POM Wonderful Review :)

Hey everyone!

A few weeks ago the folks at POM Wonderful contacted me asking me to review their pomegranate juice on my blog. I excitedly agreed, and I received the package came the other day!

The box.

Some information about pomegranates and pomegranate juice.

This shows you just how high in antioxidants POM Wonderful is compared to other drinks!

They sent me eight of these little 8 oz. bottles. So cute!

Some information from the POM Wonderful website:

100% Authentic

POM is the only brand that can guarantee 100% authentic pomegranate juice because we are the only brand to grow, juice and bottle our own fruit. There are no middlemen.

At POM Wonderful, pomegranates are our only business. We grow them, pick them and juice them ourselves. We believe in the goodness and the amazing health benefits of Wonderful variety pomegranates, and we promise 100% authentic pomegranate juice in every bottle we ship.

Not every brand is as honest as POM Wonderful. Three independent labs tested ten other brands claiming to have 100% pomegranate juice and found that nine out of ten so-called pomegranate juices had added sugar, colorants and other low-grade fruit juices. So, other juices may be less expensive than ours, but you get what you pay for.

Pomegranates are the heart and soul of our company. For the superior antioxidant health benefits and genuine pomegranate juice taste, there’s only one choice – POM Wonderful 100% Pomegranate Juice.

Backed by Science

Only POM Wonderful products are backed by $34 million in medical research. Actually, we are the only pomegranate juice backed by any medical research at all.

There has been a lot of talk lately about the role of pomegranates in promoting heart health, prostate health and proper erectile function. But while these results are promising, keep in mind that all of the research has been done on POM Wonderful products. Our juice comes from a unique pomegranate variety (the Wonderful), which is grown in a unique location (California), and which is juiced with proprietary technology (ours!). No other pomegranate juice can claim these distinctions, and no other brand has been clinically tested.

To read about the tests that have done and what the results were, go here. It’s some pretty interesting stuff!

I’m not much of a juice drinker because I prefer to eat my fruit fiber and all, but I’ve really enjoyed having the POM Wonderful juice in small amounts. It tastes great on its own and I’ve loved using it in various recipes.

The first way I used it was mixed into some greek yogurt, topped with a few almonds.

I’ve also been using it on my salads in place of the orange juice in my Ultimate Salad Dressing, and one time I mixed it into some cottage cheese. It was REALLY good, so I created the following recipe.

Pomegranate Coconut Overnight Oats

(I know it looks REALLY gross, but I promise it was absolutely amazing!)

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/6 cup low-fat cottage cheese
  • 1/6 cup fat-free plain greek yogurt
  • 1/3 cup POM Wonderful pomegranate juice
  • Unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 tbsp cashew butter

Combine first four ingredients in a bowl or tupperware container and store in the fridge overnight. In the morning top with unsweetened shredded coconut and cashew butter. Enjoy!

Ahh wow. I was surprised at how amazing this actually was! I really want to make it again soon… maybe tomorrow? πŸ™‚ Also, feel free to use any nut butter you like (I bet almond butter would be amazing) and feel free to change up the ratio of cottage cheese to yogurt. I wouldn’t do 1/3 cup greek yogurt because it’d be too tart, but I bet 1/3 cup cottage cheese would be great!

Lol. It kinda looks like a weird, deconstructed lasagna. I promise it does NOT taste like that haha.

I hope you enjoyed my POM Wonderful review! It’s good stuff and I recommend you give it a shot, even if you only use it in recipes like me.

Anyway, I want to show you guys another bowl of oatmeal I had recently that was really good. It was Chocolate Peanut Butter Coconut Banana Oatmeal. Quite the mouthful, I know.

  • 1/3 cup oats cooked in 1/3 cup water + 1/3 cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze
  • Protein Cookie Dough blob made with 1 (20 gram) scoop chocolate protein powder, 1 TBSP peanut butter and a drizzle of almond milk
  • Unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/4 small, ripe banana
  • drizzle of Unsweetened Almond Milk on top

A little heavy on carbs and fat for one meal, but I’m a growing teenage girl and I’m not worried. πŸ™‚ Besides, it was delicious and I loved it!

Oh yeah, I also made almond butter the other day! Remember this little guy?

Well, my mom finally got him to work! Hooray! The mixing chamber is a lot smaller than my Vita-Mix, so it’s really easy to make little batches of things.

The aforementioned almond butter:

I made it with raw almonds, so I had to add a little coconut oil to get things going. Yum.

I’m leaving to Dallas tomorrow for my ballroom competition this weekend, so this will be my last post till then. Eek! I’m nervous. I’ll post pics and videos at the end of the week. Wish me luck!

Kelsey πŸ™‚

11 responses to “POM Wonderful Review :)

  1. Raw almond butter? Yes please! Raw almond butter is my favoriteeee. Can we be best friends now? But seriously girl, we should totally chat. It’s so nice to see another girl my age passionate about healthy living and blogging it up. (Which reminds me, I totally love the new background. It’s simply adorable!) Anyway, I’m totally jealous that PomWonderful sent you some goodies. I absolutely adore pomegranates; they’re such a treat (but definitely a mess)! It looks like you’ve been enjoying lots of yummy oats lately, as well. All I can say is LOOOVE.

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  2. Um, yum! I am bookmarking these recipes because POM will be sending me some samples in the mail soon too! πŸ™‚

  3. Okay, these overnight oat concoctions seriously look AMAZING. I love anything with coconut. I will be trying them asap! πŸ™‚

  4. Looks like you made really good use of the POM!! Love the new layout by the way! πŸ™‚
    xoxo

  5. girlie your chocolate peanut butter banana oatmeal looks crazy good!! i just might have to make an overnight version of it!

  6. oh that peanut butter oatmeal looks amaaazing (: & cutest layout, i’m jealous!

  7. Hey girl!!! Great review and just wanted to say LOVEEEE the new layout its adorable!!! Sorry i havent been commenting lately things have been CRAAAZZZZY with school ending and all, but summer is almost here!! hehe glad to see your doing well ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀

  8. Pingback: Long Weekend « CleanTeenKelsey

  9. Pingback: Return of the Pomegranates « CleanTeenKelsey

  10. Pingback: I’m 3 Months Old :) « CleanTeenKelsey

  11. Thanks for this link, love! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

