inspired me 🙂

Leave a Reply

