Beach, Banana Bread and a New Recipes Tab!

Hey everyone!

How have you been? I had a great weekend. Like I mentioned in my last post, my older brother is home from college and we’ve had a lot of fun with him. He goes back tomorrow morning though, so I’m definitely not looking forward to that. 😦

Anyway, on Friday I drove up to Corpus Christi and went to the beach! It was a lot of fun.

Pardon my gross beach look. I figured it was silly to put makeup on when it would probably just get washed off.

I wrote my name in the sand, but the water washed it away. 😦

Me standing on a super-steep sand dune. It was hard to climb, but I felt pretty empowered when I was done. πŸ™‚

So yeah! It was a lot of fun and I had a really great time. I remembered to put sunscreen on, but I did not emerge completely unscathed. I have a random burn on my left calf, another random burn on my left deltoid and a linear burn where my hair parts. Oh well, it was worth it. πŸ™‚

Saturday was a really great day. I didn’t take any pictures, but I got to hang out with some super cool friends and have a movie night with my super cool family. πŸ™‚

Sunday was a pretty tough day. I found out that the boundaries of my church got changed, so I’m now in a different “group.” I have to go at a different time than when the rest of my friends go and I won’t get to see them nearly as often. 😦 There were lots of tears shed and it was pretty emotional.

It was also hard because I felt really sick. I had sore throat which had evolved into a full-blown fever by Sunday night. I’m feeling better now, but boy did it stink at the time.

About the only good part of Sunday was the batch of Alisa’s Breakfast Worthy Banana Bread that I made. I had to leave my house before it was fully cooked, so I quickly ripped off the top (done) half of a few slices. That left it looking pretty destroyed, so I didn’t take pictures. Enjoy Alisa’s pretty picture instead. πŸ™‚

I followed her recipe, except I used pumpkin in place of the coconut oil because I’m all out. I know, it’s a shame, but I ordered some from Tropical Traditions the other day, so it should be here soon. πŸ™‚

Recovering from the fever I had last night, I woke up this morning wanting one thing: oatmeal.

I had a can of pumpkin that I’d opened to make the bread, so I decided to put it to use rather than let it go bad like I usually do. (Oops.)

Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal. In the oatmeal:

  • 1/3 cup oats cooked in 1/3 cup water + 1/3 cup Unsweetened Coconut Milk
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin
  • Cinnamon, nutmeg and pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp sucanat
  • Handful of raisins (I think I got carrot cake and pumpkin pie confused..)

Topped with:

  • 1 tbsp coconut butter
  • drizzle of agave
  • splash of Unsweetened Coconut Milk

Yum. Next time I’ll probably leave out the raisins. They were just kind of weird; I’m not sure what I was thinking, lol.

For lunch I had a slice of my banana bread, topped with a tsp Tropical Traditions Coconut Peanut Butter and a tsp Artisana Cacao Bliss. (Still loving that stuff!)

I needed some protein, so I made a variation on my CΒ³ Breakfast Shake. Like I said before, I don’t have any coconut oil, so this version was just CΒ²: Chocolate & Cherries.

  • 1 scoop protein powder (I used this one)
  • Water or other liquid (I never measure; I just add it as I need it)
  • Handful of ice
  • Handful of frozen cherries
  • 1-2 tsp cocoa powder
  • Optional: drizzle of agave

So good.

That’s all I’ve got food-wise, but while you’re here you should check out the new Recipes tab! The button itself has been there for quite some time, but today I finally updated it with all my recipes. There aren’t a ton right now, but hopefully there will be soon. Give it a look and let me know if you make anything. πŸ™‚

Thanks!

Kelsey πŸ™‚

3 responses to “Beach, Banana Bread and a New Recipes Tab!

  1. So glad you enjoyed the recipe!

    That food looks amazing too – making me so hungry!

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Beach, Banana Bread and a New Recipes Tab! Β« CleanTeenKelsey -- Topsy.com

  3. Oh I really miss the beach! Awesome photos and yummy looking oats πŸ™‚ I actually just put a batch of pumpkin-peanut butter-quinoa cookies in the oven πŸ™‚ Not quite oats, but still… πŸ˜€

    xoxox

Leave a Reply

