Prom #2

Hello, lovelies!

This weekend has been a lot of fun. Like I mentioned before, we had friends in town which was absolutely great. My friend Ben (he was my prom date in this post) enjoys cooking like I do, so whenever he visits we always cook up a storm in the kitchen.

Unfortunately, my laziness got the best of me and I took very few pictures. I’m sorry guys! I fail at food blogging apparently, lol. Oh well, I can still tell you about the food we made and you can use your imagination to determine what it looked like. πŸ™‚

I ended the last post saying that I needed to go make my own pizza, and that is exactly what I did:

Sorry it’s not a pretty picture. We needed to leave and were literally waiting for my pizza to finish so we could go. Anyway, I cut two slices of the homemade wheat bread Ben brought and topped them with marinara sauce, nutritional yeast “cheese” sauce, tempeh and green peppers. I then baked the pizzas in the oven at 400 degrees for about 10 mins. This was my first experience with NY “cheese” sauce and I am definitely a fan! I enjoyed it a lot and look forward to making it again.

I wasn’t sure how to make it at first, so after a bunch of Googling and memorizing various ingredients, I came up with a basic recipe. It’s basic because it’s pretty much the same as any other nooch “cheese” sauce out there.

  • 2 TBSP nooch
  • liquid (I used unsweetened vanilla almond breeze)
  • onion powder, cumin, garlic
  • whole wheat pastry flour

I basically just did a spoonful here and there of everything, then whisked it all together and spread it on my (unbaked) pizza. Yum!

Another thing I experimented with was making eggless french toast. I’ve noticed as of late that eggs do not agree with my stomach. They leave it gurgly and unhappy, making for an uncomfortable and regret-filled Kelsey. However, I was really craving french toast sans the tummy problems. Once again, after Googling a lot and memorizing ingredients, my basic recipe was something like this:

  • 1/4 cup milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond breeze)
  • lots of cinnamon
  • 1 tsp sucanat
  • ~1 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 tbsp whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 shake each of baking soda and baking powder
  • optional: drizzle (maybe a tsp?) of coconut oil
  • optional: 1/2 banana

Whisk all ingredients together in a bowl. If using banana, blend it in with the other ingredients in a blender. Dip bread into the mix and start making french toast like you normally would!

Yum. Topped with something I came up with called Choconut Protein Glaze. (1 scoop chocolate protein powder + 1 tbsp coconut cream concentrate/coconut butter + non-dairy milk: enough to create the glaze consistency.)

Again, I apologize for the ugly picture. I was, once again, running out the door and had little to no time for photography skills. It tasted amazing though!

This weekend was also my second prom. My first prom was in Houston because Ben asked me to his, but this one was the prom for where I live. My friend Jeff asked me to go with him, and we had a lot of fun!

I thought the corsage was really pretty, lol.

Pinning on the boutonniere. (Thank goodness for spell check. I have NO idea how to spell that word, haha.)

See, I told you it was pretty!

Our group, minus one couple. From left to right: Ben, Audrey C., me, Jeff, Audrey B., and Reed.

Jeff and me.

All the girls. Left to right: Desirae, me, Audrey C., Audrey B.

The boys, plus two of my other friends. Left to right: Jeff, Ben, Reed, Dallin and Shane.

We went to dinner at Olive Garden and it was really fun! There were several other prom groups there as well.

The girls having fun and Dallin being, well, Dallin… haha.

I kept it simple and light with the soup + salad combo. I got the minestrone soup (beans, veggies and noodles in a tomato broth) and the house salad. It was really yummy, but my only complaint was about the salad. The thing I don’t like about Olive Garden is that when you order a salad, you don’t get your own individual salad, dressed how you like it. No, they bring out a huge, drenched-in-dressing salad bowl and you share it amongst the people at your table.

This is actually the second salad they brought out; the first one was dripping with their Italian dressing (even though I’d asked for it on the side) and covered in cheese. If it had just been my bowl, I probably would’ve asked for a new salad, but since it was everyone else’s too, I just went with it. I didn’t want to be rude or cause problems, so I just tried to find the driest pieces possible and be grateful to even have salad.

I tried a breadstick because I’d remembered them being really good, but to my surprise that memory did not hold true. It was way too garlic-y for me and I didn’t want anymore after the first bite.

Hahaah. I love this picture. Audrey and Desirae were joking about how when I post the prom pictures on my blog, they’ll be able to read it and say “I was there!” Desirae wanted a picture holding the salad for proof, apparently. πŸ™‚

So yeah! Prom was really great and we all had a ton of fun. It was awesome being able to spend so much time with my friends and getting to dance crazily with them. πŸ™‚

Well, I need to go to bed. I am really tired and I have to get up at 5:15 AM tomorrow. Blech!

Thanks for reading!

Kelsey πŸ™‚

P.S. More food is coming in the next post, I promise. I also have a (late) Mother’s Day post planned. Yay for mommys. πŸ™‚

2 responses to “Prom #2

  1. Pingback: Happy (Belated) Mother’s Day! « CleanTeenKelsey

  2. Pingback: Ballroom Competition and My Two New Pledges « CleanTeenKelsey

Leave a Reply

