Happy (Belated) Mother’s Day!

Yes, I’m three days late, but Happy Belated Mother’s Day! I love this holiday so much. I know everyone says it, but I truly believe that I have the best mother ever.

Why? Because she is so funny, so kind, so generous and so understanding. Because she does a ton for other people, yet asks for next to nothing in return. Because she has devoted her whole life to being a mother and a teacher, even though it means very little time for herself.

It’s also because she has such a great attitude and is so much fun to be around. Seriously, I cannot tell you how many times my friends have uttered the words “Your mom is so cool.” She really is cool, not to mention strong, capable, and a positive force to be reckoned with.

My mother has also taught me the importance of living with virtue, honesty and integrity, and to never ever put a price tag on those attributes. She has taught me how to rely on the Lord in times of trial and to trust that He will be there for me. She has taught me how to serve others and she has taught me how to be a friend through her example of being one to me my whole life. My mom truly is an amazing woman, and I am immensely grateful for her.

Me and my mommy about two years ago.

To celebrate this incredible woman and Ben’s amazing mother, Ben, Sarah and I made the moms brunch after church. I once again forgot to take pictures, but it consisted of whole wheat pancakes, my mom’s incredible recipe for eggs, grits and a fruit salad.

My mom is on a low-carb “diet” right now, so I made her a separate batch of pancakes with chocolate protein powder, some egg whites, unsweetened almond milk and baking powder/soda. She said they were really good; mission accomplished. 🙂

For dinner, Ben and I made the moms tacos/taco salad. He took care of the meat portion (thanks Ben!) while I made the herbed couscous (slightly nontraditional, we know) and beans with corn. Sarah chopped up the salad, then Ben and I made a quick guacamole out of 2 avocadoes, tomatoes, cilantro, a clove of garlic, onion and lemon/lime juice.

For dessert the goal was to make something yummy, but not too indulgent.

Enter Tofu Chocolate Mousse Pie (the same one I made for my birthday) with my Oatmeal Cookie Crust–but wait! This one had a twist! Aside from the normal ingredients, we added a teaspoon each of almond and coconut extract to create……. Almond Joy Tofu Mousse Pie!

Mmm, so good. I can’t take credit for the basic chocolate mousse recipe, but both the crust and the Almond Joy variation were my ideas. 😛 Recipe is as follows.

Tofu Chocolate Mousse Pie with Oatmeal Cookie Crust

  • 1 package (14 oz) silken tofu
  • 1 (10 oz) package chocolate chips or squares (I prefer unsweetened)
  • 2-4 TBSP agave, depending on the sweetness of your chocolate chips
  • optional: 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • Almond Joy variation: 1 tsp each coconut extract and almond extract (I know 1 tsp seems like a lot, but that’s how much we needed to taste the extracts)
  • Shredded coconut
  • Chopped almonds

Melt the chocolate over medium heat on the stovetop. (I like to fill a skillet with water, place a small sauce pan in the skillet and put the chocolate in the sauce pan. Doing it that way prevents the chocolate from burning.) While your chocolate is melting, blend the silken tofu and agave together in a blender or food processor. Once the chocolate is melted, add it to the blender with the optional vanilla and almond/coconut extracts, if you’re using them. Blend it all together and pour into the prepared Oatmeal Cookie crust. (Recipe below) Place into the fridge for 1-2 hours to chill, then top with shredded coconut and chopped almonds. Enjoy!

Oatmeal Cookie Crust

  • 1 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1-2 tbsp coconut oil, liquefied
  • 2 tbsp agave
  • 1/4 cup (chilled) water or non-dairy milk of choice
  • 1/8 tsp salt

First, grind the rolled oats into oat flour in a blender or food processor. Next, add the salt, coconut oil and agave and combine in the blender. Slowly add the  water a little at a time and blend to avoid making the crust too water-y. Once you have a good, dough-like consistency, stop. Scrape the dough out of the blender (or processor) and press it into a pie pan. (Make sure to grease the pan if you’re baking the crust, but I prefer to eat it chilled as is) Use your fingers to flatten the crust against the sides and up along the edges. Refrigerate till filling is ready.

Ahh I love this crust so much and other people seem to, too. I’ve only made it twice, but both times it’s been the recipient of many compliments. By the way, if you have any leftover dough, my favorite thing to do is roll up a little ball and press some raisins into it. Voila! Raw, simple and quick oatmeal raisin cookies.

I love that pie.

That sums up the Mother’s Day food! Moving onto Monday’s food.

On Monday morning Sarah, Eliza and I made breakfast for everyone while the boys were out mowing our lawn. We made french toast, french toast-ed pancakes, (just the leftover pancakes dipped and cooked in the french toast batter) eggs and a fruit salad.

My fruit salad, topped with cinnamon and warm soymilk. Yum!

Our fruit salad had apples, bananas, kiwis, oranges, grapefruit, raisins and dried apricots. Mmm.

While everyone else had normal french toast, I made the eggless french toast recipe I told you about yesterday.

Topped with coconut cream concentrate and peanut butter. Yummy.

I ended up breaking the bread into pieces, putting them in a bowl and topping them with more warm soymilk. Yes, I do still eat out of Tigger bowls. Don’t judge.

Heaven on earth, I tell you. Look at that pretty last bite. I’m definitely doing it again.

All righty, I better get off the computer and get ready for dance. My very first ballroom competition is this weekend! Eek! I’ll tell you more about it later. 🙂

Question of the Day: How was your Mother’s Day? Did you do or make anything special for your mommy? 🙂

Thanks for reading!

Kelsey 🙂

2 responses to “Happy (Belated) Mother’s Day!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Happy (Belated) Mother’s Day! « CleanTeenKelsey -- Topsy.com

  2. I did make something special for mother’s day. Mom and I made tamales. We used potatos, beef, tamale sauce stuff, and cheese. We used the husks from fresh corn. It wasn’t exactly clean, but it was yummy!

Leave a Reply

