Strawberries and Salads

Last week I went to an organic family-operated farm, and it was way cool! They had a huge crop of strawberries ready to be picked, so they invited us and a bunch of other people to come enjoy them. 🙂

The huuuuge field of strawberries:

Me picking strawberries..

A pretty little strawberry. 🙂

Our half-box-full of strawberries. 🙂

On the way home to be washed and consumed. 🙂

Oh, they also had lots of animals like horses, chickens, ducks, and cows.

We got the chance to feed the calves, and they were so cute! I thought this picture was adorable, so I wanted to show you it.

You can see how hard the little girl is trying to keep the bottle up. Those calves are strong! They must’ve been really hungry, because they kept yanking the bottle out of our hands as we tried to feed them.

Oh yeah, I also admired this field of Indian Paintbrushes while at the farm.

(Sorry for the bluriness. I was in the car.)

It was a fun trip! I had a really great time picking strawberries with my friend who also eats clean. 🙂 Yay for friends that understand your weird eating habits! lol.

Before I go, I want to introduce you to the salad dressing I’ve been using a LOT lately. I know it’s extremely basic and not overly creative; in fact I’m sure there are a trillion versions on the web, but I love it. 🙂

Ultimate Salad Dressing
(Makes ONE 2 TBSPish serving)

  • 1 tsp coconut oil, liquefied
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp balsamic vinegar
  • juice of one clementine (I cut it in half and squeezed it into a bowl)

Whisk together in a bowl and pour over your salad!

I looove this dressing. It’s sweet from the clementine, nutty from the olive/coconut oil and tangy from the vinegar. It’s delicious and is my new favorite dressing. 🙂

I’ve been putting it on ALL my salads lately, but unfortunately these are the only two pictures I have. Just imagine more salads in your mind, all topped with the Ultimate Salad Dressing. 😉

(Mixed greens, sprouts, cucumbers, tomatoes, celery, carrots and avocado topped with the Ultimate Salad Dressing. Oh, and those are tofu slices around the edge of the bowl, in case you were wondering. :D)

This next salad is officially my favorite salad I’ve ever made.

(Mixed greens, cucumber, celery, carrots, tomatoes, avocado, chickpeas, sliced strawberries and sliced almonds all topped with the Ultimate Salad Dressing.)

It was sooo good, and I really need to make it again soon. The thing I like the most is that it’s a total, complete Clean Eating meal. There are complex carbs from all the vegetables and strawberries, protein from the chickpeas and nuts and fat from the avocado and nuts. The dressing also contributes some fat, but it’s such a small amount that I wouldn’t even count it as a source. Either way, I absolutely love it and highly recommend you give it a try! 🙂 Feel free to mix up the fruit, nuts, veggies and anything else. I bet it’d be good with raisins, oranges, apples, pears, pecans, walnuts–anything really. 🙂

That’s all for now, but before I go I want to post about the lovely award Ashlei gave me!

Thank you SOO much Ashlei! I cannot even tell you how much that award meant to me. It’s the first one I’ve ever received! It was really kind of you to pass it on to me, and I’d also like to thank you for all your comments on my blog. You’re awesome. 🙂

What I’m supposed to do now:

1. Display the Stiletto badge of honor.
2. Brag about it – post a link to the page to highlight what the award is about.
3. Say thanks! Include a link to the friend who nominated you.
4. Share the love-nominate 5-10 more blogs. Leave links to their blogs and leave them a comment so they know they won!
5. Do what you do! Keep at it and keep inspiring others.

I’d like to nominate the five following ladies (in no particular order), because they’re all AWESOME and have been so, so kind to me throughout my blogging adventure.

1. Heather @ HeatherEatsAlmondButter
2.  Averie @ LoveVeggiesAndYoga
3. Kayla @ EatsFruitsAndLeaves
4. Tara @ LaCafeDeSav
5. Emily @ EmilyEatsClean

Many thanks to Ashlei for the award, and many thanks to YOU for reading!

Kelsey 🙂


5 responses to “Strawberries and Salads

  1. aww thank you so much for the award girl!!
    Thats so cool you got to go to an organic family run farm!! My favorite food is fresh berries, those strawberries look so tasty and ready to eat!! Enjoy!
    Aww thats an adorable picture with the little girl feeding the calves!! hehe
    I love that you make your own dressing!!
    Have a great day!!!! ❤ ❤
    ps I have been reading up on clean eating, I love the ideas behind it and how it supports a healthy life style. =]

  2. WOOT we have the same name! and we both love to eat healthy clean food ❤ xoxo feel free to check out my blog @ http://www.snackingsquirrel.blogspot.com

  3. Yay!! So glad you love the award!

    Going to that organic farm looks so cool! I used to pick organic strawberries on the occasion in FL. They lasted so much longer and tasted so much better…in my opinion! And that salad looks totally delish!
    xoxoxo

  4. I looooove strawberries, and your blog!

    NBC 🙂

  5. Pingback: Berries, and Cashews, and Nibs, Oh My! « CleanTeenKelsey

Leave a Reply

